We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ischia at its best!!”
Review of Hotel Vittorio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Vittorio
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barano d'Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ischia at its best!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Hotel Vittorio is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in Ischia: Maronti Bay, all the rooms are sea view and Sant Angelo surrounded by the sparkling, crystal clear, turquoise sea provides a true joy for the eyes.

The hotel is run by several generations of a charming Ischian family, and Fabio is fabulous: any wish is his command! He works at the reception desk and fulfills his duties with a great sense of efficiency, flair and class.

Hotel features include:
• a long terrace, where one can enjoy breakfast with a view, as well as some dinners with entertainment by local musicians
• a thermal area including a natural sauna, a hot thermal pool and a refreshing thermal swimming pool, as well as a beauty centre with very good value for money treatments
• a private beach with sunloungers, umbrellas, towels and showers all complimentary to hotel guests
• a fantastic restaurant serving high quality local dishes, with half board or full board options

Local attractions include:
• Cavascura - one of the most ancient Roman thermal parks, well worth a visit, and just around the corner from the hotel.
• Aphrodite - another beautiful thermal park where one can bathe in either the entire day, or half a day
• Sant Angelo - a 25 min walk away through the beach, or a 5 min taxi boat ride, where one can find shops, a hairdresser, and restaurants

The best way to reach the hotel is by taxi boat from Sant Angelo, or by the No 5 bus to Maronti from Ischia Porto, and then a 10 min walk along a wooden path.

If you want to have a perfect, relaxing holiday on Ischia - this is the ideal location! If you have never been to Ischia, you absolutely must add it to your list. Other attractions well worth a visit:

• La Mortella - beautiful gardens which were once home to the English composer, William Walton
• Castello Aragonese - a fascinating historical attraction in Ischia Porto
• Poseidon, Negumbo and Castiglione Thermal Parks

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FirsovaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    118
    31
    10
    6
See reviews for
117
176
47
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We booked 4 nights there following the great reviews but quickly wondered whether we should put an end to our holidays (we went on to Capri, Positano and Amalfi and all the other hotels were as great as described).

Having traveled most of the day we decided to have dinner in the hotel and we were told it took place at 7.30 pm, which is very early. Dinner cost 20 euros per person, which is not cheap but not too expensive either. Indeed we often ate for less or a similar price while on Ischia with much better food - and a greater choice. Along the beach, there is Restaurant Ida, with excellent dishes.
The hotel being on the beach, we were surprised to see no one swimming around 5 pm when we got there but soon found that the water was rather dirty. On week-ends, there are tens (I counted 70+ on Sunday) boats moored in the bay and they just throw things overboard, I also doubt they have holding tank. The other end of the bay does not appear to have boats so it should be better.
In the morning, however, the water is clean - it was still quite cool though - and there are many hotel guests taking a dip before breakfast, which starts at 8am.

We found the bed really hard and uncomfortable and woke up feeling sore, we asked if we could change room but they proposed to change the mattresses, it did not improve the comfort but we had little red spots in the morning..
We eventually changed room and the bathroom was a big improvement on the previous one (it had been refurbished), but the bed was camp bed style with springs that made noise every time one of us turned. We had already said we would cut our stay short and left before breakfast.

On the spa side we did not try the massage but enjoyed the "sauna" (more a Turkish bath), the natural steam bath.

The holiday improved from there. It was the first time we could not match the recommendations to what we were seeing.

Fabio (I think), the young man at reception was always pleasant and tried his best to help, but the hotel really needs to invest a lot more (like, get proper beds, have safes in the bedrooms and mosquito nets, all things we had in other hotels) to turn this into a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank roudoudou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moscow
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We first stayed in this hotel last year and immediately decided we would come again. The location of the hotel can not be better: right on the beach - we could go in our bathing suits right onto the beach which is really fantastic! In June we could use beach facilites free of charge.
The hotel is an ideal place for those who want to really relax and enjoy sea and sun and Marronti bay is a fantastic view.
We had half-board and liked the food.It was very healthy. In the morning we could get fresh fruit, which is rare in a 3-star hotel. The food was always very fresh, and the bread still warm.The choice for breakfast was plentiful - juice, water, fruit, yougurts, cheese, ham, sausage, eggs, dry fruit, canned fruit, breads, croisaants and cakes. And of course - nice fresh coffee. We had breakfast on the terrace by the sea - very pleasant.
For lunch and dinner they serve pastas, a lot of vegetables both fresh and cooked in different ways, fish and sea food, meat. And desserts were really great - fresh seasonal fruites such as cherry, appricots peaches, nectarines, water-melon, melon,as well as ananas, kivi, etc. They also baked pastry and cakes and very tasty one!
The hotel is a family one, and what is important - the owners work themselves.
The service in the hotel is very elegant, not imposing. You feel like being a guest in a family house. We noticed that we saw many people last year - they come every June over years and years.
During our stay in the hotel there were a few parties: candle-light dinner by the sea, with live music, gitar party and also Napoletan party, all with dancing. So even the hotel is situated on the beach it was not dull.
If you want to go out - two steps from the hotel there is the best restoraunt of the island- Pietro Paulo STALINO. The food there is SUPERB! And the place where it is situated is extremely beautiful - on the way to CavaScura.
And the most beautiful town of the island S.Angelo is just 15-20 minutes walk away.
Hotel Vittorio is a hidden tresure of Ischia, I definetly recommend this place, it's really worth it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irina_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

A little gem of a hotel, beautifully positioned on the beach, room with balcony looking out to sea and the sound of the sea to lull you to sleep, great food set out as a buffet and plenty of it, really friendly staff who are all family.

To get there, take the ferry from Molo Beverello, Naples to Ischia. Then bus or taxi, either to Maranti beach, where you walk along the beach to the hotel (if you ring the hotel from where you are dropped off, they will send someone to carry your bags) OR to San' Angelo from where you can walk to the little port and catch a water taxi to the Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marion m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novosibirsk, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

After a long trip over beautiful Italy, we discovered the heart of the country here, at Hotel Vittorio. It was really like being at home, due to well-organized service and warm personal attitude of all Brothers. Everything was fine during our stay. There were no problem with communication in English, German, and even in Russian! As a friendly remark from the women's side, we may say that it is surprising how well men can provide such a good comfort. However, this is still the men-made comfort, and one can feel the lack of woman's hands and heart in it. You can put the vases with flowers on the tables, and it will be another story. Or make a book shelf where the guest may leave their books and find something to read. These are minor suggestions, and all in all, we had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Vittorio. If not the visa restrictions, we would certainly prolong our stay for another week or two. We are grateful to the owners and would like to come back!
Marina and Valentina

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cher_va55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barano d'Ischia
0.1 km away
Hotel Regina del Mare
Hotel Regina del Mare
#9 of 13 in Barano d'Ischia
166 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Parco Smeraldo Terme
Hotel Parco Smeraldo Terme
#1 of 13 in Barano d'Ischia
394 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel San Giorgio Terme
Hotel San Giorgio Terme
#2 of 13 in Barano d'Ischia
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Maronti
Hotel Maronti
#8 of 13 in Barano d'Ischia
113 reviews
5.4 km away
Hotel Le Querce Terme & Spa
1.5 km away
Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo
Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo
#1 of 15 in Sant'Angelo
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vittorio? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vittorio

Property: Hotel Vittorio
Address: Via Maronti 71, 80070 Barano d'Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Barano d'Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Barano d'Ischia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Barano d'Ischia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Barano d'Ischia
#4 Spa Hotel in Barano d'Ischia
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,592 - ₹ 21,424
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vittorio 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Vittorio is located in the middle of the most beautiful bay of Ischia. The Maronti Beach has got a Southern exposure and stretches for three kilometres from the Eastern "Punta della Signora" to the Western Sant'Angelo village; thanks to its privileged position directly facing the sea, the Hotel Vittorio will let you enjoy a holiday in a scenario where the sea meets the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Vittorio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vittorio Isola D'Ischia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing