We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$ 181
View deal
Hotels.com
US$ 148
View deal
Booking.com
US$ 157
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.comUS$ 148
eDreamsUS$ 157
Trip.comUS$ 157
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
675 results
Traveller rating
373
225
56
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
373
225
56
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the barn cardamom plantation plantation walk banana fritters room was large stunning views beautiful property munnar town simon estate guide dr tea kerala balcony walks viewpoint
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 675 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2021 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here. The grounds are lovely and the room was large and simply furnished. I loved the swimming pool and seemed to be the only guest willing to brave the cold to use it. My only complaint is that one is not given an option to eat dinner elsewhere, and the set price is exorbitant with far too much food served, although it’s very good. One night was okay, but after that I refused and was met with some coldness. Too bad, because I probably would be reluctant to come again just for this one reason.

Date of stay: March 2021
2  Thank Cate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 February 2021 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and were bowled over by the stunning views, excellent food and attentive staff. Ansel, the on-site naturalist, provided an excellent walk around the cardamom plantation and passed on to the kitchen our love for the local banana fritters, which they surprised us with at tea time.

The room was comfortable and a good size, and we had excellent nights of sleep. The breakfast was plentiful and Keralan lunched delicious. The site is a little away from the main town, and involves a stunning if somewhat bumpy drive. Overall, we had a fantastic time and will be recommending to family and friends.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank jm661
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 December 2020

After trying for a quarter of a century, we were finally able to travel to Munnar, Kerala and stay at "Windermere Estate" for two days. A lovely resort perched on the top of a hill and set among cardamom and coffee estates, it is certainly worth a visit and a second and a third and many many more. While the approach left a lot to be desired (no fault of theirs), once you arrive there, its like home.
What impressed us was the care and affection given by each and every staff member right from the MD to the gate keeper. The rooms were comfortable and spacious with all necessary requirements. The food, mainly Kerala Cuisine was delicious & fresh and the views were simply outstanding - especially from the top of the view point which we managed to reach huffing and puffing all the way. It was worth the effort and slight physical discomfort for us oldies..
Again I come to the personal attention. Dr Simon John, the owner, his wife Molly, their son Yohan and his wife Meenu are personally involved in the day to day running of the property despite having a very efficient team in place.. It was a short trip, but thoroughly enjoyable and we left sad not to have stayed a little longer. We will certainly be back for more.

Date of stay: December 2020
Thank Sujit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 December 2020

An amazing resort situated just 3 kms away from Munnar Town. This is an ideal place if you want to take a break from your busy schedule. All cottages are spacious and with a sit out or a balcony. The best things is the quietness of this place. another interesting thing is the view point. You can enjoy the sunset and sunrise from here. They don't have an elaborate menu for the food but whatever they are serving is outstanding. We had Lunch, dinner and breakfast and we really enjoyed the food. Staff is very friendly and helpful. General Manager Mr. Sunil and Executive Chef Joby is always there for any assistance.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Panicker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 May 2020 via mobile

Munnar is very beautiful and Windermere Estate is a charming place from which to explore the area. It is a working cardamom and coffee plantation with lovely views of the surrounding countryside. Our room was very spacious and clean, but it could do with some refurbishment. Our large balcony overlooked the adjoining tea plantation which was glorious and early morning birdsong was a great way to start the day. Staff are all very helpful and polite and service was excellent.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Boadicea-1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews