We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
106
31
8
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
106
31
8
7
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2015 via mobile

If you are traveling from Kruger park or from Kwazulu Natal it is a must stay. I gem in the middle with excellent rooms , good bar, swimming pool, little gym, peace and quite , lovely well manicured gardens excellent breakfast dinner to order packed lunch friendly staff always willing to go the extra mile extra large TV cable TV so comfortable and modern. You won't be sorry.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 246sebastianh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 October 2015

We stayed over from our trip back from the Kruger National Park in July 2015 and what an excellent decision we made. The food, accommodation and service were outstanding. There were 8 of us travelling together and we all felt the same way. One of the family had a problem with his car battery and the owners went out of their way to organise a battery supplier. Being a Sunday a very stressful situation was resolved to our relief. Thank you so very much for looking after us all so well and assisting us. We really appreciated your kindness, great service and hospitality.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

This hotel is a real gem. Everything about it was excellent, from the rooms to the meals and the staff. Tanya is a helpful and friendly hostess and Clem an excellent chef. A wonderful tranquil place to stay. We are now looking for a reason to come back.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 130teresaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Like many other reviewers, we stayed at at Highveld Splendour en-route to somewhere else. It promised to be an oasis in an otherwise fairly dry and featureless road trip with small children.

On arrival we were pleasantly impressed by the grounds and our very spacious, well-appointed room on the ground floor. Travelling with two small children, there was more than enough space for a travel cot (provided), and a single bed for our 6 year old, and our copious amounts of luggage.

We arrived late-afternoon and the children were keen to play outside in the lovely gardens. Once outside a small boy came to play with our son, we assumed his parents owned/managed the property. He was initially very friendly and showed our son a jungle-gym on the property (though it wasn't entirely clear if this was open for guest-use). Whilst at the jungle gym a very protective labrador dog came bounding up to the children and began barking very aggressively at my son. One of the owners came and chastised the dog after approximately five minutes, but didn't remove it from the area and didn't seem that bothered by its behaviour. In the end the dog became so agitated I took my son and daughter back inside our room. On the way to our room we saw a new guest drive in to the hotel - at which point the young boy made a horrifying racial remark (about the new guest) which left me quite speechless.

Back at our room we explained to the boy we had finished playing for the day (it was nearing dinner). We thanked him for showing us the grounds and closed our patio door - however he continued to stand outside and peer inside our room. Eventually we closed the curtains (feeling very awkward), but he then moved around to the other side of the building and peered in the frosted bathroom windows while the children were bathing before dinner. In combination, these events were a bit unsettling.

I gather there were two separate dining areas, however we were seated in the bar area, perhaps owing to the presence of our children. The meal was only okay. The chef also doubled as waiter and whilst he was very friendly, seemed to be stretched trying to cover two dining areas alone.

Positives:
- Beautifully landscaped gardens
- Spacious and well-appointed room
- Friendly check-in
- Attentive to the needs of families with children

Negatives
- Totally inappropriate to have such an aggressive, unrestrained dog on the premises
- Privacy invaded by owner's child
- Food was fairly average

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anelaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 August 2015

We recently stayed at the Highveld Splendour Botique Hotel. Arriving was a bit tricky due to the roadworks, but, that is not something they control. Once we entered the gates, we were pleasantly surprised with the well kept and spacious gardens and clean pool.
Our room was very comfortable and well appointed with tea/coffee facilities, a big screen TV and free wifi. The shower and bath were hot and comfortable. The toilet does not offer privacy, so, be comfortable with whom you are sharing the room. The beds were great and the room had an aircon unit.
The staff were friendly and excellent, and there is some entertainment available.
Our wishes were accommodated and our stay was comfortable. When we departed, we were provided with some breakfast snacks for the road as we wanted an early start.
I would recommend this property to anyone for an excellent stay.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bernard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews