We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Little Polynesian Resort
Nearby Hotels
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel(Titikaveka)(Great Value!)
US$ 270
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 482
US$ 452
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 457
US$ 446
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 129
US$ 73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 246
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aro'a Beachside Inn(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
US$ 173
US$ 169
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 139
US$ 136
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 324
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Raro(Avarua)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveller rating
402
83
28
13
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
83
28
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolgarden roomour honeymooncook islandshot breakfastspa bathbeach bungalowtropical breakfastfishhouse keepingika mataoff the menuromantic dinnerpaddle boardsoutdoor showerfruit platterspent nights
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 539 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018

It was our home away from the home for almost a week. The location, location, location - the best! You are 10 minutes away from the best snorkeling on the island. The beach in front - just to dream for. Our beach front bungalow was fantastic! It was very clean, had an island spirit, and had everything what we need. They think about all small details - like espresso machine, tea cattle, robes, snorkeling gear, clothespins to dry your beach clothes outside. The beautiful fresh flower arrangement greets you at the entrance. The stuff is really good and friendly. They managed to clean the room when we are not around and had turnover the bed at the evening, it was very cute to find a bottle of water and the glass next on the nightstand near the bed. Once, we were swimming and snorkelling on the hot day, come back from the water and founded glasses with the ice cold water waiting for us, very nice touch! The food in the restaurant was always superb with good gluten free and vegetarian choices. There was the best gluten free bread I have ever ate. The service desk - guys, you are the best! Thank you for all your recommendations and scheduled our activities for us. Thank you to all at The Little Poly for making us feel special, we hope to see you again!

Room Tip: All oceanfront bungalows are great.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

So if you want to pick the best place on the island, then I suggest that you stay here. We looked at some other places around the island and the actual accommodations and Beach were to die for. We stayed in the Beach bungalow and it was the perfect size and could listen to the ocean and the rain in the evening which was lovely.

Also, the staff here are impeccable and make each and every person feel special. They always take the time out to say hello and everyone remembers your name. I would like to give an extra special thank you to Marilyn, Juta, Suzie, And Heireia. I am sure I spelled your names wrong and I apologize. Each and every staff is so helpful and warm and also the food here was one of the best on the island.

It was very nice also to have the use of kayaks and snorkel equipment. One suggestion would be to have a few push bikes as well.

If I were to come back to the island of Rarotonga, hands down, this is where he would stay!

Thank you again for making our stay so enjoyable

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Micht123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

A great find, and felt exclusive. All the staff were very attentive, and couldn't do enough to help. Never been back to the same lace twice before - this one could break the trend.
Can't recommend it enough, you won't be disappointed. Some clients complained about the state of the roofs - but it is an exposed island, and I wasn't there to look at the roof !
Right on the beach, with very good snorkelling from right there

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

This should be your home away from home. The beachside bungalows are like cathedrals, built to withstand the strongest winds. A great stereo system is available for your evening entertainment, if you happen to bring a selection of your favorite music on an USB. The Little Polynesian is part of the Pacific Resort Group - but there’s nothing hotel chain about it. Everything is personal - they make it a point to remember your name - and the limited number of bungalows set on immaculate grounds makes for an intimate atmosphere. I’m forever grateful to Nan for making it possible for an upgrade. The beach bungalow I was assigned (No. 9) exceeded all my expectations. The mushroom risotto, when it’s freshly made at 6pm, with half-melted cheese is so good. The chowder with fresh shrimp is a treat at any time of day. Cheers to all the restaurant staff - and the chef who turns out wonderful creations - and the housekeeping staff, who made my stay such a pleasant experience.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Our 9th return trip to the Little Poly. The Little Poly is about memories! This resort has the best beach, the best photo opportunities, the best palm trees with the lagoon back drop, best sunsets, food, authentic Polynesian hospitality……….!
This is our 9th return trip to the Little Polynesian and our 12th visit to the island. We have had many resorts try to lure us to theirs or people offer their beach houses but the Little Poly draws us back each year. The Little Poly Experience can not be matched.
The Little Polynesian is an adults only resort. This resort is a quiet, warm, sophisticate Polynesian resort! The staff are efficient professional.
The resort has recently benefited from the management team from The Pacific Resort but have retained the little poly staff, many who have been there for 5, 10+years and really help make the resort cosy and charming! This group has managed to retain the charm of this boutique resort while bringing their expertise to fine tune the service and amenities.
Upon check in you are greeted with a tropical drink and warm greeting. From that point on you can just let the stress drain from your body. You are in paradise and the staff will do anything they can to help you.
Choices for breakfast are continental which includes a selection of tropical fruit and fresh pastry, toast, coffee, etc… or a hot breakfast at an additional charge. We stay for 12 days so there is enough variety for us not to get bored. Some morning we have hot… the eggs benny are to die for, the coconut pancakes delicious or the omelet is fantastic. We have several friends on the island and one thing we love to do is have them join us for breakfast! People love the setting by the infinity pool and lagoon at your feet and the food is fantastic. It is a nice way to entertain/relax for a couple hours.
The rooms are exquisitely designed. The beach front bungalows are designed to take full advantage of the view! At night we enjoy having the louvers open and letting the ocean breeze wash over us. There are those nights where you have to turn the A/C on also. The reef is the farthest out here so for those of us not use to living on the ocean will enjoy the distant sound but not find it annoying. The units have huge open beam ceilings. The bathrooms are nice spa baths with double sinks, rain shower heads and there is the perfect surprise outside the back of each unit. You have your own private garden & outside shower! Some units have spa tubs. Love the pebble floor in the shower. So wonderful on the feet! Make note of the Polynesian details inside the unit. The rope tying inside on the beams, special craftsmen were brought in to do it in the traditional ways. The carvings on the molding around the ceilings are also traditional as are some of the ones around the restaurant area. All part of the charm of the place. Don’t worry if you get a garden room rather than beach front. These units are equally charming and just 20 steps from the beach. You are still getting all the amenties and setting of the resort.
The beach is basically private to the resort and the best beach on the island! You will see the odd person walk by but it is really only other guest you will see dotted along the beach. There are lots of paddle boards and wake boards for our use. No waiting required. The snorkeling in front of the resort is excellent.
We ate dinner at the restaurant many times. The food is prepared perfectly. I ordered a couple of dishes twice. First because I enjoyed them and secondly to see the consistency. Each time the entre was prepared perfectly and exactly the same as the time before. I really enjoyed the “ruby rare tuna” probably the best fish dish I had on the island. Dessert, well the mud cake was amazing but a couple of times just ordered a scoop of ice cream! One little detail I learned to appreciate is The Little Poly team did their best to keep the mosquitoes away with discreetly placed mossy coils. Other places on the island where we ate I got attacked during dinner by the little mossys and it really ruined the meal.
My only fault I found during our entire stay. Not a biggy but I have to be honest. Our first night having dinner our server took our order. We ordered bruschetta, two green salads and our mains. We had the bruschetta –fantastic! And then our mains. The salads got missed. I didn’t say anything as we had plenty of food. It also allowed us to split a dessert! Mud cake.. Wonderful. I did mention the miss to the manager and he said it was their policy that orders be repeated back and he would remind the staff. In subsequent dining experiences there was never another miss. The service was always the most professional of any place we dined at.
Afternoon drinks by the pool… Fantastic!… tried a few cocktails and beer all were wonderful. Just sitting there by the infinity pool relaxing gazing out to the lagoon, palm trees swaying slightly enjoying our little bit of paradise. Speaking of drinks just for a change us and another couple wandered down the road to the Pacific resort and had a couple drinks.. Wonderful setting!
This is a fantastic place for honeymooners or other adult guests. It is romantic, quiet and just totally tranquil. When you want to get up and have some fun it is all right at your finger tips. Enjoy the sunsets… or get up for the sunrise and if the tide is low and the water calm you can see the parrot fish feeding on the coral with their tales out of the water.
The Little Poly we will be back. Thanks to all the staff for making our vacation fantastic again!
To the Pacific management team of Greg, Nan and the rest of the staff– You are fantastic!

Room Tip: Beach front are excellent but garden rooms are also nice. for honeymooners there are excellent spots to take photo's best on the island.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank holidayfuncalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews