We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 309
US$ 300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 331
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Altitude on Montville(Montville)(Great Value!)
US$ 148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montville Oceanview Cottages(Montville)(Great Value!)
US$ 253
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Secrets on the Lake(Montville)(Great Value!)
US$ 275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Treetops Seaview(Montville)(Great Value!)
US$ 195
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
US$ 144
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Montville Mountain Inn Resort(Montville)(Great Value!)
US$ 126
US$ 118
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montville Holiday Apartments(Montville)(Great Value!)
US$ 163
US$ 98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clouds of Montville Eco Resort and Spa(Montville)(Great Value!)
US$ 127
US$ 120
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
161
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
161
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsavocado cottagelake cottagelocal producebreakfast hamperthe cottagesrestaurant recommendationsprivate locationbacondishwashing liquidsinging birdswood firelake baroonsuper comfy bedspa bathmueslianniversary weekendbeautiful weekend
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

All I can say is Montville Grove was very peaceful and relaxing. Louise and Trevor really spoiled us with their hospitality and the quality of the Fern Cottage was A+. We will be going back again and would recommend Montville Grove to anyone who is looking for a peaceful, relaxing or romantic setting. Thank you guys for making our 20th so memorable.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank imsnodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B, Owner at Montville Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words, Imsnodie. It was lovely to meet you and provide a relaxing romantic setting for your 20th wedding anniversary weekend. Louise and Trevor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We stayed for two nights in this blissfully peaceful 'Fern' cottage which was equipped with everything you could possibly need, including yummy local produce (lots of it) for breakfast. The Maleny yoghurt was to die for and the locally smoked bacon equally scrumptious.This is perhaps the first time I have encountered an ample supply of kitchen needs....no sachet of dish washing liquid here but a whole bottle!....not one tea towel but three!....insect spray, insect repellent, mosquito coils (you are in the middle of a rain forest)....not one TV but two (one in the bedroom). I enjoyed the spa bath, the soft bathrobes, the wood fire and being able to sit amongst nature on the deck. The bed was very comfortable and I loved the plethora of magazines (current editions) in the bedside table. I was also surprised to find DVDs and a couple of music CDs (which we listened to).
Louise was very helpful with local knowledge, marking a map with the best places to eat and even where to find parking in Montville.
As I am a 'clean freak', I really appreciated this nice clean property.
We hope to return :)

Room Tip: Three cottages to choose from. We stayed in Fern cottage.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 58vicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B, Owner at Montville Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Dear Vicki, thanks for your review. We and our cleaners work hard to make sure our cottages are spotless so it's heartening that so many guests compliment us on that. We're glad you enjoyed our breakfast hamper of local produce. It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to see you again some time. Louise and Trevor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We stayed in the Lake Cottage - a great view of the lake ..... especially whilst in the spa with a glass of Champagne! Brilliantly clean - could not fault a thing. All the amenities were there ..... at your finger tips. The local produce provided as part of the package - fabulous. Louise & Trevor are just lovely lovely people and have some great ideas for day trips, etc. You simply cannot go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B, Owner at Montville Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Hi David. Thank you so much for your kind words. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed Lake Cottage and its spa with a view. It's certainly perfect for relaxing with a glass of champagne. It's good to hear that our high standards for cleaning and local produce contributed to your enjoyment. Hope to see you again some time. Louise and Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

Absolutely loved our stay in the beautiful Avocado cottage. Our hosts were wonderfully helpful, there if we needed but left to ourselves too. My husband was excited with the range of birds he spotted and we loved the comfort and relaxation of the unit.
The whole Montville area was great for walking and shopping! Surprising though that most shops close at 4pm, but we adjusted.
We were both happy with everything.
Our hosts supplied us with amazing breakfast goods too.
Highly recommend this for a very restful and re-charging break.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anglophile56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B, Owner at Montville Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thanks so much for your review of your stay in Montville. It's a wonderful place for a leisurely stroll around the village shops. We're glad to hear the bird-watching went well. That deck on Avocado Cottage is certainly a good spot for bird-watching. Hope to see you again next time you're in Queensland. Louise and Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Louise was a very gracious host with outstanding customer service making us feel very special and like family. Many recommendations were provided on must see sites and restaurants.
The room was perfect with plenty of luscious greenery surroundings keeping a private space to relax and unwind among the quiet setting.
Thank you for the awesome weekend.

The only distraction would be the early wake up call by the resident cat-bird however if you are up fast enough to see it, you quickly forget about waking up and see the beauty of its colours amongst mother nature.
Only mention as we disliked the sound at first, but ended up racing to see it as many times as we could :)

Will visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Zodquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B, Owner at Montville Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thanks for choosing to stay at Montville Grove and for making the effort to post a review. We're glad to hear you had an awesome weekend but sorry to hear you were woken by the catbird. Such a strange call; it's hard to believe it's a bird unless you get to see it. Hope to see you again in the future. Louise and Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews