We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveller rating
2
3
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
3
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza supermarket luigi buses apartment beds location
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 6 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We stayed in an apartment with two rooms and small kitchen via open doorway which created a feeling of a proper apt rather than a studio - some large apts in the Villino are 'walk through' with all rooms in one line, which feel more like a large studio. I preferred ours. Some apts have huge ceilings like ours, the top floor has low ceilings but with sea views (very nice).
Location is vey good for the railway station and buses and a reasonable walk (20 min or so) to the sea but not great walking up - though there are shuttles for 1E pp from the station to beach.. The little town takes getting used to in terms of bus timetables and narrow winding streets. Not many restaurants around - a good pizzeria nearly next door - but not all their pizzas as equally good (don't order one with spinach - ours has gone sour and spoiled the whole pizza), bakery opp pizzeria offers bottled water and fresh cheese, again the bread is hit and miss.
Bottled water is useful though because the tap water has a lot of residue being 'mountain water'.
The restaurant where you get discount as a guest of Villino, is quite good - but we didn't like the near absence of fish dishes on the menu, (that goes for both Villino special set menu and general menu), but pasta with seafood was good enough.

Regarding negatioves in the apt itself, I mainly didn't like lack of any cleaning given that you pay 25E for the final clean. For just two people not using oven or dirty dishes behind, this is a lot for a final clean - but would be ok if that included one clean during the 7-day stay. Towels were changed once, but I think they should offer a one clean sheet each per week too. This was really one negative for me, the smaller issues were: you get drain smell now and then in the mornings, and also climbing up the stairs is not for everyone as the flights of stairs are long - it's a much taller building than it looks on photos. If you park the car there, it's much better as the parking level is high up on the other side of the building.
As many guests already mentioned, Luigi the owner is very helpful without being overbearing, and gives intelligent (honest) advice on the local area - it's good that he is usually around, and generally looks after the guests, also the state of the communal areas and the large terrace on top are always in good order.
Overall we were pleased with out choice.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AppreciateCharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

The apartament was big and clean, BUT: they don't accept any card payments, there is no AC, the towels were not changed in 5 days, there is no mosquito net therefore you can't open the window too much and there is no hair dryer. Not sure if we're ever returning.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Corina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castellanol, Proprietario at Villino Castellano, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

sorry to contest all of your notices ...
1) not true .. we accept Visa and Mastercards ... problem is that there is an additional cost they charge (4% !!) ... this is an optional product and if you wish it you have to pay for it (I don't think it would be correct to charge it on the basic rate that everybody would substain)
2) we change sheets and towels at mid stay for clients staying 3-4 days orlonger ... not for shorter periods (and your stay was for 5 days only)
3) for the kind of winds we have in all apartments (aluminium double glasses, brand new) there is no way to apply mosquitos nets ... would you wish you would have to close windows, at sunsets, and ask for air conditioning, if necessary (optional)
4) no air dryrer ... cabinet in bathrooms were not suiteble to host an air dryer too ... but it would have been sufficient to ask for it ... we have anyhow very recently installed wall air dryers in all apartment bathrooms

my last observation ... you very well know that I live here, 3rd floor in this building ... but could you explain me why during 5 days you did never tell me of the problems you were having ?
I would really have clients totally happy for their vacation and you should learn to talk with your host, should you have problems of any kind ... and also to tell him what is OK in this kind of accomodations !!!
Tks anyhow
Luigi owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

You won't find a warmer welcome on the Sorrento coast than here with Luigi. From making the booking to when we departed, Luigi was helpful and friendly, with useful information on transport, where to go, where to eat and shop, as well as where to chill out after a long day. On arrival our apartment wasn't ready due to another guest extending their stay but Luigi assured us that another apartment would be ready imminently and to leave our bags and rest on the terrace - which has spectacular views of the coast and hills. A short time later we were settled in and Luigi gave us vital information for visiting the area.
The apartments are clean, spacious and well appointed. The beds were comfy. Small things were provided...toilet roll, washing up liquid and sponge etc. Wifi is available in most areas. The supermarket is a short walk away as well as a great family restaurant or if you can't be bothered to walk for 5 mins then there is a great bakery with freshly made pizzas to take away about 1 minute up the road.
These apartments are very well situated for visiting the area and using public transport. Just @200m from the train line with a direct service to Sorrento, Pompeii and Naples. From Sorrento there are buses to Positano, Amalfi etc and boats to wherever you fancy. Buses are also frequent and a direct service from Meta to Naples airport is about 100m from the apartment and costs just 10€ per person.
All in all, we had a wonderful few days here and would gladly stay again. Thank you Luigi, for making this part of our holiday so memorable.

Room tip: Ask for 2nd or 3rd floor for great views
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sarnie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews