We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, but too far from town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chardham Camp Guptkashi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guptkashi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chardham Camp Guptkashi
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, but too far from town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Please note there are two sites, one is being gradually being shut down (which is near a Helipad). Second one is on top of a hill.
Location is a great and one gets amazing view on a clear day.
Site is too far from town and very quiet.
Staff wonderful and give very good advise on do's and don't.
Transport is a must as it is on top of a hill and town is about 2KM. away down the hill.
All the usual services are there and hot water in provided in the buckets on request.

Room Tip: Great Camp site, semi hard beds, lining inside the tents could do with a good clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harbinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    10
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

On our trip to Kedarnath / Badrinath, we spent a day at the Chardham camp at Guptkashi and we were impressed all over again. we have stayed at the camps at Barkot and Harshil and we are always so happy with the homely service & atmosphere and the warmth amidst the cold in their camps. One must spent a night at a Chardham camp on a chardham trip!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bloretravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

It hardly seems like a place you might want to relax and take the view in. On our way to Kedarnath, we found this quaint, warm and comfortable stop over just the place to take a day off before our pilgrimage to 2 of the Dhams.
Beautiful gardens, looked after by the whole lot of friendly and happy to help staff.
Clean cosy, well kept tents, with sitouts. Good food with a wonderful choice for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anitya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

The camp is run by a bunch of dope smoking staff who were rude and abusive. It is a shame that such things happen in such a place which is so close to kedarnath and for which people come with a greater sense of religous sentiments.The owner of the camp was very rude and a fake person who talked about things that he does not beleive and do himself and payed no attention to the complaints made to him

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mountaingypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2009

We stayed 2 nights at this camp. The camp is located in the outskirts of Guptakashi and on the way to Kedarnath. Firstly, the location was fantastic, overlooking several snow capped peaks and in the midst of a beautiful flower filled garden.

The tents were very comfortable and warm despite the weather being cold and rainy. I wouldn't call them luxury tents, but they were very clean and large enough to accomodate two adults and two kids.

The food was very tasty, healthy and homely. On the morning that we started our trek to Kedarnath, the staff packed a very wholesome b'fast at 4:00 am in the morning. Dinners on both days was very good.

I must add, the service is top class. Each member of the staff was very helpful and eager to assist. They went out of their way to keep us comfortable.

The only downside was that I found it was priced a little on the higher side, but considering the operations are on only a few months in a year, it might make sense. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Kedarnath.

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MadhaviC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guptkashi
32.6 km away
Hotel The Kedar Dev's
Hotel The Kedar Dev's
#3 of 5 in Badrinath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.0 km away
Shikhar Nature Resort
Shikhar Nature Resort
#3 of 5 in Uttarkashi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.9 km away
Camp Nirvana Guptkashi
Camp Nirvana Guptkashi
#6 of 12 in Guptkashi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Kailash Residency
Kailash Residency
#1 of 3 in Guptkashi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Chardham Camp Guptkashi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chardham Camp Guptkashi

Property: The Chardham Camp Guptkashi
Address: Near Dobata, Guptkashi 249141, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Guptkashi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Guptkashi
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,651 - ₹ 12,380
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leisure Hotels announces the opening of its tented accommodation at all the Char Dhams for a luxurious and comfortable stay. Nestled in the lap of the majestic Himalayas, explore Kedarnath, a most sacred shrine of Hindu mythology for the ultimate experience in spiritualism. All the CharDham Camps offer luxuries like spacious weather proof tents, attached baths and toilets with running hot & cold water, multi- cuisine dining facilities, guided visits to the shrines, first-aid at camps, ayurvedic massages and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Chardham Camp Guptkashi Uttarakhand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing