We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing stay”
Review of Hotel Altiplanico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Altiplanico
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We have enjoyed our two nights stay. Each room is individual bungalow. Room was comfortable and the shower was unique. The glass roof in the bathroom makes one feel showering in the nature.

We took a sunrise tour and wouldn’t be able to eat breakfast and asked for a packed meal. We were pleasantly surprised to find a cooler filled with goodies (rice pudding, fruits, sandwiches, cookies, water and juice) waiting for us on the counter at reception.

It is better to book tours from the hotel for free transfer.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the reception (#1-3) have more privacy as the window faces the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Live2EatAndTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2016

As other reviewers have said, this hotel is about a half hour walk from the only town on the island, and the first part of the walk is no fun, being on a paved road-the second half is better, along the waterfront past some of the famous moas. A cab can be had for about $7, however. Hanga Roa town is pretty drab, so no reason you would want to be in town other than convenience for restaurants and shops.
The rooms at Altiplanico are separate little houses, nice and big, comfortable beds (mosquito nets provided) and a large shower room, no tub. The rooms and the reception building look out onto the Pacific, past a solitary moa standing at the water's edge, charming view, lovely sunsets. The setting is rural-there is some insect life, nothing alarming.
The hotel restaurant prices are much higher than those in town, and the food is good without being exceptional; since getting into town is easy, you don't have to put up with this. The hotel staff are excellent, helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Imackin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We stayed there for 5 days and had a great time.
It is located at a walking distance from Hanga Roa (2,3 km). We recommend you to walk to the city following the coast and coming back by taxi (very cheap).
Rooms are bungalows, very spacy and nicely decorated according to the Rapa Nui traditions. Beds are quite low…. Taking a shower was quite chalenging ! The rainforest type of shower is great when you have enough pressure in the system and hot water !
The restaurant serves delicious dishes but you should not be in a hurry because the service is quite slow. While waiting, you can enjoy the wonderful sunset. At breakfast time, bring a jacket/scarf because it is windy.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Went to Easter Island on my way down through South America. The 2000+ mile flight from Santiago to IPC was well worth it.

Stayed at the Altiplanico. I gave it 5 stars because, despite being very basic, you have to understand where you are and on Easter Island I would consider it as such.

The restaurant was great; you'd better be hungry. Food portions were huge and delicious.

I'd stay here again. Walking distance to a few of the monuments.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DenJ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

The hotel was just fine but father from the town that we would have liked. The cuisine was pretty darn good and the service in the restaurant was excellent. The registration personnel were outstanding and helpful. There was a pretty good view to the ocean it seems like for all the little cabins. We did have an unintended peeler in our windows late at night and to our surprise there were at least three when we went to se the commotion - HORSES. there probably are not much better options but that's all there is.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Fjbsnr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
2.7 km away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
3.3 km away
Hotel Hare Boutik
Hotel Hare Boutik
#3 of 16 in Hanga Roa
262 reviews
2.4 km away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#4 of 16 in Hanga Roa
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 16 in Hanga Roa
314 reviews
6.3 km away
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
#1 of 24 in Easter Island
530 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Vai Moana
Hotel Vai Moana
#5 of 16 in Hanga Roa
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altiplanico? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altiplanico

Address: Lote E, sector Hinere, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Price Range: ₹ 15,874 - ₹ 21,272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Altiplanico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a property of 1.5 ha the hotel has a panoramic view of the shoreline on one of the world’s most unique destinations, Altiplanico Rapanui is designed in the style of the traditional Rapanui boathouse, with luxurious gardens, a beautiful swimming pool viewing the sea and large open spaces to relax after encountering the seductive mysteries of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Altiplanico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Altiplanico Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing