We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
163
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
163
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews avocado cottage lake cottage local produce breakfast hamper the cottages restaurant recommendations private location bacon dishwashing liquid singing birds wood fire lake baroon super comfy bed spa bath muesli anniversary weekend beautiful weekend
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Hubby and I were lucky to stay for 2 nights in the Avocado cottage. A full breakfast basket was provided full of local sourced food that was simply delicious. A super comfy bed, a spa bath and a fireplace too. Simply heaven. Louise showed us around the cottage and told us of some walks in the area. We also got restaurant recommendations and shopping hints. Louise made us feel very much at home and we appreciated that very much. A 10 of of 10 and have no hesitation in urging others to visit this piece of paradise.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank fischgam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

All I can say is Montville Grove was very peaceful and relaxing. Louise and Trevor really spoiled us with their hospitality and the quality of the Fern Cottage was A+. We will be going back again and would recommend Montville Grove to anyone who is looking for a peaceful, relaxing or romantic setting. Thank you guys for making our 20th so memorable.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank imsnodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B, Owner at Montville Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words, Imsnodie. It was lovely to meet you and provide a relaxing romantic setting for your 20th wedding anniversary weekend. Louise and Trevor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We stayed for two nights in this blissfully peaceful 'Fern' cottage which was equipped with everything you could possibly need, including yummy local produce (lots of it) for breakfast. The Maleny yoghurt was to die for and the locally smoked bacon equally scrumptious.This is perhaps the first time I have encountered an ample supply of kitchen needs....no sachet of dish washing liquid here but a whole bottle!....not one tea towel but three!....insect spray, insect repellent, mosquito coils (you are in the middle of a rain forest)....not one TV but two (one in the bedroom). I enjoyed the spa bath, the soft bathrobes, the wood fire and being able to sit amongst nature on the deck. The bed was very comfortable and I loved the plethora of magazines (current editions) in the bedside table. I was also surprised to find DVDs and a couple of music CDs (which we listened to).
Louise was very helpful with local knowledge, marking a map with the best places to eat and even where to find parking in Montville.
As I am a 'clean freak', I really appreciated this nice clean property.
We hope to return :)

Room Tip: Three cottages to choose from. We stayed in Fern cottage.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 58vicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B, Owner at Montville Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Dear Vicki, thanks for your review. We and our cleaners work hard to make sure our cottages are spotless so it's heartening that so many guests compliment us on that. We're glad you enjoyed our breakfast hamper of local produce. It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to see you again some time. Louise and Trevor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We stayed in the Lake Cottage - a great view of the lake ..... especially whilst in the spa with a glass of Champagne! Brilliantly clean - could not fault a thing. All the amenities were there ..... at your finger tips. The local produce provided as part of the package - fabulous. Louise & Trevor are just lovely lovely people and have some great ideas for day trips, etc. You simply cannot go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B, Owner at Montville Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Hi David. Thank you so much for your kind words. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed Lake Cottage and its spa with a view. It's certainly perfect for relaxing with a glass of champagne. It's good to hear that our high standards for cleaning and local produce contributed to your enjoyment. Hope to see you again some time. Louise and Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

Absolutely loved our stay in the beautiful Avocado cottage. Our hosts were wonderfully helpful, there if we needed but left to ourselves too. My husband was excited with the range of birds he spotted and we loved the comfort and relaxation of the unit.
The whole Montville area was great for walking and shopping! Surprising though that most shops close at 4pm, but we adjusted.
We were both happy with everything.
Our hosts supplied us with amazing breakfast goods too.
Highly recommend this for a very restful and re-charging break.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anglophile56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B, Owner at Montville Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thanks so much for your review of your stay in Montville. It's a wonderful place for a leisurely stroll around the village shops. We're glad to hear the bird-watching went well. That deck on Avocado Cottage is certainly a good spot for bird-watching. Hope to see you again next time you're in Queensland. Louise and Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews