We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveller rating
364
68
17
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
364
68
17
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main hotel golf course huge bed homemade shortbread harry's bar lovely hotel sunday lunch wedding reception wedding venue quiet location function room wedding breakfast perfect venue beautiful room top marks one night stay excellent food
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 461 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

I attended a wedding here with my wife. I’ve lived in Lincolnshire a long time and have often been to the other hotels in Woodhall Spa but had never heard of the Dower House Hotel, which is tucked away just off the main road.

The wedding breakfast was simple but wonderfully cooked. We had Prawn cocktail and soup to start, roast beef and stuffed pepper for main and pavlova for dessert. All of the food was beautifully presented and delicious.

Often, restaurants struggle to cater for large numbers and the service or quality of the food suffers. Not in this case. Both the service and food were excellent. We intend to stay at the Dower the next time we are in Woodhall.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank lymph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

There is a lot that's good about this hotel:
Two beautiful Edwardian buildings; excellent staff and service; lovely rooms (we had a corner room in the annex (room 11), with a special mention for a great shower.
Good breakfast (we didn't stay for dinner).

So, why only 3 green dots?
Firstly; common parts are more "chain hotel" than a "country house hotel" finish, which is what this building deserves.

More importantly is something that may not affect you, but had we known, we would have stayed somewhere else. The next door property has a lot of space and on the night we stayed had a large wedding reception in a marquee with loud noise until midnight. The double glazing and earplugs did little to reduce the noise. We only booked a few days before we went and feel that we should have been warned about this. As such I recommend strongly that if you are an early to bed, early to rise person, ask for confirmation about this before you book.

No a/c so may be hot on hot days.

Room Tip: We had room 11 and it was good.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Lovely hotel .stayed in the Lodge fantastic room, spotless, large, bright overlooking golf course, Food fantastic breakfast and evening meal. Staff very friendly and helpful. Woodall Spar lovely small town few pubs and cafe's. RAF Conningsby near made my husbands day when the Battle of Britain Memorial Flight flew over. Near Lincoln and Tattershall Castle. Well worth a visit.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank lynne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

Stayed just the one night - room above the bar meaning noise until after midnight. Barrelling up commenced early in the morning - those metal ones certainly make a noise when they are rolled along. Stayed in the main building (clearly) so perhaps better futher from this.

Room Tip: Room 4 not great.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jimfisher007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Very nice place, beautifully decorated. Food good and staff friendly. Nicegrounds and in the centre of the Town. Parking is easy and nothing too much trouble. Delightful location in woodlands and close to the Golf club.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Catseyes2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews