We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good deal.”
Review of The Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Golf Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good deal.”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We went to this hotel in March and had an excellent stay. We were warned that the hotel was under refurbishment but found the areas which had been updated very pleasant. The food was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful advising us of places to visit. We were also extremely lucky with the weather which made it such a great week-end break.

Hopefully we will go again with another couple so that my husband can play golf.

Angela & Ricky Bowman

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms which have had a complete refurbishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie186386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    98
    51
    30
    35
See reviews for
38
132
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woking
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2012

By far this is the excellent hotel I came across for the money I spent (Groupon offer). We lived for 2 nights and the stay was pleasing, nothing to complain or moan about! Spacious car park. Room & bathroom were clean. Hotel staff was helpful and attentive. Breakfast was good, a dinner & bottle of wine was on offer. Big TV (probably 40'') with number of channels. What's the downside? I don't recall any or want to mention for the heck of it. The only thing that I can mention is our original room was bit small for me, wife & our baby, so my mate offer to swap the rooms and it was all happy & relaxing stint from thereon.

Room Tip: As far as I remember I stayed in room #7, which I found spacious (room & bed).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmolSPatil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

As other reviews this was through a groupon voucher. For what we paid we could not fault it. We had a relaxing time and we where disappointed it ended so quickly. The location was a surprise as we expected the hotel to be in a rural location but we were pleasantly surprised when we found it nestled in a village. It was seconds to walk to a lovely row of little shops and couple of bars. At the back of the hotel there are lovely walks in the woods. We wouldn't pay full price to stay in the hotel at the moment but I am keeping my eye on groupon to try and bag the same deal again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KB72Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I bought the groupon as a birthday present for my partner, we stayed mid March and I have to say he was extremely pleased and we thoroughly enjoyed the weekend. We were aware the hotel was undergoing re-furb so although the photos on the wesite showed the lovely rooms etc we did expect some areas to be 'tired & warn' as indicated by the Groupon and the hotels own website but even then it exceeded our expectations. The meal on the first night was excellent and could not be faulted and the service too. Breakfast again was great, self service but the staff on hand very helpfull and accomodating. The local area is really nice we had a wonder into the woods and found the 'Kinema in the Woods' where we went on the second night to see a film, really nice experience, we ate at the Il Parco resteraunt in the Woods before going to see the film, this too was excellent food. We are members of the National Trust and went to Tattershall Castle while we were there which is approx 10mins away in the nearby village of Tattershall, well worth a visit. On check out I went to the Spa and had an aromatherapy massage which was most enjoyable and relaxing, a fine way to end a perfect weekend. We will likely come again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaw1Holmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed at the Golf Hotel in early March, again- like many others on a groupon voucher. We were not disappointed, The reception and dining room were beautifully presented and our room was more than adequate. Yes there are many areas in the hotel that are being re-vamped, but that is what the offers are for! Given time and money the rest of the hotel will be wonderful.
The food was excellent and extremely well presented . The wooded grounds made for a lovely walk, as did the small but interesting high street ! The Kinema in the woods was a delightful experience. The weather on one day was bad, but we drove down to Boston and had a good day there.
All in all a very good stay !

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chauntel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodhall Spa
0.8 km away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.3 km away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.2 km away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 km away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
6.5 km away
The Leagate Inn
The Leagate Inn
#1 of 1 in Coningsby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
36.5 km away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golf Hotel

Property: The Golf Hotel
Address: The Broadway, Woodhall Spa LN10 6SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Woodhall Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,644 - ₹ 12,458
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
52 Bedroom Hotel, Built in 1880 and set in seven acres of gardens, lawns and woodlands, the hotel is ideally situated for the Woodhall Spa Golf Club, village and surrounding tourist sights. The Golf Hotel is currently under new management and under going a full refurbishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golf Hotel & Aqua Sante Woodhall Spa
The Golf Hotel And Aqua Sante Spa
Hotel Aqua Sante
The Golf Hotel Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing