We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveller rating
115
157
59
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
157
59
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews in town ceiling fan easter island hot water reception building hotel restaurant is lovely hotel small pool the pacific ocean chilli local museum rapa nui watch the sunset four nights rooms are large no air conditioning post office
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 362 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

If you do not care for
ΤV set in your room
Mini bar
Internet
Vanity set
Slippers
Bath robe
Then you can try it, but not in a price range of a 5 stars hotel.
You might also experience power and water failure.
Pair it with the slow pace and non English speaking attitude and you have the perfect NOT TO GO place.
The food at the hotel is maybe the best in town but at a ridiculous price of € 70 per head.
The breakfast is very good especially the deserts.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Pavlos1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We have enjoyed our two nights stay. Each room is individual bungalow. Room was comfortable and the shower was unique. The glass roof in the bathroom makes one feel showering in the nature.

We took a sunrise tour and wouldn’t be able to eat breakfast and asked for a packed meal. We were pleasantly surprised to find a cooler filled with goodies (rice pudding, fruits, sandwiches, cookies, water and juice) waiting for us on the counter at reception.

It is better to book tours from the hotel for free transfer.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the reception (#1-3) have more privacy as the window faces the ocean.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Live2EatAndTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

As other reviewers have said, this hotel is about a half hour walk from the only town on the island, and the first part of the walk is no fun, being on a paved road-the second half is better, along the waterfront past some of the famous moas. A cab can be had for about $7, however. Hanga Roa town is pretty drab, so no reason you would want to be in town other than convenience for restaurants and shops.
The rooms at Altiplanico are separate little houses, nice and big, comfortable beds (mosquito nets provided) and a large shower room, no tub. The rooms and the reception building look out onto the Pacific, past a solitary moa standing at the water's edge, charming view, lovely sunsets. The setting is rural-there is some insect life, nothing alarming.
The hotel restaurant prices are much higher than those in town, and the food is good without being exceptional; since getting into town is easy, you don't have to put up with this. The hotel staff are excellent, helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Imackin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We stayed there for 5 days and had a great time.
It is located at a walking distance from Hanga Roa (2,3 km). We recommend you to walk to the city following the coast and coming back by taxi (very cheap).
Rooms are bungalows, very spacy and nicely decorated according to the Rapa Nui traditions. Beds are quite low…. Taking a shower was quite chalenging ! The rainforest type of shower is great when you have enough pressure in the system and hot water !
The restaurant serves delicious dishes but you should not be in a hurry because the service is quite slow. While waiting, you can enjoy the wonderful sunset. At breakfast time, bring a jacket/scarf because it is windy.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the reception
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Went to Easter Island on my way down through South America. The 2000+ mile flight from Santiago to IPC was well worth it.

Stayed at the Altiplanico. I gave it 5 stars because, despite being very basic, you have to understand where you are and on Easter Island I would consider it as such.

The restaurant was great; you'd better be hungry. Food portions were huge and delicious.

I'd stay here again. Walking distance to a few of the monuments.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DenJ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews