We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for relaxing and gastronomic experience, poor spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Sources de Caudalie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martillac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The location of the hotel, although quite inconvenient to visit Bordeaux easily (about 30min far from the center), it is beautiful, located among the vineyards of the chateau, facing a beautiful pond hosting a couple of swans.
The rooms are normal to spacious size, mine was on the first floor overlooking the pond and the vineyards. The bathroom was full of Caudalie cosmetics (a real joy - this brand has very good products!), and there was a bath tube. The room was supposed to have wifi, but... no! There was no reception of the wifi there, although from my room I could see the main building - it was not far at all. That was really inconvenient, sometimes there was no wifi not even in the reception and main building.
The breakfast was one of the best ones I 've had in a 5 star hotel. A very nice selection of cheeses, home made croissants, quiche, fantastic apple pie, variety of breads, eggs made to order... All raw material used were really carefully chosen. I would say the same for the 2 restaurants: la table du lavoir offers a very nice ambiance and casual dining, the Grand Vigne is a Michelin star restaurant - well, I have to admit that food was nice but not exceptional to rate it with a michelin star! I cannot say about the prices, since it was not me who paid.
The Spa was below expectations unfortunately. It seems that it left without any renovation for a long time. The massage rooms are nothing special, there is no sauna (only a hamam), and the thermal bath is just adequate. There are no lockers but a wardrobe with a woman who keeps your staff, which is not very convenient having to leave your handbag and precious belongings there. Finally, the fitting rooms were just next to the place of the spa where you could sit and relax in between your therapies and watch the outdoors, and there was no door in between: that had as an effect that you could hear the hair dryer at times while you were enjoying your tea and the views... The massages were more like rubbing you...
Choose to go there for 3-4 days to enjoy the nature, walk or cycle around (the reception offers bicycles free of charge to go around!), enjoy nice, traditional food and drink good wine. On the side you can enjoy the spa, but don't have high expectations because you will definitely get disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trip-lover-forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomaneRelationClient, Responsable relations clients at Les Sources de Caudalie, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Sir, dear Madam,

we are glad to see that you spent a nice moment at Les Sources de Caudalie, but are sorry that the Caudalie Spa did not satisfy your expectations. Be sure that we pay attention to keep the place in peace and quiet : we regret you did not relax as you wanted to.
For several years, our treatments meet a great success in all our spas, thanks to our specific and unique protocols. However, be sure we are going to audition your therapist to revalue his competences. If her professionalism is not as high as our ambition, we shall also take measures to guarantee a very good level of treatments to all our customers.
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at Les Sources de Caudalie.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 242 of 776 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at Les Sources de Caudalie in September of 2011; and had a nice time, that could have been improved with better service. The property is gorgeous with wonderful sculptures placed along the grounds, and spectacular views overlooking the vineyard. We had a very nice room in the beautiful Boathouse building.

The problem with the property, is the service in the bar and restaurant is extremely poor. Except for one wonderful waiter (whose name we sadly never got), we felt we had to ask for most things twice because the first request was often ignored. When trying to order a drink in the bar, the waiters would pass the table never looking or checking to see if you may want to order. I do not think in a hotel of this caliber one should have to wave down an employee for service.

We did the tasting menu in La Grand' Vigne one evening (happily we had the excellent waiter); and all of the courses were phenomenal. The other evenings we ate in La Table du Lavoir; which has excellent food, but the menu is limiting with only 4 entrees.

Due to the beauty of the property, and the very central location, we had a nice experience; but the rude service would prevent us from ever returning or recommending.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WestsideRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Wow! The architecture is very interesting. Architect used old wood, tiles to make new look old. Large main house with check in area and restaurants. At least 3 other structures that looked like nice barns housed the other rooms. Yes, each one is different and with a theme. Ours was very large with a balcony overlooking the pond. Our husbands enjoyed the 3 hole golf course and because it was off season and cloudy managed to get in a full 18 holes! Just don't ask to keep one of the engraved balls but they would be happy to sell some to you. We did have a chance to have cocktails in the cosy bar area but just don't expect to have a bartender waiting behind the bar but instead expect to ask again and again for someone to help you. Again maybe because it was off season. In fact when we did locate a bartender he also happened to be a waiter, the luggage guy, room service delivery guy and the car parking guy! We did enjoy our facials, massages and private raisin baths at the spa. Very chic. And they didn't even pressure us to purchase their products...so much so that we had to hunt someone down to purchase their products! And now for the restaurants: Le Grand Vigne and La Table du Lavoir. We had high hopes going into the Le Grand Vigne as it has a Michelin star. Mr. Michelin must be rolling in his grave. What a disappointment. I have reread previous reviews of the restaurant and wonder if we were at the same place. We ordered the 3 course menu from the matre d/waiter. NIcely we were served small bites that were not included in the 3 course meal. These included cold beet soup and a raw shrimp bite. Not the best. Our first course was raw scallops with beet root, raw scallops do not have a flavor. But the worst was yet to come as the main course. The chef chose the most inexpensive pork cuts to serve. The plate included a bite of bacon fat, a bite of pork tenderloin and a bite of bacon fat stew served in phylo dough. What the heck?!?!? The only outstanding food we had was the cheese plate which was spectacular and some of the best we have ever seen. There was no service to speak of, our water bottle had been placed on a different table so that the waiters could pour for us, unfortunately, they forgot to refill so we helped ourselves. Towards the end of the evening we were one of the remaining tables which seemed to mean that the wait staff was more interested in cleaning up in the back than remaining out on the floor. Wine list was extensive but needlessly and beyond expensive. Having a Michellin star must been that you can charge outlandish prices for wine. And then oddly our wine sommelier turned out to be the water/bread guy at the La Table du Lavoir the next night! We did enjoy lunch and dinner at La Table du Lavoir which is much more relaxed. However, we were glad that we were not staying longer at the hotel as the menu was very limited and we wouldn't have had much to choose from the longer we stayed. For dinner we asked for the foie gras which was excellent. Others in our party had the sausage brioche, the raw vegetable tower, the hake with tomato relish and avocado paste, the pork with polenta and the duck. All was nicely prepared. Desserts were excellent. Oh and as far as having a spectacular breakfast buffet um yeah, it had made to order eggs, fresh croissants, meats, juices, breads, cheeses and cereals which should be the norm for a hotel of the quality not exceptional. We loved our rooms and the grounds but were a bit disappointed in the rest.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pindawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

This place did not disappoint. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner in their restaurants, each one was better than the previous.
The rooms were nice, good sized, and tasteful. We had a beautiful view of the vineyards from our bathtub which added to the ambiance. We did not have a door on our bathroom/shower which I found to be ver odd - that was my only complaint.

Room Tip: Ask for a bathroom door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teasyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Excellent food, service, facilities and beautiful rooms and setting. This is a totally charming 5 star property which we loved and extended our stay as a result. The setting in the middle of vineyards is gorgeous, the breakfast an elegant treat, the spa unique and definitely worth a visit and the rooms nicely decorated with elegant provincial taste. Nice pool, lake with swans, 3 hole golf course free and unlimited for guests. Do the free tour ofnthe winery opposite. Treat yourself to Les Sources Caudalie - it's great value and a lovely, romantic spot.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martillac
35 km away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
978 reviews
4.1 km away
Domaine de Larchey
Domaine de Larchey
#1 of 1 in Saint-Medard-d'Eyrans
195 reviews
12.5 km away
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 177 in Bordeaux
409 reviews
12.6 km away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 177 in Bordeaux
929 reviews
10.2 km away
Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Sources de Caudalie? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Sources de Caudalie

Address: Chemin de Smith Haut Lafitte, 33650 Martillac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Martillac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martillac
Price Range: ₹ 18,162 - ₹ 73,033 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Sources de Caudalie 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Sources de Caudalie are located in the middle of Chateau Smith Haut Lafitte vineyards, only 15 minutes from Bordeaux center.The hotel also includes 2 restaurants and a Vinotherapie spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Sources de Caudalie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Sources De Caudalie Hotel Martillac
Les Sources De Caudalie Martillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing