We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Clean, comfortable, good location”

Review of Mithos Apartments

Sea View Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea View Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Sea View Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Agia Marina, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Greek first
Swedish first
Any
English first
shamwo
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, good location”
Reviewed 19 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Great location just across the road from the beach. Above an excellent restaurant ideal for breakfast and dinner. Small supermarket below. Large, immaculate room with small kitchenette (fridge, hob, kettle, sink), good size bathroom with good shower. Hairdryer in bathroom. Two single beds pushed together to make one large bed. Reasonably comfortable, better than average for Greece. Air conditioning available for €50 per week, also a small safe for €10. Quiet even though we were on the front by the main road. A nice balcony to sit out and watch the world. I recommend this accommodation and would definitely return here next time I’m in Agia Marina. The restaurant below is superb, run by the wonderful Spiros.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison L
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great appartments , great location.”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed 22nd August to 29th August and paid £304 for the week via Olympic ,which is a great price in the school holidays.ASL airline was fine , cheese and ham toasties etc and even a free film (you need the old type plug in earphones).Enjoyed flying into Chania airport for a change.Small airport but adequate facilities.
First impressions of the resort were that it might be a bit busier than we usually like ,all along the coast road but right on the beach.Having looked around we found the old village (left from mithos and up the side of the Silk garage.This was quaint and lovely with several tavernas , almost felt like another resort.
When we arrived Spiros and his staff were busy with lunch in the taverna but we were booked in straight away.We were given a side room but asked for a sea view room at the front and Spiros said this was fine and no extra charge.
The room was lovely and modern ,decorated to a good standard ,the balcony was lovely and the shower was one of the best we have had.
The position is fabulous, you are on the road but the noise isn't a problem at night.The views across to the sea and the island are great.You are in the hustle and bustle and to sit on the balcony with a wine and get the lovely Greek food smells was good.
The room was cleaned to an excellent standard. Spiros and his staff were friendly and hard working.The food was good standard and you were always offered fruit or Raki or ouzo on the house.
Plenty of supermarkets near to the Mithos and the beach just over the road.Bus stop to Chania or Kolimbari just up the road near the bakery and regular and 1.80 euro good value.
We spent most days on the beach at our favourite Roussos .Here the sun beds are free if you order a drink or food.The staff are lovely and you get service for food and drink on the beach.Food good standard, lovely tuna salad but one portion enough for two to share.
Sunsets here are amazing great beach bar to be in at sunset with a chilled white wine or two.
We enjoyed the food at Mithos , Me Gusto and HoriatikO( in the old village).Again you were offered free puddings, fruit or drinks, which I think is excellent.All good value.
We liked the Kiss Bar , a sports bar but with excellent staff and lovely cocktails and a gorgeous white cat.
Because we only had a week we only visited Chania and Kolimbari.
Chania is lovely lots to see and do, the harbour , the old town , the indoor market.You could do to go several times to get a feel for the town , especially when it is so hot.The food round the harbour is expensive and they try to persuade you in but the views are amazing.
Kolimbari is a lovely sleepy fishing village with a harbour.The day we went the waves were spectacular bashing into the sea defences on the front, reminded me of waves at Whitby!!
We had a meal here at Kyma on the front shared pork kebabs on sticks (3 sticks one portion plus chips!) and oven baked potatoes which were gorgeous.Lovely little village.
The bus from agia marina to Kolimbari is about 20 mins and 1.80 euro.It goes through Platanias and Meleme if you want to explore them.
So would definitely go back to Mithos apartments and Agia Marina.Would go for longer and explore more of this wild western area of Crete.A fantastic holiday at an excellent price with all the warmth and hospitality of the wonderful Greek people.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicol D
Haverhill, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice stay but needs a few tips! ”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 7 nights as a couple. Cleaning service was amazing. Cleaners cleaned everything even my boyfriend's shoes. After they realised we are a couple staying they made cute swans and hearts out of the towels.

They made everything nice & tidy at all times. Changed towels and bed sheets every single day. They would organise all our belongings and once our towel dropped down to another balcony and they brought it back up without us asking.

The only three things that were wrong is the fact that we did not have Wi-Fi. Another one is the fact that the walls are very thin so even when talking or watching TV when walking in the corridor it is very loud. Me and my boyfriend received a complaint about noise and we were in fact not making that much of a noise.

The worse thing is that in August it is very hot in Greece and your room is your wanted place to cool down but it was not the case here. We paid €50 for 7 nights of Air Conditioning and it was blowing cold air but the room was still boiling at all times! It worked out better to have the windows open at night to be honest. It was not pleasant as when we had a shower we would end up sweating again because of how hot the room was. We did not receive a refund for it.

The shop next door changes their prices as they go. One day a box of eggs was £1.50 the next day it was £3.00 when the people selling realised we do not speak their language. Be careful and always check prices and receipts at restaurants before paying.

Other than that the apartment is nice and it is a very good price for what it is. It's the best location as it's a 5 minute walk to the beach and 5 minute walk to the shops. If you're looking for night life Platanias is located about 30 minutes walk from the apartment. You can take a taxi for €8. Mylos club is all about techno and house music. If you're looking for modern club music, dancehall, hip-hop, R&B & pop Eclipse club is the place to be.

For the beach is best to go to Red Havana which is a 5 minute walk. You do not have to pay for the beds, water & snacks are free. They do prefer you to buy a drink too. You can have food there as well while you're laying down. No need to get up to order anything. Water sports are right there too. I'd recommend doing the Boat Trips with snorkelling, renting quad bikes & doing the OnTourTrip buggy ride across the mountains.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliesgar...
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab stay”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stayed here with my husband & son for 1 week. 1 bed apartment was spacious. Rooms were spotless. Kitchenette area was adequate enough to cook breakfast every morning & we sat out on the huge terrace to eat it. Location was great - on the main resort road with just a stones throw from the fabulous long sandy beach. All in all great value for money and we would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin_mur...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and good value”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Booked this at short notice with Olympic Holidays at £293 for a week self-catering.
The room was large, spotlessly clean with a balcony with sea views. Beds were comfortable and the shower was good with plenty of power and no shortage of hot water. Large fridge and safety deposit box (extra 10 euros for the week) and adequate storage space. Ground floor is reception only - rooms are all upstairs and there is no lift so not suitable for people with difficulty walking. Aircon was efficient but a touch loud and was an additional charge of 10 euros a day. Cleaner came in every day to clean toilet/shower room and make the beds. Towels and bed linen changed every other day.Overall, great stay and cheap - would definitely recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 37
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing