We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
163
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
163
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews avocado cottage lake cottage local produce breakfast hamper the cottages restaurant recommendations private location bacon dishwashing liquid singing birds wood fire lake baroon super comfy bed spa bath muesli anniversary weekend beautiful weekend
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We stayed in the Lake Cottage - a great view of the lake ..... especially whilst in the spa with a glass of Champagne! Brilliantly clean - could not fault a thing. All the amenities were there ..... at your finger tips. The local produce provided as part of the package - fabulous. Louise & Trevor are just lovely lovely people and have some great ideas for day trips, etc. You simply cannot go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B, Owner at Montville Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Hi David. Thank you so much for your kind words. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed Lake Cottage and its spa with a view. It's certainly perfect for relaxing with a glass of champagne. It's good to hear that our high standards for cleaning and local produce contributed to your enjoyment. Hope to see you again some time. Louise and Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

Absolutely loved our stay in the beautiful Avocado cottage. Our hosts were wonderfully helpful, there if we needed but left to ourselves too. My husband was excited with the range of birds he spotted and we loved the comfort and relaxation of the unit.
The whole Montville area was great for walking and shopping! Surprising though that most shops close at 4pm, but we adjusted.
We were both happy with everything.
Our hosts supplied us with amazing breakfast goods too.
Highly recommend this for a very restful and re-charging break.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anglophile56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B, Owner at Montville Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thanks so much for your review of your stay in Montville. It's a wonderful place for a leisurely stroll around the village shops. We're glad to hear the bird-watching went well. That deck on Avocado Cottage is certainly a good spot for bird-watching. Hope to see you again next time you're in Queensland. Louise and Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Louise was a very gracious host with outstanding customer service making us feel very special and like family. Many recommendations were provided on must see sites and restaurants.
The room was perfect with plenty of luscious greenery surroundings keeping a private space to relax and unwind among the quiet setting.
Thank you for the awesome weekend.

The only distraction would be the early wake up call by the resident cat-bird however if you are up fast enough to see it, you quickly forget about waking up and see the beauty of its colours amongst mother nature.
Only mention as we disliked the sound at first, but ended up racing to see it as many times as we could :)

Will visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Zodquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B, Owner at Montville Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thanks for choosing to stay at Montville Grove and for making the effort to post a review. We're glad to hear you had an awesome weekend but sorry to hear you were woken by the catbird. Such a strange call; it's hard to believe it's a bird unless you get to see it. Hope to see you again in the future. Louise and Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Myself and my wife stayed here for her birthday. It is secluded and tranquil. It has all the amenities you need and a beautiful through the rainforest to the Lake.

We had a stunning dinner at Altitude in Montville with a very good driver pickup and return.

An unforgettable lunch at Spirit House.

Finally a lovely picnic catered by Elements.

Thanks to Louise of a Montville Grove who shared all the local secrets of venues parking, bush walks and even bird calls.

Would certainty recommend.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B, Owner at Montville Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Hi Steve. Thank you for your kind comments. We're glad we could play our part in the birthday getaway. Sounds like it was a wonderful weekend of dining and your review gives a good snapshot of some of the dining experiences on offer. Hope to see you again. Louise and Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

The cottage we stayed at had superb views from the spa bath. Sitting in front of the fire with bottle of wine was awesome. Local food was very good need to book in advance. Short trip into Montville to sample local cuisine restaurants had something different to offer. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the hosts where very helpful and friendly. Will be returning.

Room Tip: Lake Cottage is the best
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B, Owner at Montville Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Thanks for taking the time to post a review, Stephen. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Montville Grove and our local restaurants. We're very lucky to have a good selection of restaurants just a few minutes away from our property. Look forward to seeing you again. Louise and Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews