We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty old chinese food at Jember”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rumah Makan Sari Jaya (Cheong On)
Ranked #16 of 74 Restaurants in Jember
Restaurant details
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

This restaurant was a very old restaurant at Jember City. They cooked chinese food from generation to generation. Their building was so old that gain the sense of old chinese restaurant at Jember city. The most important thing is they foods are delicious.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank ano2128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Our first impressions when we just reached the front of the restaurant, wow it was so authentic and original. The place is old like the olden says but it clean and have a homey feeling.

The tables and chairs were still like the old days. We really doubted about the food taste at first but the reviews of this place were so great and we wouldnt want to miss this place.

We ordered the koloke (chicken with sweet and sour sauce), mie goreng (fried noodle), siobak (crispy pork) and burung dara mentega (quail with butter sauce).

Unfortunately the famous siobak was sold out so we changed with roast chicken.

The waiting time was reasonable for us. The taste of the food were really super duper yummy. We really loved the koloke and mie goreng.

As we missed the siobak, we went back there the next day to try the famous siobak. Super delicous. A must try.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank triplebees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

This is the old Chinese resto in town. They are located in the main street. The grilled pork, fried rice with pork ... hmm yummy. It is a must visited resto when you come to Jember. Price? Cheap for that kind of delicious food.

Date of visit: March 2016
1  Thank Ferdinandus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2015

great taste for chinese food, my favorite is pork spring roll with tomato sauce. should visit when stop at Jember, the restaurant have 3 chain buildings but the oldest one is in Jl raya (near Jompo shoping arcade) and for bigger restaurant at Jl gajah mada (oposite BCA)

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sugiphang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rumah Makan Sari Jaya (Cheong On) also viewed

 
Jember, East Java
 

Been to Rumah Makan Sari Jaya (Cheong On)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing