We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Home Kept Very Well”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Williams
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carwarden Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We were exploring the Minas Basin area,especially the Prescott House Museum and the Grand Pre site, and Carwarden looked to be the best choice. It was. The house is beautiful, and our hostess Mary has kept it in its original condition. She even uses a wood-burning stove rather than alter the authenticity of the place. We stayed for 2 nights, and our breakfasts were outstanding. Our room on the second floor was large, quiet, and comfortable with a queen bed and an en-suite bath. The Inn is only a few minutes from Wolfville, home to Acadia University, and the location of a number of good restaurants. The Grand Pre Acadian Site is just on the other side of Wolfville, and the Prescott House Museum is even closer, just down the road from Carwarden. This is also the heart of the Nova Scotia wine country, with several vineyards located nearby.

We very much enjoyed chatting with Mary as she and my wife shared stories of the teaching profession (Mary is a retired teacher), and I learned much of the history of the house and the area. Mary's hospitality is without fault, and anything we needed, such as a recommendation for a restaurant (which came with a discount coupon) was quickly provided. One note for guests. If you find you will not arrive at the time you first agreed upon, please give Mary a call. She runs the place by herself, with only one part-time helper, and will need to run out for errands during the day. If she has to wait for a late arriving guest, she might not be able to get the supplies she needs for the next day's breakfast. If you give the courtesy of a call, she will greatly appreciate it.

Room Tip: Enjoy sunsets on the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Howard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2016

While visiting the area where my father and his family is from, we stayed with Mary at Carwarden! This was my husband's first time at a B&B and we both just loved it. Warm and personable folks, a huge maritimes breakfast, beautiful home and lovely ambiance! Hope we get to go back one day!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsha406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Mary is a wonderful hostess. She went out of her way to accommodate my two friends and myself, staying up late to greet us after we had become lost on our way back to Carwarden after we had dinner in Hall's Harbour even though she had to get up at 5am to prepare her sumptuous breakfast. The accommodations were spacious and pristine. The huge bathtub was thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank eileendoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Men enjoyed sitting on the front porch after spending the day in the car. Mary is a most gracious hostess. Breakfast was delicious, included homemade granola and fresh fruit. My husband says we are going back when next we vacation in Nova Scotia, one night was not long enough

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank mcrichmond48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Wonderful accommodations, food, and wireless internet to boot :)
Gracious host, tranquil setting.
We shall certainly return on our next visit to the Valley.
We highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast to friends and family.

Room Tip: We chose the Princess Suite. It has a beautiful view to the north across the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PDady27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Williams
5.0 km away
Slumber Inn
Slumber Inn
#2 of 2 in New Minas
118 reviews
5.5 km away
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wolfville
333 reviews
6.0 km away
Planters' Barracks Country Inn
Planters' Barracks Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Port Williams
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
The Stella Rose B&B
The Stella Rose B&B
#1 of 10 in Wolfville
450 reviews
6.4 km away
Delft Haus
Delft Haus
#1 of 2 in Centreville
134 reviews
9.4 km away
In Wolfville Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carwarden Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carwarden Bed & Breakfast

Address: 640 Church St | Port Williams, Port Williams, Nova Scotia B0P 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Port Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Port Williams
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing