We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, great views over town”
Review of Suanbo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Suanbo Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Chungju
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights after catching buses to Chungju from Sokcho and then the number 240 from Chungju to Suanbo. The bus dropped us off at a Minimart in the main street. The cashier there showed us where to find the Tourist Info office where both English and Japanese speakers were anxious to help. They showed us the "ten minute" walk to the hotel. We are keen hikers but this ten minutes with bags was more like a sweaty, puffy thirty minutes.
Suanbo Park reception were great and the room excellent; lovely setting, great views over town.
We ate one of the local specialties in town, rabbit. It was delicious but way to much for the two of us. I understand the dish is sold by the number of rabbits you want rather than the number of people wanting to eat ($50 for ours). We needed another two helpers.
But regarding the hotel, we chose the western style room with beds, again a bit hard which seems to be typical in Korea. We've tried the ondol beds before and are over it. Camping is more comfortable than ondol.
Best tip for this trip: stop at the tourist info office in Chungju. Even though she had zero English she showed us where to get the Suanbo bus and gave us a map of Suanbo. Without the latter in hand it might have been hard to get from the minimart to the Tourist Info office there.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JarJah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

Suanbo is a small Ski resort for local tourism. You arrive here after driving about 10 minutes on weaving mountainous road off Hwy 45. I arrived here at 10pm, after mid-February, and people were skiing down the lighted slopes literally inside of town.
I am in the area for business and was looking for a place to stay for the night. I think the Park Hotel is best in town. I also found out that the company I visited, located 30 min south from here on Hwy 45, has contracted special rates in this hotel for its employees and visitors. So I assume it’s a good choice in local standards.
The building looks spacious and respectable, with simplicity which seems to be a local theme. Let me ruin for you the surprise awaiting as you walk into your room: It is an empty wooden floor. Except for a tiny low table with two pillows to seat on the floor beside it, a small fridge with local beers, water, sodas etc. (which are very reasonably priced) and a low shelf for TV, telephone, and cable internet connection along the wall. WiFi available in lobby only. Power outlets available to charge your gadgets.
The answer to the question “how do I sleep” is found in the cabinet which offers plenty of futons and blankets, folded together with sheets, that you are supposed to put on the floor. Pillows provided too.
Bathroom is “western normal”, except for all towels smaller than you expect. No full size towels. It is simple functional and clean.
Cleanliness in room is acceptable, except for the small square carpet at the room entrance. Vacuuming behind the door seems to be overrated here. Otherwise the floor is wooden and clean. Sheets on futons and blankets seem to be clean. I was not sure about the pillow, so I placed it underneath the futon.
At about 0 degrees C (32 F) outside, room is comfortably warm. Heating system is under the floor. Heating is central. To turn it off need to ask reception. Room also has air conditioner which I obviously did not test. Hotel also has sauna which I did not try.
Breakfast is in the restaurant which is in the entrance floor, and not included in room charge. It is a sitting restaurant, and is pretty good with western selection.
This hotel is locally acceptable. Don't expect any English. but hands motions work for communication. “Google translate” works too. The next best option is to sleep in Suwon-Si which offers Better selection of better hotels, and drive here for the day. Driving time is about 90min.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Suanbo Park Hotel is a beautiful getaway in March during the Cherry Blossom Festival.
Hotel is located at the top of the hill in the quaint city of Suanbo. Hotel has comfortable rooms with western accommodations available. The view is breathtaking!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhojon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I was traveling around South Korea and chose this hotel because of its location and its hot springs. I was pleasantly surprised that its elevation was higher than I expected. Also, the room was very nice. I found the food to be very, very good and sent my compliments to the chef for both my dinner and the next morning's breakfast. Plus, I was amazed at the exquisite Korean made china used for all meals. (and available in a shop at the hotel). Thank you for making my stay heavenly.
MDando

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank madando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The setting is beautiful. The hotel is really nice and the staff are great. The rooms are big and comfortable. The only bad thing I can say about this hotel is that the bathroom was cold when we got there. The hot spring and sauna is really nice and relaxing. The restaurant is not great the western food is not executed very well and there is not much choice. There is steep road up to this hill which would not be easy for some people. I will definitely go back though.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AudreyMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chungju
0.7 km away
Suanbo Saipan Hot Spring Hotel
1.2 km away
Suanbo Chosun Tourist Hotel
Suanbo Chosun Tourist Hotel
#13 of 22 in Chungju
8 reviews
15.2 km away
Chungju Grand Hotel
Chungju Grand Hotel
#3 of 22 in Chungju
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Benikea Cheongju Namoo Hotel
0 km away
No photo provided
Suanbo Royal Hotel
#6 of 22 in Chungju
1 reviews
33 km away
Kensington Resort Chungju
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suanbo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suanbo Park Hotel

Address: 36, Tapgol 1-gil, Suanbo-myeon, Chungju, Chungcheongbuk-do 380-943, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Chungcheongbuk-do > Chungju
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Chungju
Price Range: ₹ 5,610 - ₹ 9,543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suanbo Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing