We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Fantastic Find”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Glendale Cottage

The Aurora borealis as seen from Glendale Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Aurora borealis as seen from Glendale Cottage
Sea View from the Cottage deck Sunset reflection on Glendale Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
The Aurora borealis as seen from Glendale Cottage
Sea View from the Cottage deck
Sunset reflection on Glendale Cottage
Sunset from the Cottage deck
Cuillin view
Glendale Cottage from the garden
The living room with patio doors to deck
The living room
Lovely log burning fire in living room
Hallway with patio doors to deck
Spacious deck
Kitchen and dining area
Kitchen
Master bedroom with King size bed and en-suite bathroom
En-suite with spa bath
Twin room
Single room
Family Shower room
Burn running through the garden
Visitor to the garden
Glendale Cottage driveway
Garage for storing bikes, canoes etc
Winter rainbow
Aurora borealis from the Cottage deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Carbost, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tru H
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Find”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Glendale is amazing! I travelled with my husband, 16 year old son and our dog Maisie. The weather was "interesting" during the week we were there but it didn't matter as the cottage was so warm and comfortable we soon got dry again.
Glendale is equipped to a very high standard - there is even a bread maker and a slow cooker - but the ipod connection for the stereo really made my day, thank you for that.
At the end of the day it was lovely to sink in to the incredibly comfortable armchairs in the lounge and watch the light fade across the bay.
This is by far the nicest holiday cottage I have stayed in. It literally has everything you could want and the garden is lovely.
The Taigh Ailean Hotel, which you can see from the cottage, is definitely worth a visit. The food is great and everyone is very friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for your kind feedback which we really appreciate.
We are delighted that you found the Cottage warm and welcoming and managed to enjoy the view and the garden despite the weather.
We will also pass on your comments to the Taigh Ailean as they will be happy to hear you enjoyed the welcome there too.
We hope to welcome you back soon. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conor L
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for a trip to Skye.”
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage had everything we could have possibly needed during our weekend in Skye. We had no problems accessing the property, and David was helpful and responded quickly when we had a minor problem with the heating. It was perfectly located for exploring the entire island, and we'd also highly recommend the nearby Taigh Ailean pub, which serves up great food and has a cracking atmosphere. We would definitely love to stay here if we ever returned to Skye!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2015
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the Cottage and your visit to Skye. We will pass on your lovely comments to the Taigh Ailean too, I am sure they will be very happy to read them. We would love to welcome you back on your next visit to Skye.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was clean
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Richard B
St Ives, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the setting, great kitchen, settee to die for”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Cottage was excellent, boys relived their childhood with the Wii, great to have wi-fi. The seating was the best we've ever had in 10 years of holidays in Scotland. Kitchen was really well laid out, patio/decking was very nice. Beds were comfortable, bathrooms were roomy, the whole house was large and spacious.

Cottage was easy to find, but still quite remote, easy travelling to Portree and Broadford (loved the Sia cafe at Broadford), Fresh seafood just 3 miles down the road,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The settee/chairs
Liked least: Not Applicable
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJM257
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, home from home, dog friendly garden and views to die for”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is a great cottage. It genuinely feels like a home from home -it is cosy, has a well stocked kitchen, comfortable beds and a lovely big sitting room with recliner chairs and a settee to relax in. The decking outside has a table and chairs for breakfast and/or evening dining with views over the large, bird filled garden and further afield to the sea beyond. The sunsets are truly spectacular.

There is a bar within a two minute walk of the property that serves tasty home cooked food.

It is what I would call Central Skye, meaning it is easy to get almost anywhere and has several lovely walks nearby. It is close to Carbost where the Talisker Whisky Tour is located. There is also a lively Inn there that serves good food and has music nights twice weekly.

We did an excellent wildlife tour while there and had other sightings of Golden and Sea Eagles, seals and otters on our many walks and boat trips.

We had an excellent holiday and will definitely be returning! :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How comfortable it was and the views.
Liked least: The rain (on one day only!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Glendale Cottage and your holiday on the Isle of Skye. It sounds like the weather was kind to you and excellent that you saw some of Skye's most iconic wildlife. We hope to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing