We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to slow down!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ramgarh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect place to slow down!”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We decided to stay at Ramgarh bungalows by Neemrana as a detour to our vacation in Nainital. And while we had read the reviews before, we were not really prepared for the experience.

Ramgarh bungalows are 6 separate bungalows spread across a small village (around 1km length). To that extent this is not one contiguous property. We stayed in Ramkumar room in the CLIFF house, which is the first bungalow (and recently build - though made to appear look old). Perfect view of the valley/hills across. Great room. was delighted to note that unlike my previous experience at neemrana (Glasshouse in Rishikesh) - they have moved to good mattresses and white linen - which I had thought was a big negative earlier.

Every piece of furniture/light/paintings/decoration object had a character and it all added up so well. Dining hall is almost a km downhill (walking back is a problem!) however dinner and breakfast is served in your bungalow itself. lunch is the only constraint - but usually they will arrange a drop if there is a taxi available.

Each bungalow has 2-3 staff attached. Very helpful, courteous

as a place, its for chilling out. walk into the orchards, climb trees, pluck fruits and eat fresh fruits straight from the tree! peaches, apricots, plums, apples, pears, pomegrenets. read a book, sip wine (carry yours! - nearest booze shop is 20km away in hills with limited transport in that area), watch hills/stars.... perfect place to chill out

I have only two suggestions. there is a bell in the room to call help. The locals employed in service/housekeeping have to run uphill/downhill everytime the bell is pressed to even take orders(they live in a room a little away). I thought that was unreasonable and exploitation of poor locals. It can be avoided by having phones in the rooms. I know the experience that is being created might be compromised a little - but then aren't we already supplying electricity and hot water etc!!!

secondly bungalows require lots of maintenance. Curtains and other upholstery needs to be washed more frequently. in places i saw dust deposits.

rest was outstanding

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Youjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about The Ramgarh Bungalows near Nainital.
Your feedback is heart warming for the entire Neemrana family for it is guests like you that continue to reinforce our philosophy of providing experiential authenticity across India !

We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the views and ambience of the Cliff House. Each of the six homes offers its own unique mountain views of the sunrise and sunset or both – and they offer a new panorama on life too !

We have noted your observations and shall try our best to incorporate the same at the earliest. It is our constant endeavour to improve our services and facilities and it is feedback such as yours which helps us do so. Thank you for sharing this with us.

We hope that as you discover more of real India with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about. On behalf of the entire Neemrana team we thank you for your continued patronage and valuable feedback.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    87
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
109
64
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Ramgarh Bungalow is a awesome place if you are looking for a peaceful place to relax. The service of the staff was wonderful. The food has always been great at all neemrana properties. Its a good place to stay at if you plan to visit Nainital (30 min away) and other nearby places.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arunyadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about The Ramgarh Bungalows near Nainital.
We are delighted to hear that you were able to relax and rejuvenate at the property ! This is what we strive to achieve and it is always heartening if someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love.

Your compliments about the food have been conveyed to the Chef and his team. We thank you for your continued patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Pathetic room service ,no connect from city , no ventilation in most if the rooms .
Breakfast menu has just 1 main item .no recreational facility.
One gets caged with no air.
No value for Monet at all !!'n

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puja_gupta18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about The Ramgarh Bungalows. We are sorry to learn that your stay at the property did not match up to your expectations. We are writing to apologize and to offer an explanation.

From your comment it is evident that there was a huge gap between your expectations and the Neemrana philosophy. Since Neemrana opened its doors to guests, we have been working on a very different hospitality model which revives ruined or unused heritage architectural structures.

All efforts have been made to maintain the old charm of The Ramgarh Bungalows while ensuring the basic comforts that have come to be associated with the changes in lifestyle since the 19th century. The Neemrana philosophy is different from hotels where modern- day amenities are given priority over ambience and old-world charm. At Neemrana, we try and strike a balance between the two so that the past is not completely obliterated. Nevertheless we are distressed to read your feedback about the ventilation and duly apologize for the same. As Ramgarh is a hill-station, fans are provided during the summer months upon guest request. Do ask for the same whenever you choose to stay with us next.

The six Ramgarh Bungalows offer a unique opportunity to experience high spirits up on a summit in the Kumaon. Guests have the perfect chance to disconnect from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Nature lovers are urged to go for walks around the property and visit the river in Talla Ramgarh which is really worth the effort. There are short strolls to reconnect your legs to your planet. Or longer walks with a picnic basket.

Apart from morning and evening tea, Neemrana does not provide room service. This is a part of our USP. With respect to your feedback about connectivity, do note that the nearest railway station is located at Kathgodam which is approximately 60 km from the Neemrana properties.

We hope that the above explanation will be taken in the correct spirit and that you will give us a fair chance to overlay your past experience with a fresh and memorable one.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Ramgarh was a retreat for Tagore, the Indian Nobel laureate writer. He composed here his collection of poems, Gitanjali. No wonder that he loved to relax and write among the Himalayan hills. The Neemrana's 6 bungalows, built in the 19th century, are within a walking distance each others: each has its own taste, but their all share this old-fashion flair. I was accommodated in the Green Suite, in the Ashok Vatika. The suite is ample, the bedroom has a big bow-window looking over the orchard. An electric kettle (and a water heater in the bathroom) is the only concession to the modernity. The place has a breathtaking view on the surrounding hills and valleys. We indulged ourselves in reading or talking in the garden or under the verandas after our walks on the hills. Service is simple and perfect. Meals (Indian or Continental), from breakfasts to dinner are delicious.

Room Tip: Just visit the website: http://the-ramgarh-bungalows.neemranahotels.com/rooms to have all the inform...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lungoilcammino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about The Ramgarh Bungalows in the Kumaon hills.

We are delighted to read about your experience at Ashok Vatika, including the appreciation about the food. Your compliments have been conveyed to the Chef and his team.

It is guests like you that continue to reinforce our belief in our philosophy of putting new life into an unused and ruined building.

We hope that as you discover more of real India with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about. On behalf of the entire Neemrana team we thank you for your continued patronage and look forward to welcoming you at our 26 properties across India !

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Amazing place to be with family & friends. You are very close to nature, will love the environment & food at this property is just matchless........... Enjoyed my stay & really look forward for one more stay coming season......

Room Tip: Can blindly choose any of the location.....all are unique in there own , but will advice to choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viraj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive your warm and appreciative review about The Ramgarh Bungalows in Uttarakhand. Your compliments about the food have been conveyed to the Chef and his team.

This is what we strive to achieve and it is always heartening if someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love.

Thank you for your continued patronage to the Neemrana non-hotel Hotels. We look forward to welcoming you at our 26 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramgarh
2.0 km away
Aamari Resorts
Aamari Resorts
#2 of 4 in Ramgarh
140 reviews
2.3 km away
Soulitude in the Himalayas
12.1 km away
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
#1 of 1 in Dhanachuli
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Fern Hillside Resort Bhimtal
10.9 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#13 of 49 in Nainital
330 reviews
0.5 km away
V Resorts Ramgarh
V Resorts Ramgarh
#3 of 4 in Ramgarh
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows

Property: Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows
Address: Ramgarh (Malla), Ramgarh 263137, India (Formerly Neemrana Bungalows)
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Ramgarh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ramgarh
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,613 - ₹ 8,453
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Own up the Himalayas from colonial British bungalows with bay windows, verandahs and terraced gardens. In the foothills of the Himalayas, The Old Bungalow (1830) and The Writers’ Bungalow (1860) are located in the fruit basket of the Kumaon region. These heritage structures once housed the British – and later the Indian officers as well as their wives – who travelled on horseback and palanquins. The Ashok Vatika was a guest house for outsiders as visitors weren’t received at home, while the Cliff House is a designer’s delight. Vista Villa offers breathtaking views of the valley and Rose Cottage with its private terrace is ideal for a cosy hideaway. Neemrana’s six cottages in Ramgarh offer their own views of the sunrise and sunset, or both – and a new look on life too ! In season, the orchards adjacent to these bungalows, hang with apricots, plums, peaches, pears and apples throughout the summer. Natural Neemrana jams are made here – without preservatives – so that they preserve your health too. Enjoy the company of birdlife and butterflies in the fruit basket of the Kumaon. Sleep that deep slumber which irons out all stress. Live on a peak, or by a cliff or simply in the middle of an orchard. Fireplaces tingling with pine cones in winter. Snow flakes around the New Year. Short strolls to reconnect your legs to your planet. Or longer walks with a picnic basket. Heave your chest, muscle your calves, take all the oxygen back in your lungs. Return when it runs out again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows Uttarakhand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing