We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Times are changing, now very suitable for families with children” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Die Seitenalm

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Radstadt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Die Seitenalm
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Radstadt
liberec
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Times are changing, now very suitable for families with children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I have visited this hotel few times, mostly for skiing. It is very nice located, even you must use the car to get to the skiing areas, but there are few possibilities where to go for skiing. If the weather is not good, you can stay in the hotel and use the swimmingpool or sauna, or play table tennis /f.e./. The staff is very friendly, the hotel is run by one family.
When I was there for the first time, is was the hotel not so big and the guests very of various age. This year was full of small children, just according the concept of the Familotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiberecKabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    6
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

This has been the most enjoyable family vacation stay ever! This family run hotel has thought of just about everything to make your stay exceed expectations. Catering mainly torwards parents and kids, the level of thoughtfulness and service is unbelievable. We traveled from San Francisco to Austria with a 7 month old and a 4 yr old and had our concerns, but this place really let's you feel at home. The kinder care / ski school was great. On-site ski rentals and ski instruction, various kids rooms, babyfood bar avail 24 hrs, changing stations, bottle warmers, cleaning supplies, laundry, indoor and outdoor strollers, and even poolside infant seats and cribs. The environment is professional yet super casual. Our kids running around at dinner fit in with all the other kids. The amenities were perfect for a long day of skiing - saunas, steamrooms, massage, snack bars, fresh fruit, places to chill and hangout in your robe and slippers to unwind were just expected. 7 mins from all the big mountains and the cute little downtown was great. 45 mins from Salzburg and 2 hrs from Munich made it easy for travel. The staff knew all our kids names after just a quick meet and greet. I can't say enough!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Photosnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

We stayed at the Seitenalm during February half-term, with our keen eight year old skier and our spirited two year old toddler. We experienced such a high level of service, far superior to family hotels we have visited before, we are itching to return.
We had a suite of rooms with two bedrooms, a large bathroom and a walk-in wardrobe spacious enough for 4 lots of ski wear and clothes. The rooms sizes were very generous indeed, and both bedrooms had balconies overlooking the hotel's own nursery slopes were the staff teach the little ones to ski.
The hotel has a lovely swimming pool, and little personal touches and attention to detail such as stickering the provided robes with the room number and giving baskets to carry swim towels down.
The hotel organsed ski hire through a shop run out of the hotel. They also printed ski lift passes and organised the eight year old's lessons with the main ski school.
The food is good, hearty Austrian family style meals. Lots of everything, and unlimited soft drinks freely available. The chef baked bread with all the children one evening which was lovely.
The family who own the hotel are the perfect hosts! Nothing is too much trouble for them. They kindly organised car hire for us on the second day (a car is essential for staying in this hotel and getting to the slopes as the ski bus is much too infrequent) which they had delivered to the hotel for us from a local firm, filled with petrol.
The standard of childcare is fantastic. We left the two year old twice in the care of the nannies while we had ski lessons and watched the eight year old in her race. They took great care of her, and she'd been outside to pet the horses and see the chickens.
The basement area has soft-play type equipment and all the children can go and play as and when they like. Both of ours played before and after supper each evening, and made friends easily. There was also a small tv room for children and a teenagers chill out area with table footballs.
Things to consider: Absolutely have your own car or a hire car whilst staying and also consider at least attempting German. We were the first British family to book this hotel (although a few others booked since and we also there that week). The hotel made a massive effort translating menus and leaflets but out of politeness, we want to learn more German before returning. Our daughter's ski lessons were also taught primarily in German.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

We stayed at Die Seitenalm for 2 weeks in August with our two children aged 3 and 6 months. The location is stunning (our balcony looked out over Dachstein) and the hotel itslef is beautiful - exactly like on the website. There was so much to do and the family running the hotel made us feel so welcome. the food was delicious and there were not problems with having something else made for the kids if that was ncessary. They also had ready prepared baby food for the babes. the activities were excellent: pony riding, fishing, trampolines, feeding the aminals - the list just goes on and one. We'll be going back!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Livingindoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2009

This is really one of the best hotels we have ever been too. Quietly located outside town, with a beautiful view of the mountains. A wide selection of rooms, from single bed to 3-room suites. All kinds of wellness and sport activities around the house, for children and adults alike. An attentive staff, and the owner family is actively participating in the service and management. We will be staying there this year again, and are looking forward to it.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharleyNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radstadt
37.1 km away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Katschberg
3.0 km away
Zum Jungen Roemer
Zum Jungen Roemer
#1 of 5 in Radstadt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.4 km away
Ferienhotel Gewurzmuhle
Ferienhotel Gewurzmuhle
#5 of 5 in Radstadt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Hotel Kesselgrub
Hotel Kesselgrub
#3 of 12 in Altenmarkt im Pongau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
6.9 km away
Das Urbisgut
Das Urbisgut
#2 of 12 in Altenmarkt im Pongau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
3.2 km away
Stegerbraeu
Stegerbraeu
#3 of 5 in Radstadt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Seitenalm? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Seitenalm

Property: Die Seitenalm
Address: Forstauer Strasse 17, Radstadt 5550, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Radstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Radstadt
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Seitenalm 4*
Number of rooms: 58

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing