We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyboston Lakes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wyboston
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

we stayed here for 1 night before travelling on, we arrived just after 8pm to a very warm wellcome. We took our over night bag to our room, it was clean and tidy, they was a double bed, tea and coffee, and flat screan tv. We looked at the menu and decied it was a little over priced so went in to the local town (5 min drive) and had a lovely Thia meal. Breakfast the following day was very good, BUT they cook eggs to order so they was a wait as only 1 frying pan, also they do the toast again a wait as the girl doing the eggs had to take the toast out and cut it, so breakfas does go a bit cold in all this waiting. We asked for more tea and did not have to wait long. We would have used the pool but closes very early at night. We will use this hotel again only cost us £65 for the night.

Room Tip: A few people have said about the noise from upstairs, we had a room on 1 st floor and had no problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjdigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,122
    684
    234
    78
    46
See reviews for
275
768
67
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

nice nice place
never seen rabbits so tame
nice food nice service no complaints

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pelpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
447 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

By the time we left, this review could only be 'excellent', but if the hotel hadn't have been so responsive to a couple of issues, then it would have been been just average.

I can understand the 'marmite' effect this place has on some reviewers, but generally we liked the ambience of the out-of-town golf resort type of feel, and the overall impression is one of quality.

The place was totally full on check in, and we had only booked a couple of days before out two day visit, so it was fair to expect that we unlikely to get any choice with room allocation. On top of that we had booked the very good value 2 day break for about £140 in meal on first night and breakfast both days.

However our room view was a JCB style digger parked very close to the window, and the rest of a building site and rear of a new utility block. For one night this may have been less of a problem, but not for 2 days. We had not been warned before we arrived, or even at check in of this issue. We enquired if another room was available, but they were fully booked for the first night. They did offer to move us for the second night though.

The first night was poor, not for the view once is bed of course, but for the constant noise of what I assumed was a ground water pump running all night to keep an excavation free of water.

However the meal in the evening was excellent, way better than we expected, and we would go there again just to eat - very well done for the food!!!

The new room was fine, much better, although I assume this was a premium room.

The other issue that they stop serving breakfast at 09.00 am on Monday morning. This is unusual for most hotels, recognising many guests are on long weekends on Mondays. So we thought we had missed breakfast when we went down at 09.20, but they allowed us to be served in the bar, with better service and coffee etc! for no extra cost.

In view of the issues we had, even with the responses I would have only given 4 stars, but considering the quality of the food, and the overall cost of the 2 days, I think they deserve top marks.

I've complained in other places and they have done nothing to remedy the situation. This place did very well, and all the staff are helpful and polite.

One point to note is that the house wine is also top quality, again a refreshing change from the norm.

Room Tip: not near building works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HumberMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Booked this Hotel for its value & convenience to Cambridge as we were attending a family wedding.
It is situated 15 miles from Cambridge and was in a quiet location!
The Hotels in Cambridge were over £100 more and did not include dinner on the first night.
Although, on first impression the Hotel looked like a conference centre, once we had checked in and found our room we were very happy! (Our stay included an executive room). The food in the restaurant was first class, although the portions were on the small size. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The views over the lakes were lovely.
Ask for a room that is not overlooking the Golf Club car park as we were woken up on both mornings before 6.00am with their very noisy banter! (It didn't bother us because we are early risers! but I am sure it would upset some!)
The breakfast was excellent, with once again lovely staff.
We would certainly not hesitate to return and the food alone deserves 5*'s

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the Golf Club car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PearlEvesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
201 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Used for a brief overnight stop. Convenient location just off the A1 but no noise associated with it. We arrived quite late in the evening but were welcomed reasonably. Room nothing special but everything was there. Bar was still open but it is too full of sports TV screens that were too loud. However there is plenty of space and the staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was pretty good - certainly plenty of it and a very pleasant location with a view over the lake. I ould stay there again no worries.

Room Tip: Best to have a room not fronting the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJD744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyboston
13.8 km away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#7 of 17 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
0.6 km away
Premier Inn St. Neots (A1/Wyboston) Hotel
28.2 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.5 km away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
16.5 km away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
15.6 km away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyboston Lakes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyboston Lakes Hotel

Property: Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Address: Waterfront Centre Great North Road, Wyboston MK44 3AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Wyboston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wyboston
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,436 - ₹ 9,780
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyboston Lakes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyboston Lakes Hotel is set in 365 acres of countryside, midway between Cambridge and Milton Keynes. It is home to the Waterfront Restaurant which enjoys stunning views of the lake and golf course. The Hotel has 103 furnished ensuite bedrooms with all the amenities you would expect from when you are away from home. It provides a perfect setting for private dining or special occasions, with dining areas and party rooms overlooking the lake. Wyboston Lakes Hotel makes the perfect destination for visitors to the area of Milton Keynes, Bedford, Cambridge or Peterborough. As well as lots to do in the region, there are a wide range of activities for you to enjoy and the flexibility to have your stay just as you want it. Enjoy time at Y Spa, our stunning spa facility, providing relaxation, rejuvenation and pleasure. Y Spa offers wonderful therapies to take you away and revive tired bodies and minds. Incorporating stunning therapy rooms, steam and salt rooms, Rasul, water beds and relax areas. A signature feature is the external hydro-pool and kelo sauna, which is connected internally to the thermal suite with an open fireplace and loungers poolside. The 18 hole golf course is beautifully set with great views and challenging play. We offer a residents golf rate of £14 per person mid-week, or £25 per person at the weekend. In addition we also have a Golf Driving Range. The Wyboston Lakes Health & Leisure Club is a great place to work-out and guests of Wyboston Lakes Hotel can use this facility free of charge. Guests staying at the Hotel can also enjoy FREE Wi-Fi across the hotel as well as in the bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Wyboston Lakes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyboston Lakes Hotel Wyboston
Lakes Hotel Wyboston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing