We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
15
18
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
18
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is a lovely townhouse in a beautiful small town near Utrecht and. There are a few positives and negatives to consider, however, to help you make the decision whether to stay here or in a larger, more corporate hotel nearer to Utrecht or Ijsselestein.

Positives: the showers are nice, as is the attention to detail, the cleanliness and the quality of the bed linen and decoration. The town of Montfoort is gorgeous and friendly, with many lovely shops and cafes.

Negatives: the rooms are tiny (we had the "suite" and it was very small); the hotel was noisy when we were there (the town house design and the location mean that you hear guests coming and going, plus the bins/builders/car alarms of local life).

Also, some of the staff smoke in the central courtyard. With windows open you smell this, and at breakfast you must walk through this small courtyard and in to the smoke.The breakfast (as seems to be true in Holland and Belgium) is quite modest.

You hotel has no parking (though you can park about 50 metres away). This, and the fact that our room was up a very steep, narrow flight of stairs may make the hotel difficult for anyone with mobility problems.

The biggest attraction is Montfoort itself- organised around a canal/river, it is lovely. I walked around while my boyfriend was working nearby and many people said "hello" and were friendly and helpful. It is fascinating to watch life go by in a typical Dutch commuter town.

The nearby restaurant Marnemoende is excellent for a special meal with clients

Room Tip: The suite is pretty but not very big.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneSkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We were put here by our Dutch colleagues and were surprised. The rooms are of a high standard but this is bed and breakfast otherwise, breakfast is one table for 6 people so different....but it's all there and quite ok. It's in the high street so all amenities are there .... The church bells ring through the night however ..... We ate at Bij Mette - Michelin star restaurant .... And there are several around ....

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

First wanted to book the best western hotel in Woerden but considering the many negative reviews on this hotel decided to go to hotel Montfoort. And for sure this was an excellent choice. Great nicely designed modern room and bathroom, beds with very good sleeping comfort. Quiet location the whole night .... free parking around the corner.
Breakfast not very extensive but of good quality. We will come back for sure !

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I stayed at this little hotel on a business trip and I was very impressed? The room under the roof was very quaint, the bed was comfortable, everything was very clean. The bathroom was rather small but it had everything necssary and it was user friendly. Breakfast in the morning was another amazing surprise, in a cute small room, very well appointed. Very nice choice of breads, eggs, teas...
There is not much to see in town, but I would definitely stay here again.
The only minus sere the stairs with very high steps as is often the case in Holland.
Excellent value for money. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viclugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2009

I stay at the Hotel Montfoort when I travel for business to a nearby town. Montfoort is itself a picturesque Dutch village - cobble stone streets, with three restaurants (all quite good) and two local bars. There are some retail stores, including a bakery, shoe store, kitchen wares, fabric, and some other fun little spots.

The hotel is small, maybe six or eight rooms, and each room is small. However, they are very tastefully decorated with an en suite bathroom. There is an outdoor courtyard between the front buiding and the back building. There is a fridge in the common area where you can help yourself to complimentary waters, beer, and wine. The breakfast is served in common dining room, which only has eight seats, so the owner tries to accomodate parties at different times. The breakfast is simple and always the same - hard boiled eggs, lunch meats (well, lunch meats by US standards), yogurt, coffee, and juice. If you are looking for something sweeter, the bakery across the way opens very early.

This is the only hotel in Montfoort, and it is quite a good one.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkiingFamilyLoveWins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews