We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Condos & Hotel Stoneham
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Not very clean and old. For an hotel so close to the mountain, I would have expected more class. Expensive for what you get and no services nearby. The area is a nice place so go to Stoneham, but in a different stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie-Pierre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mont_Sainte_Anne_Qc, Responsable relations publiques at Condos & Hotel Stoneham, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Hi Marie-Pierre,

We are sorry that you've been disappointed with your stay at Stoneham. It is true that during the off ski season, our services on site are mostly closed (bar, boutique, different restauration option -there is juste one restaurant on site open during summer).

Please also take note that we renovated half of rooms last year, so the option of a superior room [mountain view also available] is offered. As a ski-in ski-out establishment, we are in the most affordable of the province.

Please let us know if you plan to comeback , we will surely do our best to offer you a stay that will meet your expectations.

Lisa Marie Lacasse
Communications Manager
communications@condoshotelstoneham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

We recently stayed at Stoneham in a multi-family ski trip. We were a group of 15 with with 8 young children (7-12). We had a great time!

Our check in was great - friendly and helpful staff who helped us get the best rate (which was pretty good when we got the package with some lift tickets), and help with getting two condos close together for our large group. The front staff also set us up with 4 lockers for our group in the main ski hill building, which allowed us to store some equipment at the hill. We had a little difficulty finding our condos, despite the map provided by the front desk - they all look very similar until you really look. We were located about 300m away from the ski hill parking lot.

The condos we rented were serviceable, but definitely not up to date. It suited our purpose just fine. There was lots of room in both condos (4 bedroom and 3 bedroom) that we rented - lots of closet space, storage, large entrance, etc. All the condos have a ski storage locker (which also worked well as a 'fridge' in the cold weather). Both had two bathrooms and laundry. The kitchen was well set up - stove, fridge, microwave, dishwasher, toaster, coffee maker and kettle. There were an adequate number of dishes, cups and cutlery for our large group. There was a diswashing soap and dishwasher detergent, as well as enough laundry soap do to a couple of loads. The beds were all pretty firm, and we had more single beds than doubles. There was one bed that was too creaky to sleep on, but otherwise we slept well! There was a fireplace too - and you can buy a little package of wood at the front desk.

The skiing was great - we were there mid-week so it wasn't busy. The hill is small, but had a good range of runs for all levels....and a great easy run for the family that was 3km long! The staff are all friendly and helpful. The children had some great instructors for a ski lesson. And we can also attest to the fact that the ski patrol was fantastic - unfortunately had to use them when one of our skiers was injured.

We had a great time - nice location of the condos despite the fact that they aren't ski in, ski out, friendly place, great family skiing. We are already planning next year's trip!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Famtastictravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

when we arrived it over an hour to have room even thus we werw the only one waiting. we reserved by phone superior room with queen beds. they gave a standard room with double beds among a school esction. the manager said that there was no difference between a double and a queen, only 5 inches. we took the rooms because we had no choice, still they charhed a superior room price with adult ski ticket for toddlers . hence they tried to advantage of us. but after 2 days they understood that it a standard room and that a double bed is smaller than a queen. they even charged us 2 bags of fire wood but in a standard room there is no fire place. note that it is dirty with undercover draps for the ned. note that high school kids stays there so very noisy.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stonewall1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The accoms was standard and ok and the location was actually great with convenient access to the outdoors and the touristy Old Quebec.

Summer is definitely their down time and we thought it would be a good time to check out the resort to see if this would be a good place to come for a ski trip. Unfortunately, our check out left a bad taste in our mouths, and made us decide that we might go to Tremblant or try out another mountain in the area.

We travelled with our pet, so before booking we made sure that it was a pet-friendly hotel. Their website indicated that the only pet policy was that we could only book to stay in the Hotel section of the resort and not stay in the condos. This was fine and I booked online. I also called the resort to confirm we could bring our pet and that it was indicated on our reservation. They confirmed - I also asked if there was a pet charge since there wasn't any indicated on the website. They said no. When we got to the hotel, the room they assigned to us was not pet-friendly (but on double-checking our reservation saw that we had requested a pet-friendly room) and they had said that they only have 1 room that allows pets, and it was already occupied. We had booked in for 2 nights - so the staff had said they would check if we could stay in another room for 1 night and we might need to change rooms for the second night. They put us in a smoking room and told us to check back in the morning for a room relocation. They then requested a charge of $20/night for the pet fee. When I said that when I confirmed my reservation, I was told that there was not a charge, they said that we should inquire about it in the morning and they would hold off on the charge. We ended up staying in the room we were assigned, and no one knew about the pet charge so we weren't charged. However, on check out, when we had our bags in hand and was returning the keys to the front desk, we were told that we had to pay the pet fee. They asked for the name of the person I spoke to when I confirmed my reservation and I had not requested that information (mostly because I didn't think I needed to). It was uncomfortable and awkward and it left a bad taste in our mouth. We are not opposed to paying the pet fee as we understand extra cleaning or vacuuming might be required, but I would like to know the costs up front. This information factors in greatly (at $20/night) when we're doing a cost comparison and booking our hotel rooms. I called ahead to make sure we had all the costs covered, and it was just an unpleasant experience to have it thrown at us, especially since we did our best to make sure there was no hidden costs. When i asked what we could have done differently to avoid this misunderstanding, they had no suggestions other than to say that calling ahead usually is suggested (which i what i did!!)

Room Tip: if you are travelling with a pet - i woudln't recommend staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c00pr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mont_Sainte_Anne_Qc, Public Relations Manager at Condos & Hotel Stoneham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2011

Hi,

We would like to start of by saying that Hotel Stoneham’s team is really sorry about the experience you had with your pet at our Hotel . After have read about your experience on TripAdvisor, we reviewed our procedure s and rules to be certain that this kin d of situation doesn’t happen again. Otherwise, we are happy to see that you still enjoyed the area and we can give you the guarantee you would just love it in winter time; there is so much to do, to see and to enjoy. We are looking forward to welcom ing you again. Do not hesitate if you have any question or other comments.

Best regards,

The Hotel Stoneham team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

The room was fine, actually quite big. There was lots of room to spread out and relax.

The one thing I noticed in the room was that it could have been cleaner. For example, it looked like something had been spilled on the bathroom wall and the brown drips hadn't been wiped off. Plus there was dust in a few reachable places (ie, not under the bed or out-of-the-way places - I didn't look there - but in places that were quite evident).

The staff had trouble answering our questions, whether I spoke English or French. Some answers they gave us were just plain wrong (found out afterwards) One example: It was indicated that there was skating on the premises but when I asked where, nobody at the front desk knew. We found the rink on our own (It hadn't yet been prepared for winter) and it was only a few yards from the hotel, at the bottom of the ski hill.

There was trouble with my bill, which they sorted out after about 20 minutes.

So if you want a comfortable room at a reasonable price, go for it! Just remember, the front desk staff has trouble with queries!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deweybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoneham-et-Tewkesbury
6.7 km away
Le Manoir du Lac Delage
Le Manoir du Lac Delage
#1 of 1 in Lac Delage
295 reviews
17.1 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Quebec Resort
19.1 km away
Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 km away
Auberge du Littoral
Auberge du Littoral
#28 of 102 in Quebec City
783 reviews
23.9 km away
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
#76 of 102 in Quebec City
560 reviews
26.3 km away
Auberge Duchesnay
Auberge Duchesnay
#1 of 1 in Sainte Catherine de la Jacques Cartier
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condos & Hotel Stoneham? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condos & Hotel Stoneham

Address: 610, Chemin du Hibou, Stoneham-et-Tewkesbury, Quebec G3C 1T4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Stoneham-et-Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Stoneham-et-Tewkesbury
Price Range: ₹ 4,559 - ₹ 8,531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Condos & Hotel Stoneham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 20 min drive from Quebec City, Condos & Hotel Stoneham offers a large choice of 24 condos and 59 hotel rooms, all located directly right down the slopes of Stoneham ski resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Condos & Hotel Stoneham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing