We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wyboston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed here on our 11th wedding anniversary - it was the first time we'd been away on our anniversary so were looking forward to it, a night without children!! I emailed and cheekily asked if we could be upgraded and we were, free of charge which was very nice. I also asked for a bottle of wine in our room which we got. A nice touch was an anniversary card from the hotel. The room was very nice, not enormous but absolutley fine - only grumble would be that the bath was rather small. We had a really nice meal as part of our package, good service, lovely food, no problems at all. We took a half bottle of wine up to our room later and everything was fine. It's lovely and quiet and very relaxing. Breakfast was great, a nice choice and a gorgeous view over the lakes. The only quibble was that we were charged twicw for the bottle of wine we'd ordered to be in our room, b ut a quick call sorted that out. I used the swimming pool in Harpers Gym - it's a bit small and the jacuzzi was a little cold, but I am spoilt as am a member of David Lloyd at home! All in all a really pleasant, relaxing, quiet night away. We got an exceptional deal on laterooms which made it all the more worth it too!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sairey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, General Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We hope you really enjoyed your anniversary stay with us and apologise for the confusion with regard to the billing of your wine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,059 - 3,063 of 3,146 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

This place is basically a residential conference / training centre, and that was the only reason I was there. Not the sort of place I would go for any other reason, I don't play golf and there seemed a lot of that going on, many good walks spoiled. The training facilities were first rate but everything else seemed pretty average, apart from the food which I would rate as below average. I was offered something "vegetable", but the waitress came to apologise saying when the chef (?) "got it out of the box" it was meat based. The location is a bit odd, miles from anywhere with poor (no?) links by public transport. The staff were friendly enough, but didn't seem particularly "empowered" by management. Possibly the only really good thing I could find about the hotel was the view over the lake. On a warm sunny morning this was nothing short of stunning. Will I be back? Yes. Why? Because I have to. Will I come back for a relaxing short break? Certainly not.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dem98_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, General Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Many thanks for your review, both positive and negative feedback is important to us as customer satisfaction is our primary focus. It is disappointing to read that we clearly did not meet your expectations. The comment regarding your vegetarian dish was an unfortunate use of words by one of our restaurant staff and I can assure you that everything served in our restaurant is cooked fresh in our kitchens. We do cater for a wide range of customers from those attending a training course or conference to those staying for a leisure break and stive to make everyone's stay a good experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Every march we choose a hotel for a short break. We go for the deals with 2 nights with the first night with dinner. I chose this hotel as it looked good, had a nice setting and wasnt too far to travel. We certainly wasnt disapponted. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The room a nice size, clean and well equiped. We had an executive room with tea and coffee making faciities flat screen tv and even bath robes to use during our stay. The use of Harpers gym was included in our stay and we did take advantage using the pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi while we were there. The food was fab. We had a £20 allowance per person for the first nights meal in the Waterfront Brassiere and chose from the set menu where 2 courses was covered by the allowance. The food was amazing. Breakfast was a serve yourself buffet and there was masses there and all well cooked. The staff in the restaurants again couldnt do enough for you. It caters especially for the golfer as it is a golf club, which we didnt do as not golfers ourselves. The setting is lovely with views over the lakes. Would definately recommend for good value for money and the great staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julestheboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, General Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Many thanks for your feedback. We are so pleased that you had a lovely stay with us and hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My daughter booked The Willow centre for her evening wedding celebration party. From the beginning she experienced nothing but plenty of help. The bar area where we held the party was perfect. Lovely comfy chairs, low tables and plenty of room. Good sized dancing area with the disco. Upstairs was room with a pool table and kitchenette. The children had a great time up there (out the way).
The sandwich and hot wedges buffet we ordered was plentiiful and a really good choice, loads of fresh fruit and crisps.
Nothing was ever too much trrouble (even down to one of the staff providing a whitboard for us to cover to display pictures).
Our rooms in the centre were also very good. The price was so good that many people booked rooms. The breakfast was over in the main hotel (which was a bit of a trek but woke us all up!!) and that too was of a high standard.The place was exceptionally clean and bright wherever we went. I loved the fact that there was no-one above us (single storey) as I am a very light sleeper.We never heard a thing.
Overall we were very very happy with the venue and would certainly recommend it.
But my biggest praise goes to the staff. How important staff are anywhere. 9 of us have just come back from a big holiday in Florida where the Disney staff are trained to high levels.It seemed like we were still there. ALL the staff were cheerful, helpful and went out of their way on any request we had. We felt like we were the only people there.They were great.
Once again I have to say how happy we were.
Well done to all the staff there.
10 out of 10..

Room Tip: At the willow centre, go for the larger bedrooms if you need to add any beds for children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cambridgegal67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This is a second visit to this hotel, I still gripe about having ot 'go across the road for a swim' , but the value and the Quality is superb.

All Staff were pleasant polite, good humoured , and catered for your every need.

The Lounge bar was great service, quick drinks and food, little waiting time.

The whole Hotel has had a refresh since last visit, and has a warm homely feel.

The Restaurant food was superb, albeit a bit expensive, when a small mistake was made this was corrected immediately.

The Room Maids we had over the weekend were great, helpful, and did a good job on the room.

Fairly quiet when we went, the usual amount of weekend Golfers, but not in our way, and the Hotel has plenty of room for all.

A must stay if you are in the area - Restaurant food is expensive, so enjoy, but if you want slightly less go for the bar menu - the pizza was to much for 1 person.

The breakfast area had changed a bit since the last visit, with its own separate area, to seek drinks and food, however it works well - the only problem we witnessed were people coming in and out through same doors, one door in, one door out would be helpful. The range of food was superb, everything was fresh, and if you wanted a just cooked egg, this would be done for you - my wife enjoys Porridge, we had to wait a little for it, but is was provided

Well done the Team at that weekend - Great Job

Room Tip: No rooms are within the Hotel, but we found all rooms to be good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weary-Traveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyboston
13.7 km away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#7 of 18 in Bedford
1,670 reviews
12.4 km away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
763 reviews
1.9 km away
Travelodge Bedford Wyboston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 km away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
356 reviews
0.8 km away
Premier Inn St. Neots (A1/Wyboston) Hotel
15.4 km away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf

Address: Great North Road, Wyboston MK44 3AL, England (Formerly Wyboston Lakes Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Wyboston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wyboston
Price Range: ₹ 4,992 - ₹ 9,382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyboston Lakes Hotel is set in 365 acres of countryside, midway between Cambridge and Milton Keynes. It is home to the Waterfront Restaurant which enjoys stunning views of the lake and golf course. The Hotel has 103 furnished ensuite bedrooms with all the amenities you would expect from when you are away from home. It provides a perfect setting for private dining or special occasions, with dining areas and party rooms overlooking the lake. Wyboston Lakes Hotel makes the perfect destination for visitors to the area of Milton Keynes, Bedford, Cambridge or Peterborough. As well as lots to do in the region, there are a wide range of activities for you to enjoy and the flexibility to have your stay just as you want it. Enjoy time at Y Spa, our stunning spa facility, providing relaxation, rejuvenation and pleasure. Y Spa offers wonderful therapies to take you away and revive tired bodies and minds. Incorporating stunning therapy rooms, steam and salt rooms, Rasul, water beds and relax areas. A signature feature is the external hydro-pool and kelo sauna, which is connected internally to the thermal suite with an open fireplace and loungers poolside. The 18 hole golf course is beautifully set with great views and challenging play. We offer a residents golf rate of £14 per person mid-week, or £25 per person at the weekend. In addition we also have a Golf Driving Range. The Wyboston Lakes Health & Leisure Club is a great place to work-out and guests of Wyboston Lakes Hotel can use this facility free of charge. Guests staying at the Hotel can also enjoy FREE Wi-Fi across the hotel as well as in the bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyboston Lakes Hotel Wyboston
Lakes Hotel Wyboston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing