We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
11
3
2
0
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
11
3
2
0
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2017

The cottages were booked so we could only get the home stay. At INR 1000 the accommodation was OK but the hospitality was great. The location for home stay is a little tough ask as you need to climb down some stairs. But the location of home stay is amazing in terms of the view. You open the door to see hills right in front of you. In two days we 3 ppl had around 19 cups of tea as it was cold but the arrangements were good.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SenShiven
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 May 2016

It is terrible and pathetic like a home stay far far different than as projected in the review and website . The host is very rude and lacks mannerism to talk to ladies .
We had cancel our stay here after seeing the cottages and the advance payment is also not refunded .

Very very bad experience

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Pradeep T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xtremerealadventure, Manager at XRA Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Pradeep,
For your kind information. You booked 2 rooms which cost 4800Rs for 13 May 2016.
But 13 May 2016 afternoon when ur family reached in the guesthouse they suddenly ask for cancellation n refund.
Without any valid reason. If you want to describe now, that also OK.
* first thing whenYour wife came at XRA she suddenly start shouting on us because she unable find snow during summer ( May). Another thing in Auli there is no shipping mall, restaurant, n no summing pool on my place.
* Second thing if you will go on my website there is everything written Clairly in terms n conditions section. " same day or 3 days before the starting date of tour - No Refund" ( http://www.xracottage.com/terms.html )

* Second there is no fault from our side..

* third point, that booking day(16 may 2016) while your family check in the guesthouse that day according to terms n conditions they have to suppose pay balance amount. But you escape without paying 3300Rs balance amount. So this loss go in my account.

So if you believe in honestly hope you will send my balance amount soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016

We had a wonderful experience at XRA. the host is warm, very knowledgeable. The food was lovely.

Its an absolute delight, close to the nature and really serene.

Though I would have really loved it if the bed was more comfortable and was a double bed than twin beds joined together with gaps in between.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Parul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 December 2015

The heart and the soul where definitely in a much better place after visiting. The cottages are awesome, the amenities are very clean and new. Solar hot water heater was just installed. The food was quality homemade Northern Indian.

The place is family owned. The family is awesome and very welcoming. Vivek is definitely a local expert (anything outside) and full of knowledge and insight to the area. Awesome people and I will definitely coming back.

The location is not bad, a bit if a walk from the town (30 min if you are moderately fit, I took a couple breaks). The town is killer and the people are very friendly.

Date of stay: November 2015
1  Thank babcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 June 2015

We stayed at XRA Cottage as part of the 5 day trek to Kuari Pass and Pangharchulla peak, arranged with XRA. The owner of XRA is himself a professional skier, and snowboarded, and a good host. We stayed at the relatively newer cottages - nice cosy rooms with different kind of decor. Bathroom is a bit of irritant (hot water is slow, washbasin outlet is bit messy) but still better than average I would say. The highlight is the french windows in the rooms and the small garden from where you get a beautiful panoramic view of the upper Himalayas. We used to just sit there for hours in early morning, soaking in the views and gentle morning sunlight, having tea and snacks. Dining area is also very nice and food is good. The trekking was another great experience, but about that I will write elsewhere. PLUS: location, views, hospitality, food, clean rooms. MINUS: bathrooms can be bit better (outlet hose of washbasin, shower and hot water flow rate). OVERALL I am happy and recommend for family and friends.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skydats
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews