We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dolphin Hotel
Nearby Hotels
YHA Beer(Beer)(Great Value!)
US$ 78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveller rating
157
148
50
18
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
157
148
50
18
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfunction roomlounge barscallopssteak and kidney piesunday carverylive musicplace to eatthis family run hotelfriendly hotelpotatoesthe publovely mealmain barlarge portionscar parkwell worth a visitthe staff were friendly and helpful
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 395 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2016

Stopped here for Sunday lunch. The carvery was excellent. Upon entry to the building you are pointed by arrows on the walls towards the function room for the carvery. You can sit at any available table you wish. However, there are no clear instructions on how to order or pay for the carvery.

We found a table to our liking and sat down, although there were several waiting staff on duty, we waited several minutes and no-one came to ask us what we would like. I decided to investigate, to find that we should order at the bar.

I went to the bar in the function room to get both drinks and order our carvery to find that the drink selection in the function room was very limited. I wanted a pint of premium lager, and not the standard lager that was being sold. I was told by the bar person on duty that if I wanted anything different that I should go to the main bar because she was not allowed to leave the function room bar to get drinks which were not available in the function room.

Despite all of this the food was excellent, and my overall experience was very good. I also enjoyed taking in the history of the place from all of the local photos and historical writings about it displayed along the corridor to the function room.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2016

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

I booked 2 rooms to stay here for 2 nights in December 2016.
Booking was made over the phone with Pam who was very helpful, courteous and efficient. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The other room was very large with a double and single beds and maybe not so clean having a free standing wardrobe which was very dusty on the top and the TV was a little small for the size of the room. Apart from that all was good..
Breakfast was very good indeed with only a minor blip with the order on the 2nd morning which was very soon put right..

This is a pub so if you get a room above the bar ( which we didn't) you can expect some noise at busy times of the year. The price of the room does reflect this.
On the whole very good value for money and I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be staying again in 2017.

.

Room Tip: ask for a room away form the bar
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HIls123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Whilst visiting friends who live in Beer,on 20th November, they asked us to join them for Sunday lunch at the Dolphin. The carvery lunch was exceptional and generous along with the service by Danny who I believe is the proprietor. The roast beef was cooked to perfection and and was very tasty. We all really enjoyed it. Well done Danny.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank RickScraptoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Went here with five others, food was excellent all freshly cooked and plenty of it excellent service and friendly staff, it has a good menu and is reasonably priced. Sorry can't say about accommodation we've never stayed but for me well worth five stars.

Stayed: November 2016
2  Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

This is a lovely family run hotel, bar and restaurant. We enjoyed a lovely meal, the best food with great service. Not a bad price either. everyone was so friendly and accommodating.
i stayed in the hotel last year and it was just as good then as it was this time. i would recommend this to everyone. families young and old all made welcome. It is set in a lovely village near the beach, I cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews