We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A trip to Kausani” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of KMVN Tourist Rest House Trishul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kausani
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
KMVN Tourist Rest House Trishul
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A trip to Kausani”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We six girls traveled to Kausani last week, 4th May. Nature was in full bloom. Every corner of the hills were covered by small colourfull flowers. We stayed in KMVN guest house in Kausani and it was awesome. The location of the hotel was unconquerable, situated in midst of pine forest, away from locality and with an excellent view of mountain range. But due to the cloudy weather view was not very clear. But the garden of the guesthouse cover up all unsatisfactions. They created a small valley of flowers inside the campus. About the road trip from kathgodam to kausani, road was horrible and weather was too hot to enjoy. Next time I will prefer to travel in winter.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roumiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    45
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
67
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Beautiful view of the Bageshwar valley and the Himalayas from the rooms. The rooms are very cosy but there's no heater. KMVN should have budget allocation for room heaters (as HPTDC) as they have enough tourists coming every year, there's no excuse for not having heaters in the rooms. There's 24 hour hot water, but you need to wait for a while to come through the taps (due to the cold water in the pipes).
Service is good and the walkways have very good plants (please take care of them, I saw a fellow traveller drying her petticoat on a beautiful blooming shrub!). Restuarant is good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prithvirajbose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

We have visited Kausani four times. I have seen the snow clad mountain first in my life from Kausani, then I was about 15/ 16 years. After that visit whenever we visit here we stayed at KMVN. The place of the tourist lodge is excellent – mainly the view of mountain range from the cottage is awesome. In a visit I get up early morning and saw cloud was surrounded – then I go to bed again. After sometimes the phone of my room rang up – it was a call from reception – regarding a splendid sunrise. Once my father-in-law was with us and he was sick there – the staff of the hotels were helped us a lot. So, one can easily understand that the staffs of the hotel is very co-operative and helpful. The rooms required some maintenance – otherwise are ok. The food quality is also good. Stay at KMVN Hotel in Kausani may give a tourist more pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kajal N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Location is terrific. can see the mighty trishul peak of upper himalayas when sky is clear. Food is made fresh and tastes good. Better to stay in a cottage for more privacy and a bigger space. Though no maintained well but still ok for a nights stay at least. Staff is attentive and prompt (which is usually not expected in a govt property). Travelers must visit places like Munsiyari, chokori etc. in Pithoragarh from here as distances are not that great.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BritishEmpire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KOLKATA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed in the cottage rooms,the resort excellent view of mountains and valley.Size of rooms are ok but could have been maintained better.The resort has problem with hot water but the staff helped us very much on this count . good for budget travellers

Room Tip: go for cottage rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PARTHA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kausani
52.0 km away
Heritage Resort Kausani
52.8 km away
Kausani Best Inn
Kausani Best Inn
#2 of 8 in Kausani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
52.0 km away
Sun n Snow Inn by Leisure Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.9 km away
Hotel Sagar
Hotel Sagar
#7 of 8 in Kausani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
5.6 km away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#9 of 46 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
51.8 km away
Krishna Mountview Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KMVN Tourist Rest House Trishul? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KMVN Tourist Rest House Trishul

Property: KMVN Tourist Rest House Trishul
Address: Kumaon Mandal, Kausani, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Kausani
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kausani
Price range (per night): ₹ 980 - ₹ 2,200
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
KMVN Tourist Rest House Trishul Kausani, Uttarakhand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing