We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
13
20
3
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
20
3
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We are a Hungarian middle-class couple in our thirties. We reserved a room two weeks ago. We arrived two days ago. They denied to have confirmed our registration despite the fact that they had confirmed it in writing, by e-mail. Most of their rooms are spacious and comfortable but they gave us a small and uncomfortable room with a very tiny bathroom and smoke coming in through the window. The bed sheet was stained in a fecalia-like color. Maybe it was just a blood stain. They did not apologize for their failure to register our confirmed reservation, and they charged us EUR 140 for the tiny, puritan, narrow room. In the morning, the elevator did not work. We requested a room reachable by elevator. We could not sleep at night because of the smoke coming in through the window, and wanted to check out at 6:30 in the morning. The hotel owners (an aged Austrian couple) was irritated and angry at us for waking them up so early, and told us: this is not a five-star hotel that has a reception open all day. I noticed that. They kept us waiting for half an hour before we could check out. This had been our worst experience in Austria, even though we have already spent about twenty holidays in this country because of the beautiful scenery. The conditions we were confronted with, as well as the behavior of the hotel owners were appalling and annoying at the same time. We will never go to Waldpension Putz again, and we recommend that you steer clear of this hotel, too, unless you want to be uncertain whether your confirmed reservation was registered at all. They made us pay EUR 140 for one night spent in that room of unacceptable quality amidst dismal conditions, and they never recognized their blunder. That much about Waldpension Putz. On top of our no-go list from now on.

Room tip: Avoid this hotel unless you like uncertainty and bad service.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 38Dan1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed three days last month. We had never been to Austria, let alone this spectacular corner of it. Have you ever seen the movie White Christmas? Recall the wonderful Vermont inn? This was like that place, except much more vibrant. I've never seen so many guests greet each other. Both in the dining room, around the bar in the evening, and outside on the patio, we really felt like we were one big family, with all of the guests and with all of the people who worked there. While we speak only English, the guests and the owners/employees are all fluent and helpful in several languages.

The rooms were very well appointed. I loved sitting in the comfortable balcony chairs--looking up at the mountains by day, and the stars at night (no light pollution there). They have extensive vegetable gardens, as well as I could see kids munching on grapes that were growing, ditto apple and other fruit trees.

They offer local hikes to gorges and Klamms (like a gorge or a pass but one that dead ends) in the valley. We learned a lot about the history of the area, the culture, and the local beauty.

Wonderful meals. I agree with description that the breakfast is stupendous--they offer everything. We especially liked their great selection of local breads. In the evening the dinners are great, but save room for dessert. You will never be disappointed.

Located about a half hour drive from Lienz, if you are planning a vacation to Munich, Vienna, or Venice, you definitely want to consider spending several days of your vacation in this corner of paradise.

Room tip: We did not look into room service (I do not know if they offer this). As for fitness center, the local lakes and mountains are a whole lot better than any fitness center. I did not try their indoor pool or golf course, so cannot speak to those. The outdoor pool was lovely-especially floating in, looking up at these picture perfect mountains. It was very hard to leave.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sugarloaf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

I stayed one night in September on my own and the price of 30 Euros for bed and breakfast seemed incredibly cheap for a hotel of this quality. My room had a balcony with a view of the mountains, there was an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, the staff were very helpful (one girl spoke some English) and the buffet breakfast was stupendous in its array of choices and sheer abundance. This is a rural area and, since I was travelling by bicycle, the hotel seemed the only convenient place to have dinner. This was a set menu and involved five courses, therefore the price of 20 Euros(without drinks) wasn't unreasonable but I hadn't planned on paying so much for an evening meal so the overall experince wasn't such a bargain as I'd first thought. Nevertheless I'd recommend this place -- good value, a nice setting and friendly staff.

Date of stay: September 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank electraswing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017
Google Translation

Room tip: Sono preferibili le stanze nelle dependance.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017
Google Translation

Room tip: Ik heb nog geen enkele mindere kamer gezien
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews