We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay while attending a conference”
Review of Hotel Montfoort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Montfoort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montfoort
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Had a lovely 2 night stay here in June. Hotel is quaint, in old buildings. (if you like a standard hotel room this is not for you). Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was lovely, fresh bread from the bakery each morning was delicious.
There is no car park but a free one 2 minutes walk away. It does not serve lunch or dinner but there are several places to eat nearby.
There is a nice canal to have a relaxing walk along.

Room Tip: If you don't like steep stairs ask for downstairs room and next to courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EAhmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is a lovely townhouse in a beautiful small town near Utrecht and. There are a few positives and negatives to consider, however, to help you make the decision whether to stay here or in a larger, more corporate hotel nearer to Utrecht or Ijsselestein.

Positives: the showers are nice, as is the attention to detail, the cleanliness and the quality of the bed linen and decoration. The town of Montfoort is gorgeous and friendly, with many lovely shops and cafes.

Negatives: the rooms are tiny (we had the "suite" and it was very small); the hotel was noisy when we were there (the town house design and the location mean that you hear guests coming and going, plus the bins/builders/car alarms of local life).

Also, some of the staff smoke in the central courtyard. With windows open you smell this, and at breakfast you must walk through this small courtyard and in to the smoke.The breakfast (as seems to be true in Holland and Belgium) is quite modest.

You hotel has no parking (though you can park about 50 metres away). This, and the fact that our room was up a very steep, narrow flight of stairs may make the hotel difficult for anyone with mobility problems.

The biggest attraction is Montfoort itself- organised around a canal/river, it is lovely. I walked around while my boyfriend was working nearby and many people said "hello" and were friendly and helpful. It is fascinating to watch life go by in a typical Dutch commuter town.

The nearby restaurant Marnemoende is excellent for a special meal with clients

Room Tip: The suite is pretty but not very big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneSkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We were put here by our Dutch colleagues and were surprised. The rooms are of a high standard but this is bed and breakfast otherwise, breakfast is one table for 6 people so different....but it's all there and quite ok. It's in the high street so all amenities are there .... The church bells ring through the night however ..... We ate at Bij Mette - Michelin star restaurant .... And there are several around ....

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

First wanted to book the best western hotel in Woerden but considering the many negative reviews on this hotel decided to go to hotel Montfoort. And for sure this was an excellent choice. Great nicely designed modern room and bathroom, beds with very good sleeping comfort. Quiet location the whole night .... free parking around the corner.
Breakfast not very extensive but of good quality. We will come back for sure !

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I stayed at this little hotel on a business trip and I was very impressed? The room under the roof was very quaint, the bed was comfortable, everything was very clean. The bathroom was rather small but it had everything necssary and it was user friendly. Breakfast in the morning was another amazing surprise, in a cute small room, very well appointed. Very nice choice of breads, eggs, teas...
There is not much to see in town, but I would definitely stay here again.
The only minus sere the stairs with very high steps as is often the case in Holland.
Excellent value for money. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viclugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montfoort
6 km away
Best Western City Hotel Woerden
3.6 km away
Bakhuis Het Oude Klooster
Bakhuis Het Oude Klooster
#1 of 2 in Montfoort
10 reviews
2.9 km away
Het Jaarsveldhof
Het Jaarsveldhof
#1 of 2 in Montfoort
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Gastenverblijf Aan de Hollandse IJssel
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montfoort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montfoort

Address: Hoogstraat 29, 3417 HA Montfoort, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Montfoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montfoort
Price Range: ₹ 7,391 - ₹ 9,126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montfoort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of charming Montfoort, near Utrecht and Woerden, our charming 3 star boutique hotel offers a relaxing base with its tasteful, stylish guest rooms (11 in total). Benefit from free Wi-Fi. Have breakfast in our newly renovated breakfast room and plan your day at leisure. Explore the environment by bicycle or simply stroll through the town and admire its many characteristic buildings. When arrive at the hotel enjoy a drink in our Wine & Bubbles bar or sit outside on the patio. You can park for free near the hotel. We look forward to having you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Montfoort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing