We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveller rating
134
228
111
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
228
111
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building easter island breakfast buffet is excellent air conditioning minute walk hotel lobby comfortable stay comfortable hotel nice pool in easy walking distance ocean view entire stay airport transportation hot water pool area is standard room restaurants and shops
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 505 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2018

We stopped here on the way back to the cruise ship after a day touring amazing Rapa Nui. We had not been able to find wifi anywhere on the island, including some of the municipal wifi hotspots. The restaurant at this hotel has a nice outdoor balcony along the waterfront, and the staff there was helpful, friendly and efficient. We enjoyed some nice cold beers, caught up on our wifi, and then headed back to the harbor, about 10 minutes walk from this restaurant. (The cruise ship tender port is tiny and isolated, with no bathrooms, restaurants, wifi, or other services nearby. You have to walk about 20 minutes to get into town. I believe The Taha Tai is the closest restaurant/hotel to the harbor).

Room tip: We visited the restaurant only, and did not stay at the hotel, but it looked nice.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

This property is not excellent in terms of appearance or because of what you get for the price, but because we had a very pleasant and relaxing stay here. And because of its location. In truth, there does not appear to be anything "luxurious" on Easter Island and everything seems pricey for what it is. We booked a bungalow, which we thought was worth the extra money. It felt roomy and we enjoyed having patio door windows for view and for breeze. We slept well and the property was usually very quiet. The provided airport transportation made things easy. Booking tours at the hotel made things easy. Breakfast was much better than I thought it would be given that food is shipped in from the mainland. Staff was always pleasant. Wifi worked well for being in the middle of the ocean. What we enjoyed most was sitting on the deck of the restaurant, enjoying the view of the open sea. Evenings were wonderful because of the setting sun and the rowing teams going by. We ate 3 lunches and 4 dinners in the hotel restaurant. The food was always good. We enjoyed the tuna, octopus and ceviche offerings. We thought the pricing was good for what we got, especially compared to pricing we saw at a restaurant close by. We had brought along our own wine and there was never a problem drinking it with our dinner.

Room tip: We enjoyed having a bungalow.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank thinktravelCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Easter island is a difficult one for accommodation. In terms of location I do agree with most reviewers that unless you're going to rent a car/bike for the entire stay, you want to stay close to the main street, however a word of caution that the main street is not a high street, albeit it definitely tries hard to be more often than not

Having restricted the search area to the centre of town, options were then really few as I was looking for something slightly better than very basic accommodation to spend New year's Eve during our honeymoon. The choice eventually fell on Taha Tai fundamentally for 2 reasons: the swimming pool and the location, close both to the ocean and the town center. I had read nasty reviews about it, hence my initial uncertainty, but no other establishment had substantially better reviews together with the other two features and so we went for it

I can now say the nasty reviews were a bit too nasty, unnecessarily maybe, especially as the staff really tries to make feel guests welcome and comfortable and service is indeed the best feature of this hotel

Having said that, I don't feel that the hotel should be given anything more than average at the price tag we paid (c. 250$/night). At the same time it could be a very good option at 80/100$. Given the scarce competition I doubt they'll care to make changes, however below is a list of musts that should be addressed

Must:
- hot water in bathroom sink. Clearly there is hot water in the shower, however the bathroom sink only has cold water. This should never happen, no matter how warn is the island
- black out curtains. Ok I am often difficult on this point, I always travel with shades because hotels rarely care about blocking light out of the rooms, but here there is no attempt to do that at all. There are two windows in the bungalow and while both have thick curtains they are simply not fit for the lighthouse get year round t this latitude
- rooms should have a fridge. The bungalows big enough to host it and it's nice to be able to buy food and drinks in town and then cool them in the room. Theres a big fridge at reception that guests can share but clearly it's not the same and again it's not something I would expect from a 250$/night hotel

Among the good I can list:
- swimming pool. We chose this hotel for the pool and we did use it, in fact we were blessed with three full days of sun and spent a few hours by the pool before/after tours and trips to anakena
- tours. Having checked prices in town we decided to take the full day tour of the island's highlights offered by their agency (Maururu) as we paid 40$/person vs the 90$ we had found in town
- location. Not only the hotel is close to the town center, it's also next to the shore so we could see the fireworks from the back of the complex without having to walk all the way to the party

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silviaaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018

We spent 6 nights with this hotel and it was perfect. We could walk to restaurants. Pick up and return to airport. Awesome breakfast included. Staff was wonderful. Older rooms, but clean and location great.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BelizeKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

This is a simple place to stay for a few nights on the stunning Easter Island. Airport pick up and drop off is included and the hotel can sort pretty much everything out including car hire. The room was large and functional with air con. Great shower and plenty of hot water. Breakfast was simple and at times a bit obscure, but you come here to admire Easter Island not to dine at Michelin star restaurants! The only negative for me was when we discovered about a lengthy delay to our flight home the hotel wanted us out and at the airport as early as possible which was frustrating. Aside from that it was a pleasant stay.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank thomprobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews