We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Clean and Comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property
Ischia sunset from our terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ischia sunset from our terrace
the terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
48 reviews
Ischia sunset from our terrace
the terrace
Gulf of Sorrento from Meta - Panorama -
the apartment
the apartment
from a window
from another window
the building
our big 'naked' palm
from the terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Meta, Province of Naples, Campania

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Russian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Melissa E
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
Reviewed 22 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 6 nights in September. It was a last minute booking and because it wasn't in Sorrento where we wanted to stay we were a little dubious, however, when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised.

We stayed in apt 11 which opened onto a courtyard. The decor was really simple but it was very well kept, very clean and comfortable. It had a basic kitchen which is good enough for cooking simple meals.

Luigi's English is very good and he's very friendly and helpful. He lives on site so is available if you need him.

Meta is only three stops from Sorrento on the train and there are regular buses as well. Our only problem was that the buses and trains finish quite early in the evening so if you're planning on staying in Sorrento beyond 11pm you could be stuck with getting a taxi back to the apartment, and these are expensive (€30+).

All in all though, a great place to stay to explore the region.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allotment...
essex
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ideal base for exploring”
Reviewed 15 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our one week stay here. The apartment we had number 15 has a small terrace, kitchenette, large living area and a mezzanine bedroom reached by a spiral staircase. The bed was not very comfortable and i didn't like using the spiral staircase, no good for anyone over weight or with mobility problems. However, the positives far outweigh the negatives, Meta is a great little place just 3 stops from Sorrento. A wonderful bakery just down the street for your morning bread or croissants. A lovely church, and while we were there, in the municipal park people were dancing every night under the stars and it was free to join in. We found the people to be really friendly and we felt very comfortable roaming around at night. It was nice to be staying outside of Sorrento and the crowds.
Travel links were excellent, the airport bus stopped and picked us up from the main street, other buses to Sorrento stopped here and the Circumvesuviana train stops in meta also. The train can take you to Sorrento in a matter of minutes and to pompeii in just 15 mins or so. Very reasonably priced and reliable. The apartment was very clean and reasonably well equipped, Luigi the owner lives on site and is on had if you need any help. There is a nice roof terrace to watch the sunset from. It is not super comfortable but a great base for exploring the area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sightseer...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All you need!”
Reviewed 20 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 6 days. The appartment had everything you need for a relaxing inexpensive holiday. It's not luxury by any means but given the location and prices as well as all the facilities it's well worth it. The recommendation of the restaurant where the owner has a special deal for guest could make this a clinche of a deal. It's a short walk to the station, beach or the bus. Plus Meta has some of the nicest beaches this side of Sorrento.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Womblers
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely villas, fantastic owner”
Reviewed 9 July 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic stay in Meta, staying at Villino Castellano. The apartments are well kept, lovely and clean and have all that you need. The kitchen areas tend to be small, but they're adequate for putting simple meals together.
Luigi, the owner, is lovely and always willing to help. He lives on site, so can be reached most of the time if ever you have a problem or need to ask a question.
Meta itself is a pleasant little town 3 stops out from Sorrento on the train line. It has a few small supermarkets as well as butchers, grocers etc. It also has a nice little park area with play equipment for little ones to use. It's nice as it's only really locals who live there. Villino Castelano is on a quiet street, with a lovely cheese shop/factory opposite and a bakery about 20m up the street. - The owners of both are lovely and sell excellent produce.
Stayed here with our two year old daughter. she loved exploring Meta and going to the beach as well as going on day trips on the train. Would recommend as a good base to explore the Sorrento area up to Naples.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YanisF
Rutherford, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay!!”
Reviewed 3 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
4
people found this review helpful

Stayed for a week in May in Villino Castellano with my sister. We had a great time and Luigi couldn't have been more helpful. Even before our arrival he told us the cheapest and most convenient way to arrive to the apartment since we were coming in from Rome. The apartment was great, clean, comfortable, and everything was as pictured. Luigi gives you a tour of the apartment, the view from the roof, and the courtyard. He answers all your questions before you even ask them.
- Food: Luigi has a deal with a restaurant close by in Meta in case your in town and want something more affordable. There's also a pastry shop just up the street with fresh bread, croissants, and other essentials if you plan on cooking during your stay. If you like there's a bigger well stocked supermarket just up the main street about 200 m from the apartment.
-Transportation: Everything is close by to the apartment, from the bus that dropped us off to the metro. The metro is just around the block to your left. You really can't miss it!! It takes you to Sorrento in less than 5 minutes or to Pompeii, Ercolano, or Naples. Just outside the station in Sorrento you can catch the bus to Positano or Amalfi. Also from Amalfi (there is a central bus station) you can catch buses to just about anywhere else in the Amalfi coast. (I recommend Ravello) If you plan on it buy the Unico Costiera ticket for 24 hrs its 7.20e and valid for all modes of transportation wether your train to Sorrento and buses to anywhere else. Buses to Rome or Naples also stop just up the street of the Villino Castellano.
Overall great stay in a very safe area. We're two younger women and felt safe walking around the area at any time. Plan on staying there when I go back. Really couldn't think of anything better!! Thanks Luigi!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing