We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
169
158
53
20
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
169
158
53
20
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfunction roomlounge barscallopssteak and kidney piesunday carverylive musicthis family run hotelfriendly hotelplace to eatcar parkpotatoeslovely mealstaff were all friendlylarge portionswell worth a visitfresh fishcooked to perfection
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Friends came and stayed with us for the New Year and we took them to the Dolphin for lunch as always has been quite good. This occasion they excelled and everything was just super. Warm plates, hot food and very good portions brilliant selection to choice from and the food was the best we have eaten for ages. All five of us had varied selection from starters to main and everyone gave the thumbs up and five stars for quality tasty food. Well done would highly recommend to anyone who ventures anywhere new to Beer to give it a try! This is Restaurant only review as we only went for the food.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

The Dolphin Hotel in Beer may not be the nearest Pub to the beach, but it is certainly the best. We are lucky enough to live only 15 minutes away in Honiton, and we visit the very pretty fishing village of Beer often. At weekends we enjoy the very good Full English Breakfasts which are available in the bars until 12 noon. The breathtaking views on the walk down from the Car-Park on the cliffs above the village are worth the trip alone. If you need a long cold drink in summer, or a warming tea or coffee in Winter, this is the best place to go.

We have tried most places in Beer, even before we lived in the area, but none can match what the Dolphin has to offer. Our latest visit was for a relaxing lunch between Xmas and New Years, so we aimed for the Town Centre Car-Park, which is just behind the Hotel.

The atmosphere in the Hotel is always relaxing, its just one of those places where you immediately feel quite at home. As ever the Service in the Lounge Bar was prompt, friendly, and efficient. The staff are accommodating and try to help if you would like to amend or personalise an item on the menu. They offer an extensive Pub Menu and an interesting range of Specials. There were several Cask Ales on hand-pull, and the Branoc from the Branscombe Brewery just a few miles away was very tasty.

The ham and cheese omelettes we chose were generous, well-cooked and full of flavour. In no time both the Lounge Bar and the Long Bar were full to capacity, with the overflow beginning to fill the Restaurant. Whether locals, visitors, walkers, or families, everyone appeared to be thoroughly enjoying their meals and having fun.

After a good coffee, it was but a short walk to the viewpoints above the beach, with the skull and crossbones flags fluttering above the fishing boats. Our visit was ended only when the watery winter sun began to disappear behind the cliffs, and we reluctantly returned home contemplating tomorrow's return to work.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Hunter111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Cheap and very good food.but the worst night sleep ever.will not be staying again.but must say 50%staff very good .ither 50%didnt want to be there..beer is a lovely place to visit .lively walks for the dog and hotel very dog friendly

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We have noted your comments and will take necessary action. We would look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016

Stopped here for Sunday lunch. The carvery was excellent. Upon entry to the building you are pointed by arrows on the walls towards the function room for the carvery. You can sit at any available table you wish. However, there are no clear instructions on how to order or pay for the carvery.

We found a table to our liking and sat down, although there were several waiting staff on duty, we waited several minutes and no-one came to ask us what we would like. I decided to investigate, to find that we should order at the bar.

I went to the bar in the function room to get both drinks and order our carvery to find that the drink selection in the function room was very limited. I wanted a pint of premium lager, and not the standard lager that was being sold. I was told by the bar person on duty that if I wanted anything different that I should go to the main bar because she was not allowed to leave the function room bar to get drinks which were not available in the function room.

Despite all of this the food was excellent, and my overall experience was very good. I also enjoyed taking in the history of the place from all of the local photos and historical writings about it displayed along the corridor to the function room.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2016

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

I booked 2 rooms to stay here for 2 nights in December 2016.
Booking was made over the phone with Pam who was very helpful, courteous and efficient. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The other room was very large with a double and single beds and maybe not so clean having a free standing wardrobe which was very dusty on the top and the TV was a little small for the size of the room. Apart from that all was good..
Breakfast was very good indeed with only a minor blip with the order on the 2nd morning which was very soon put right..

This is a pub so if you get a room above the bar ( which we didn't) you can expect some noise at busy times of the year. The price of the room does reflect this.
On the whole very good value for money and I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be staying again in 2017.

.

Room Tip: ask for a room away form the bar
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HIls123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews