We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Who needs L.A.?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Topanga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Who needs L.A.?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Were it not for the pre-planned "touristing" of Hollywood and Malibu beach, I would have been content to have checked into this inn and never leave. The facility is beautiful, exceptionally well maintained; and the interaction with the host family was my favorite part of my trip.

It is difficult to ask for a better view; and with very little effort, this inn could double as a bird preserve. Robins, finches, blue jays, hummingbirds, etc., surround this inn, and provide wonderful sightseeing with California mountains as a backdrop.

There is nothing negative to say about this place. It is a memory-maker and a place that will make you want to come back. The best hotel would be a regret compared to a stay here.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad choice to be made.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaprion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    47
    7
    10
    8
See reviews for
27
95
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Habra, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Felt like we were away from it all.Warren was a great host .we had a great breakfast &great conversation.karina was very helpful

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Gorgeous, very well thought-out accommodations. Wonderfully decorated. We stayed in the Scarlett & Rhett room. What luxury. The best part was being able to experience the beauty of the canyon from the room, with two perfectly situated balconies and well-placed windows. And then there's the big skylight over the bed for viewing the stars. Wonderful breakfast, too. Best blueberry biscuits ever.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0uise64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

If you dont need to be in the centre of LA this is a great place to stay. It feels a million miles away from the bustle and noise of the city. It is in a remote, idyllic spot but less than 45minutes from the centre.

We stopped in the Clark & Carole Room - which was very comfortable, the outside private balcony was a great bonus. The private bathroom was immediately adjacent to our room and this proved not to be a problem. There was a kitchen area where we could make drinks, also a fridge to store some food.

We enjoyed Warren & Elena's hospitality at breakfast time, it was great sitting around the big table chatting to others whilst eating a hearty breakfast.

Our favourite trip was to the Huntingdon Library Botanical Gardens which were stunning !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Majobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

My wife, my 13-year old daughter, and I just returned from a week stay at the Topanga Canyon Inn. We could have not been more pleased. A few things that especially impressed us: my wife has a wheat allergy, and at every breakfast some special dish was prepared for her; our hosts were more than helpful in pointing out various area attractions; the place is kept immaculate.

The value of any stay at a B&B often depends on the other guests. We were fortunate to meet some very friendy people from as far away as Germany and as close (to us) as Brooklyn. Breakfasts around the table, with our hosts always ready to both serve us and converse with us, were a high point.

As others have pointed out, the Topanga Canyon Inn is neither a Hilton nor a Ramada. But if you prefer natural scenery over a chlorinated swimming pool, or watching birds over watching TV, this might just be the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Topanga
The Anza Hotel
#1 of 3 in Calabasas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Malibu
Malibu Beach Inn
Malibu Beach Inn
#1 of 6 in Malibu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
BEST WESTERN Woodland Hills Inn
BEST WESTERN Woodland Hills Inn
#78 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 20310 Callon Drive, Corner of Penny Road and Callon Drive, Topanga, CA 90290
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Topanga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Topanga
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,023 - ₹ 18,069
Hotel Class:3 star — Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Topanga Canyon Inn is a Bed and Breakfast in Topanga, CA. There are eight individually decorated bedrooms and one family suite with various views from minimal to unobstructed. All bathrooms are private, some en suite with a bathtub and some adjacent to the room, with shower only. Our direct prices include taxes, amenities and a hearty breakfast. Guests are invited to use four different living rooms with balconies, decks and fireplaces, two kitchens where they may make tea, coffee, popcorn and cereal at any time. Hiking, bird watching, geocaching and mountain biking in Topanga State Park starts right out the doors of the inn. Great shopping, dining and the greater Los Angeles are only minutes away. Malibu and great beaches with surfing are just down the hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topanga Canyon Hotel Topanga
Topanga Canyon Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing