We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Atlantic(Carbis Bay)
US$ 191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Downsfield(Carbis Bay)
US$ 140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 1,088
US$ 759
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oystercatcher(Carbis Bay)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coast B&B(Carbis Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveller rating
308
74
24
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
308
74
24
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelcarbis bay hotelcarbonaraspa facilitiescomplimentary upgradethrough secret escapeslovely hotelhigh standardgannet restaurantst ivesbeef wellingtonlounge areamashboutique hotelunderfloor heatingbeautiful decorlady on reception
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 413 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Stayed at the gannet inn through secret escapes have to say it was a good deal the room was lovely although there was no view out of the window as it was frosted glass as it overlooked a not so nice building the staff are very friendly the food is excellent breakfast and evening meal there sister hotel Carbis Bay hotel is quite a walk from the gannet for the pool and spar we had Sunday lunch there and that was lovely and quite reasonable priced although the view from the Carbis Bay is not so good at the moment there is a lot of building work going on at the moment in front of the hotel so can’t really look out over the sea at night wouldn’t like to pay there prices for that at the moment

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank Jodymagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGannetInn, Manager at The Gannet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

We're pleased that you enjoyed the "excellent breakfast & evening meal" at The Gannet and thank-you for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Our stay at the Gannet Inn was far too short. The property should get top marks for comfort, cleanliness, Cornwall style and location. We found our room delightful and enjoyed both dinner and breakfast in the dining room and drinks in the lounge with a view. The staff were wonderfully welcoming and helpful. We especially appreciated the decor and thoughtful touches aimed at guest satisfaction. Quality of the room finishes and food offerings was excellent.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ldoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGannetInn, Manager at The Gannet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Awww... we're flushing with pride - what a lovely review, thank-you so very much! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

This stay was to be one of the best my wife and i have had. Upon arrival we were greeted by the lovely Dawn. Now they always say first impressions count and they certainly did here. For the first time I have known and we have stayed in many hotels over the years, we were shown round the hotel and to our room, politely explaining what facilities there are. This was fab customer services and first impressions.....Wow. We had the 'Gannett' room. Over the main entrance with a fab view of the beaches and sea. Room was very spacious and spotlessly clean. Bottled water was provided along with tea and coffee. We arrived on the Sunday so had the lunch in the restaurant. The meal was fab and service was spot on. Sunday roast here is great and reasonably priced. The restaurant and lounge area are well decorated with comfortable seating. The next day we had evening meal. The steak we had was very good. The arctic roll desert however was sent back as it appeared stale. The waiter apologised straight away with another offering and took it off our Bill. These things do happen but it must not distract from what is a fab hotel run by pleasant hard working staff. Breakfast was lovely too. Anything you wanted hot with a cold selection of pastries also. A mention must also go to the new waitresses that started when we were there. In a new country and so young must be a daunting experience but they showed early on that with help and support they will get from the Gannett staff that they will come along nicely. Buses run regulary from just outside the hotel into St Ives and the coastal walk is a must to. I have posted a few pictures so you can see for yourself the quality that is on offer here all around. So overall a wonderful break in a first class hotel. 5 stars and truly recommended.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank martin1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGannetInn, Manager at The Gannet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

What an amazing review & recommendation, thank you very much! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay & have passed your compliments on to Dawn & the Austrian students. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

A birthday treat and we weren’t disappointed. We enjoyed a top room overlooking the bay but not for claustrophobics as it feels like sleeping in a white canvass ridge tent which gives the room great character. Lovely breakfasts and only one very nice evening meal as we wanted to sample the delights of St Ives restaurants. Located on a main road with a good bus route in and out of St Ives. We hope to return.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGannetInn, Manager at The Gannet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you for the lovely review and we look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

The hotel is clean, comfortable and the staff is attentive. The breakfast was amazing. We had dinner there once. The lounge and the food were very good. It is a very short walk to the beach. The walk to St. Ives is about 2 miles along the seacoast path, or you can easily take the train, cab or bus if so inclined.
Note: there is no elevator, which was okay with us, but may affect those unable to do stairs.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AdriansUpstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGannetInn, Manager at The Gannet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Great informative review, thank-you. We have passed your compliments regarding the breakfast & dinner on to the Chefs and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews