We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Himmel, paradis -- in any language it was a...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Enclave de Vire

Façade avant du gîte
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Façade avant du gîte
façade avant du gîte Façade arrière du gîte
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Façade avant du gîte
façade avant du gîte
Façade arrière du gîte
Façade arrière du gîte
Salle à manger
Salon
salon
Cuisine
Hall menant à l'étage
Chambre lit double
Chambre deux lits simples
Chambre lit double
Salle de bain
Salle de bain
Vue étang façade avant
chemin d'accès au gite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Chimay, Hainaut Province, Wallonia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
MaryD5005
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Himmel, paradis -- in any language it was a corner of heaven”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Christophe could not have been kinder to such road-weary travellers. Our photos speak for themselves, so I'll focus on him. Speaking little French, having no GPS, finding no tourist offices, and spending far too much time 'perdu' in the Belgian countryside, our host not only arranged to meet us in the market square to deliver us to his door, but also printed us detailed maps for our foray into France to see the Canadian war memorial at Vimy. The next day he made telephone arrangements for us with a woman who knew my husband's parents during WWII when they lived and worked in Bois-de-Luc, now a Unesco World Heritage Site. Christophe was amiable, kind, fun, and generous. We loved every minute at Chemin de Vire and only wished we could have stayed longer in this magnificent country home with 18th century tile floors and all mod cons in the kitchen and bathroom. Couldn't have asked for anything more -- except to return. Merci, Christophe. Au revoir. (Only one slight negative -- very steep, slightly scary stairs. Elderly or young children would have trouble.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rural/farm setting, the home, the host.
Liked least: Having to leave:-((
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kjm238
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We'll be back”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A warm welcome awaits at this spacious, secluded, rustic but well appointed gite. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house has bundles of character and our dogs enjoyed all the outside space. The owners' chickens were wary. The cows unimpressed. This is a great base to explore Chimay, Mons, Brussels and beyond - we even went to Luxembourg for the day. Or just to stay in and around, if you want peace and quiet. Your host is a genuinely nice man, who speaks good English. We will go back.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A wonderfulstep back in time”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Wow! Once we found it (address did not coincide with our GPS) it was exactly what we had hoped. A 1771 farmhouse renovated with up to date fixtures and amenities but retaining many of its old charm set in the middle of the Belgian country side. This was just the type of stop we needed before heading back to Canada after 3 weeks of touring Europe. Christophe D our host, was very helpful getting us settled and provided lot of material on the What, Where and How of the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and the solitude
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowdedEa...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An Extraordinary Place!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My husband and I spent six weeks traveling through Western Europe with our three boys (ages 3 - 12), and tried our best to find lodging that was family friendly and reasonably priced. Enclave de Vire was our last stop, and wow, did we ever save the best for last! The photos can't really capture the amazing character of this home - it's very spacious, very well cared for, and has character in its thick walls, tiled floors, and beautiful woodwork that you simply can't find in more recently constructed homes. Christophe and his family are wonderful hosts, and made us feel comfortable and welcome right away. We didn't want to leave.

Best features:

Great kitchen! I am a food blogger (crowdedearthkitchen.com), and this was the most comfortable, spacious, well equipped kitchen I've had access to all summer. Thank you!

Great bathroom! The very fancy bathtub/shower combination is a vacation all on its own. We've learned that bathtubs aren't very common in affordable family rentals in Europe, which is fine, but to have access to such a large, wonderful tub near the end of our trip was a treat.

Indoor/outdoor play space for kids! There is a playroom next to the livingroom, which was WONDERFUL for our littlest boys. There is also plenty of room to run and play soccer outside.

Bedroom arrangement great for kids of all ages! Our 12 year old liked that he had a bedroom down the hall from the rest of us. It was nice for him to have a break from close quarters with his little brothers. Our littlest boys, in contrast, had a bedroom that was connected/contained through the master bedroom. The three bedrooms are upstairs, and there is a rather steep staircase, so having the little boys "tucked away" in the room behind us gave me great peace of mind.

Location! For us, the location of Enclave de Vire was the best of both worlds. The home itself is in a rural area, which felt open, comfortable, and safe. By car, we were mere minutes from charming little towns with the great cafes and breweries for which Belgium is famous, and we were also minutes away from amenities such as reasonably priced grocery stores. We enjoyed the nearby Chimay visitor center (cheese tasting and beer tasting), an afternoon drive to Westvleteren for lunch and a taste of their elusive, rarely exported beer, and a full, fun day at the Grote Markt in Brussels. Fun tip: if you are looking for affordable Belgian chocolates to take back home, try the "Okay" market in the nearest town to Enclave de Vire. The store itself is nothing fancy, but they sell a wide assortment of pretty good chocolate (decent souvenir quality) at very affordable prices.

We hope to stay an Enclave de Vire on our next trip to Belgium!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The character of the home and friendliness of Christophe and his family
Liked least: That we had to leave!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing