We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dutch House Bandarawela
Nearby Hotels
Bandarawela Hotel(Bandarawela)
US$ 74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sagala Bungalow(Bandarawela)
US$ 133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hideaway Ella(Bandarawela)
US$ 66
US$ 60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 73
US$ 71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Mount Pleasant(Bandarawela)
US$ 62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US Holiday Resort(Bandarawela)(Great Value!)
US$ 72
US$ 48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 65
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
9 Arch(Bandarawela)
US$ 56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirchhayn Bungalow(Bandarawela)
US$ 136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
US$ 238
US$ 161
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
43
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolhill countrybring your own boozetranquil surroundingsspecial staybeautiful housea wonderful staydelicious foodgorgeous viewsour short stayhome from homebed roomstayed for two nightssri lankahis teamcup of teatommy
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2016

We were absolutely blown away. The service, food and atmosphere were impeccable. Kannan took care of everything, even some gin from down the shops. The property is stunning and immaculate. We stayed for two nights and were utterly spoiled. The bicycles were a nice touch (we rode out to Craig Estate). We were completely spoiled.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TLTip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHBChristine, Owner at Dutch House Bandarawela, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review.

It means a lot to hear such positive comments from our guests. Being proudly Sri Lankan
Our concept is very simple . " Welcome into our home and enjoy Sri Lankan
Hospitality, food and ambiance at its finest. We want our guests to feel spoiled and I am so happy that you'll felt so.
Kannan and the rest of the staff do their very best to carry out our vision. We are
Most certainly blessed with our wonderful staff .

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016

I stayed three nights at the utterly delightful and comfort filled Dutch House nestled in the hills, and I found myself wishing I could stay longer. It was truly one of the most relaxing getaways I have had amidst the most beautiful surroundings.

The interior of the house is impeccably decorated, and I spent a lot of time admiring the attention to detail in every feature of the house, especially the timeless and beautiful country style kitchen (my personal favourite!). The 2 bedrooms were cosy and inviting and the beds were very comfortable.

I was extremely impressed by how lovely and warm the staff were. Kannan the butler is one of the friendliest and most helpful I have met and attended to us always with a smile on his face. Chef Stanley's cooking was a highlight of the trip, with each meal catering to our love of superbly cooked Sri Lankan food.

It was a pleasure waking up in the morning to the scenic beauty of the mountains and enjoying a warm cup of tea in the beautifully landscaped garden. Meals could be served outside on the patio with its view of the hills. Afterwards Kannan arranged deck chairs in the garden for us to relax on and read or play a game of cards. Truly bliss!

If you are wanting to explore, the Dutch House is within close reach of Bandarawela town and also Ella, with its strip of exciting cafes and restaurants. Otherwise, if you desire a tranquil escape then this is the perfect retreat for you.

I arrived to the Dutch House needing to unwind and destress, and I left feeling completely relaxed and rejuvenated. I cannot recommend this place more highly!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savindri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHBChristine, Owner at Dutch House Bandarawela, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2016

Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for the heartfelt review.
Reading it, I knew you have experienced the concept at the Dutch House.
We say "welcome into our home. Enjoy the ambiance, food and Sri Lankan hospitality at its finest.
Being Sri Lankan I want visitors to this beautiful island of ours to experience everything local . Thats what we offer at the Dutch House.
We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016

5 of us spent a magical, sadly too short 2 nights in the Dutch House located just out of the Hill Country town of Bandarawela. The Dutch House is a Colonial style bungalow in the South African Cape House style,set in the most beautiful garden, with magnificent views of the surrounding misty hills.
We received a very warm welcome from the incomparable butler Kunnan and chef Stanley. These two lovely men ensured that our stay was filled with warmth and kindness. Delicious food, Vades and mint chutney, superb Sri Lankan breakfasts and dinners and great tasting tea and coffee.
Kunnan made sure that our evenings were enjoyed in style, setting up our drinks (we brought our alcohol ), organising the CD player (we played Eva Cassidy as well as the house favourites). The sitting room is very elegant and comfortable, flickering candlelight in the evenings, paintings by local artists adorn the walls. Everywhere there is something beautiful to look at, interesting books to browse through, The 2 bedrooms were really comfortable, and the sitting room contained a comfortable sofa bed. Ensuites for the bedrooms and an adjoining bathroom for the sitting room.
Kunnan gave our driver good instructions for the difficult to find Chapel of the Good Shepard Convent where Sister Anita invited us to look at the stunning Chapel designed by Geoffrey Bawa in around 1962.
We wandered around the gorgeous garden framed by the misty hills, and sheltered from the rain on the verandah.
Too short a stay in this beautiful place, we hope to return and will certainly recommend the Dutch House to our family and friends.
A Very Big Thank you to the owners and staff . Lots of Kind Regards from Jennifer and her fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Everything is perfect for a superb stay.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JandJMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHBChristine, Owner at Dutch House Bandarawela, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2016

Thank you so much for your heartfelt review.

This is the first time we gave the villa to 5 persons hence was a bit apprehensive.
However reading through your review I knew that you all had experienced the concept at the Dutch House which is "welcome into our home and enjoy the ambiance, food and Sri Lankan hospitality at its finest".
Being proudly Sri Lankan we want all our guests to feel warmly welcomed.
Looking forward to having you return to the Dutch House.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

An amazing lovely unique home exclusively yours with a butler ,cook and gardener who treat you like royalty. Meals are prepared exactly as per your wishes in this exquisitely furnished house which has been lovingly restored and is luxurious to a fault. Beautiful gardens and view and located in an area where you can do as little or as much as you wish. The owners in fact had sent two brand new bicycles sent over when somehow they learnt that some of our group liked to cycle. The swimming pool at this time of the year was a bit too cold but we hear there are plans to have it heated. The house also has a neat hifi deck if you wish to listen to music. Kanan the butler is overwhelmingly eager to please you and meet all your wishes . He even took us to a nearby shop when my wife wished to purchase a pan to cook the famous egg hoppas!

We stayed two nights but aim to return soon. The two bedrooms are also equipped with the best linen and comfy beds.

Overall an experience not to be missed for a family or a set of close friends

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
Thank menace2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHBChristine, Owner at Dutch House Bandarawela, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2016

Dear Sir

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

I am so happy that you'll enjoyed your stay experiencing the Sri Lankan hospitality and warmth we offer at the Dutch House.
Good to hear that you'll enjoyed the bike ride.Our pleasure.

Our staff is always willing to do the extra bit to make you experience our culture which we are very proud of. So taking your wife to buy the egg hopper pan, was , I am sure a pleasure. Hope she is making the hoppers by now.
Looking forward to having you'll return to the Dutch House.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015

We stayed two nights at this beautiful property; gorgeous, immaculately maintained gardens - a dramatic contrast to the busy no frills town below. Faultless service wiwth a genuine desire to ensure that your stay in this memorable property is as perfect as possible. Delicious meals, prepared to your requirements. Cold pool. Bring your own booze.
A very special place; quite unlike anywhere else that we stayed in SL.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajiv M, Manager at Dutch House Bandarawela, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2015

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your kind words, glad to had an enjoyable stay with us.

Heated pool coming soon :)

Best regards,

Rajiv

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews