We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
38
17
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
17
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall kitchenevery morningwithin walking distanceplace to stayoiaterrace
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We, 3 adults and 1 child, stayed in the Lotza in oktober 2012! The Lotza Studios is located in Finikia, which is an old authentic village nearby Oia. Every morning we walked in about 10 minutes to Oia. Finikia is a very quite old village, with a little, very good restaurant. The Lotza is beautifull. We stayed in the studios 1 and 2. Afther a warm day we swimmed in the swimmingpool and lay down on the beds near the pool. The rooms were cleaned every day and every day there were clean towels. We are sure to come back here! We loved the Lotza.
The Owners are very friendly!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Very authentic and romantic place to stay. It is in a quiet place not surrounded by tourists. It is away from Oia only 15 minutes walking. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable in unique local style. Very clean. Cristina was very helpful and kind and gave us some amassing restaurants and beach recommendations. You will enjoy the place and fall in love wishing to come again. Thank you Cristina for your kindness.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lubojanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We decided to revisit Santorini at a time with less tourists than in summer. We stayed 10 days in Lotza Studios away from the tumultuous world. From Finikia, the most typical village of Santorini, we could wether go to Oia by feet in 10 min or have a walk along the caldera between Oia and Fira or reach the beach of Paradaisos 1,5 km far from the village by a delighfull path in the vineyards. Christine payed attention to all our desires and gave us a lot of advise concerning activities, places and restaurants. She helped us understanding the way people from Santorini celebrate Easter and we participated with pleasure.

Room Tip: All the studios have a niece terrace with beautiful flowers and a wonderfull view over the sea and other islands like Ios.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pascal m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My family and I recently had the pleasure of staying at Lotza on our Mediterranean vacation this April. We rented 3 studios and could not have been happier with our accommodations. Christina met us at the Studios and gave us a personal tour of the properties. Her restaurant recommendations, maps of the islands and Fira, and list of "must see" sights were useful. The houses were comfortable and nicely decorated with taste. The views from the commun garden were great and you can feel the local life style due to many locals still living in Finikia. I would recommend it even for a couple, it is charming and romantic.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amboral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My husband and I chose Lotza Studios for a long awaited month off. We had been in e-mail communication with Gianna (who we assumed to be the manager) prior to arriving and she had been very helpful with her responses.

On arrival, we had arranged to be dropped off by taxi in the nearby carpark, as one has to travel by foot (or donkey!) through most of Finikia where Lotza Studios is located. We were met by a young local girl who walked us to Lotza, showed us our studio and pointed out how the hot water worked. We asked would we be seeing Gianna the next day, however we were not sure she understood as she didn't really respond. However, we were not too worried, as we assumed we'd see Gianna at some stage during the next day.

We didn't see Gianna once during the entirety of our month long stay. The only member of staff on site was the very pleasant cleaner, who however had no English. There was no information in the studio on basics:- where the local shop was, local restaurants, how to get around etc. The only thing we could find was a folder in Dutch, which seemed to be a review of local restaurants etc. done up by a previous visitor.

During our stay we had guests almost on a daily basis knocking on our door at all hours of the day and night, as there was no staff presence on site. This was because our studio's (Studio 3) proximity to the reception led guests to believe that it formed part of the reception. On two occasions, guests actually walked straight into the room while I was alone resting during the day. Suffice to say, I got quite a fright and we got to the stage where we were always worried that someone would knock on our door yet again.

We raised this issue by e-mail with Gianna a few days before departure, as we also didn't know how we were to pay the bill, due to lack of people on reception. We even suggested that perhaps she might make it more obvious where the reception was compared to the studios or make sure all guests were aware that there were no regular staff present, to stop this problem arising in the future. Her response to this was that we were the first people to complain!

On speaking to her later by phone to organise checkout, my husband again reiterated the problem and said he was surprised no one had mentioned this before, as it happened so often during our stay. Her response to this was that maybe it was just because we had stayed so long and most people only stayed for a few nights! She seemed to have no interest at all in following up the complaint.

We were not at all happy with this response and we now feel that her priorities are solely getting bookings and taking payment : anything that happens during your stay is your own problem. We found this attitude to be very bizarre for someone in the hospitality industry and indeed the whole set up with no staff, apart from a cleaner on site to be very unusual and certainly not the norm based on our previous stays on the Greek islands.

Lotza Studios certainly show a unique view of Santorini life from a local perspective, but it needs to re-evaluate its attitude towards the care of guests.

Room Tip: Avoid Studio 3. If the option is available, consider Studio 1 or 2.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chrissiekaboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianna S, Owner at Lotza Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2011

Dear Guest,

I would like to begin by thanking you for your kind and honest comments which will indeed help us provide better service, but also help fellow tripadvisor users.
We are very sorry to hear that you were disturbed by walk in tourists. This has not happened in the past. However we do have in all our units a 'do not disturb sign' which can be used for the cleaning service but also in general. Since we are a small self catering complex with a few apartments we do not have reception service. However we are always available for any questions or other information needed.
It would have been helpfull if you could have informed us earlier while you were here, in order for us to be able to solve the problem.

Again we would like to thank you for your comments and hope that you may still have fond memories in general from your stay in Santorini.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews