We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent pizza, but nothing special”

Pizzeria Su Tostoini
Ranked #11 of 30 Restaurants in Castiadas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 30 June 2016

I went to Su Tostoini about 2 weeks ago and we miraculously got a table - this is the kind of place that is so popular that you have to go really early if you hope to be seated, or wait endlessly to get a table. The pizza is ok - I prefer a different kind of pizza. This is very thin, whereas I like thick pizza. The restaurant could easily do with a nice refurbishment, but I suppose it is meant to be very easy going. Prices are really fair, so can't really complain.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank taffani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2016

Very cosy place. Don't expect to much any other kind of food only pizza. But the best you can have in this region. It is not easy to find because on the old road going to Cagliari but for sure worth to go there. Rates are very reasonable.

Date of visit: May 2015
Thank walterlussu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2015

The waiting line is the evidence that the place offers something extra. The pizza menu is long and everybody should find something adequate to individual taste here. The pizzas are excellent. You can feel that the product contains the heart of the maker. Highly recommended for a special outing when you are in that part of Sardinia. Be sure to book your table in advance or expect even more than an hour waiting for a table (and still register on the waiting list on arrival...)

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jerzy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012 via mobile

Great family place; all the food is good & the service is friendly & efficient. No reservations taken, just write your name & number of people in the book by the entrance; the wait is never long.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aveneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I am not sure why locals love this place so much. I am a local too, and surely I do not enjoy it one single bit. Let's be honest: I think this is one of the quite typical Italian cases where everybody goes to a place just because everybody goes to that place - if you know what I mean. I will schematize my review into a few points:
1) location: this is fairly good. It is right between Costa Rey and Villasimius, far from traffic.
2) structure: can a place be any cheaper? You will be sitting in plastic garden chairs, and in order to attend more guests tables are really close to one another, leaving very little room for you to move comfortably in.
3) service: the amount of seatings does not correspond to a proportionate amount of waiting stuff. You end up spending a long time in the line in order to be seated, while you will definitely see that there are so many seatings available. And this is because there are not enough waiters to clear the tables. Let's not mention, then, the fact that you wait a rather long time for your food to arrive, and that if you order a bottle of wine this will be brought to the table already opened. Dodgy to say the least!! The owners are not really kind either.
4) food: some people will tell you this is the best pizza ever. I don't understand what is so nice about it. It is pretty much tasteless. The dough is so thin you can barely taste it. The toppings are scarce. There is no real attention to new flavours (you can only get the traditional pizzas, which I suppose is ok). The pizza is so thin and small that even a person with a small appetite like me will be able to finish it and wish she could have some more. I have heard comments about the really good fries. I am not sure what people have in mind but... what is so special about FROZEN fries? Not my idea of good food, sorry!
5) environment: this is very informal. You will meet people who are dressed up, and people who pop in for a pizza still wearing their sarong and flip flops. Up to you if you like it or not!
6) prices: these are ok. The place is relatively cheap, but frankly it reflects the fact that the pizza is pretty poor!!

Date of visit: August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank taffani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizzeria Su Tostoini also viewed

Castiadas, Province of Cagliari
Castiadas, Province of Cagliari
 
Castiadas, Province of Cagliari
Muravera, Province of Cagliari
 
Castiadas, Province of Cagliari
 

Been to Pizzeria Su Tostoini? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing