We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utter peace and tranquility”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodhall Spa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kirkstead Old Mill Cottage
Ranked #3 of 10 Woodhall Spa B&B and Inns
Barking, ESSEX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Utter peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 16 June 2011

This B&B is so peaceful and just what we needed. It’s a mile from the road along a track and offers total seclusion. The grounds are glorious and the riverside location perfect. Barbara really knows how to look after her guests and the fact that she takes so much trouble, from ringing us to enquire what sort of milk we’d like in our fridge and what sort of fruit juice would we like with breakfast, let us know that we were in for a thorough spoiling!! The tea on arrival was very kind and I had Lincolnshire Plum Bread while my wife had Shortbread Biscuits.

We stayed for 2 nights in the Monet Room which was very comfortable. The bathroom is HUGE and full of those little touches that make for a home from home feeling.

Breakfast was superb and SO much choice!! Being able to choose from such an extensive menu made us really look forward to it and we weren’t disappointed.

Everything about this B&B is 100%!! We would stay there again and hopefully would get the Balcony Room this time!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goose1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
51
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Had a 2 night stay in the superb balcony room which is very spacious and well appointed, the riverside location is very peaceful & secluded, barbara was very pleasant & helpful, also a very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gary7227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirksteadWoodhallSpa, Owner at Kirkstead Old Mill Cottage, responded to this review, 14 May 2011
Thank you, Gary7227, for adding your most welcome comments, which I know potential guests will find useful. I must admit that the Balcony Bedroom seems to be the favourite one, and I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. I love sharing my tranquil home, and now I've learnt how respond to you.
I'm looking forward to seeing your photographs of the planes on Twitter, which I have never used. Why don't you add a couple of your 'photos to the few pictures that appear on Kirkstead Old Mill Cottage's review page. I hope you had a lovely day at East Kirkby's Aviation Museum, and will be successful in getting tickets for the Open Day at the Battle of Britain Memorial Flight in October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

This is one of the most comfortable and friendly B&B's we've stayed in. Barbara and Charity couldn't have been more attentive if they'd tried. The room was clean, beautifully appointed with so much attention paid to every little detail and possible need. The bed was extremely comfortable, the shower room spacious and well supplied, there was a lovely selection of teas and coffee's to chose from and the B&B was so peaceful and tranquil. The breakfasts were in a class of their own. We didn't know there could be so many different ways to prepare eggs! Absolutely delicious with locally sourced, fresh produce.

Thank you, we thorougly enjoyed our break.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oblix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

My husband and I have just returned from 2 nights with Barbara Hodgkinson at Kirkstead Old Mill Cottage. We stayed in the Balcony room which we can thoroughly recommend! We were welcomed with Freshly brewed coffee and home-made shortbread biscuits, prepared by Breakfast Chef/Housekeeper Charity, which was a lovely touch. Our room was beautifully presented, extremely spacious, wonderful shower, which you can have a massage and sauna with. I particularly liked the bed which will elevate for your comfort. The fluffy towel robe was very snug and cosy. There is everything you need in the room, and it was lovely to have the balcony to relax on, the weather was very mixed.

The breakfast is amazing!!! Barbara takes your order for this, the day before, and there is everything!!! It is the best breakfast we have ever had - the fruit platter is wonderful, and the full english was just delicious, on our 2nd morning, my husband chose the smoked haddock and I chose smoked salmon and scrambled eggs!!! Needless to say, we didnt need to eat until our evening meal!!!

We had dinner there on our 2nd evening, a very nice lady called Sue, comes in to prepare this, and we were able to bring our own wine for this without corkage!!! We had a lovely 3 course meal ( with seconds on the dessert!) for only £18 each, it was very special. The fairy lights around the cosy log fire, and the candles on the table added to the ambience!!

Barbara very kindly gave us a gift when we left, of a Valentines biscuit from the local delicatessen/bakery, it really was a lovely touch and very much appreciated.

Barbara is extremely kind and caring, she obviously struggles with her health but she has all the help she needs there, sadly she lost her husband to cancer, after over 50 years of marriage, there are lovely family photos all around.

If you were travelling on your own, this would be an ideal retreat for you, Barbara loves company, but equally it s great for couples and families.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We stayed 2 nights at Kirkstead Old Mill Cottage and we enjoyed every minute of it. Barbara was the perfect hostess and we could not want for more. Everything was perfect from the glorious cooked full english breakfast to the well equiped wet room shower area. We would recommend Barbara's B&B to anyone travelling with a disability (as I have). Thanks Barbara for a great time. Kindest regards Kevin & Jill Crowe

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevdarev56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodhall Spa
1.3 km away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
899 reviews
0.6 km away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
379 reviews
6.3 km away
The Leagate Inn
The Leagate Inn
#1 of 1 in Coningsby
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
389 reviews
9.8 km away
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
19.3 km away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkstead Old Mill Cottage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkstead Old Mill Cottage

Property: Kirkstead Old Mill Cottage
Address: Kirkstead Old Mill Cottage Tattershall Road, Woodhall Spa LN10 6UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Woodhall Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Woodhall Spa
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,752 - ₹ 6,574
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you value peace and quiet, and enjoy watching wild life, come and share the riverside tranquility of Kirkstead Old Mill Cottage, which is a mile off the B1192, but just two from the idyllic village of Woodhall Spa in central Lincolnshire. Choose from two twin/double bedrooms, with luxury en-suite facilities, or opt for our economy twin/double room with use of a private WC and separate shower. After your Gold Award breakfast, relax in the sunroom or beside a log-fire in the lounge, or explore the gardens and four-acre nature reserve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kirkstead Old Mill Cottage Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing