We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Triumph of Interior Design Over Practicality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Carbis Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2017

The Carbis Bay Hotel has many excellent features. The restaurant consistently produces very good food. It is located on the edge of a massive beach of white sand, with the waves beyond. The staff are genuinely friendly and helpful and care about their guests and their hotel. There is a station on the coastal railway nearby, to take you into St Ives (a big plus if you want to go there - parking is very difficult). A small oudoor pool, but well heated. But.... this is a nineteenth century hotel, and it has been renovated to keep it that way. So, no lifts. Dim lighting in the rooms. Small rooms (after five nights here, our next stop was a Premier Inn, and we were really struck by the larger room there!). In general, the lack of the modern features and feel you would expect in, say a Hilton (or a Premier Inn!), got to be wearing after a while. And no gym. So only 4 out of 5.

Room Tip: Coastal railway runs close behind - check room quiet enough. No lift, so be prepared to carry stuff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank oldtraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 September 2017

We appreciate your comments on our location, staff and restaurant - thank you. Our Hotel does have a fascinating history and tradition which we are proud to maintain, whilst at the same time offering today's visitor a luxurious experience. We offer a wide choice of accommodation from large, deluxe seaview rooms to apartment suites, chic cottages and beachside houses. We have plans for a gym in the not too distant future; meanwhile we hope you enjoyed our year-round outdoor heated pools and direct access to our own beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 107 of 1,661 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2017

To be fair I think as a lot of the reviews say this place is not cheap and you are paying for the location, having said that we loved it, it really is a stunning location and would definitely return. We stayed 3 nights and having seen a number of reviews regarding small rooms and next the railway I wrote and asked if possible could we please be allocated a nice room as it showed on the website. It wasn't quite the same but we were more than happy with it and yes we were at the back by the railway but it really did not impact our stay we also had a little balcony which overlooked the back of the hotel and gardens. We arrived early and had lunch on the terrace at the beach bar expensive but again you are paying for the location and the food was good as was the one dinner we had. As our stay included a Saturday we thought that there would be a wedding so arranged dinner in st Ives - reception arranged a taxi for us so we had a nice evening out away from the party. We wanted to have a coffee and nightcap when we returned but it was difficult to get served due the the wedding party so we went to our room and rang down and ordered it as room service - no problem at all it was brought straight up without any fuss! Great service even though they were busy.
Thank you for a lovely relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyh2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 September 2017

Thank you so much for your review and we are pleased you had a good weekend with us. It is stunning, especially on our terrace looking straight out to sea. We have many different options to choose from regarding accommodation and we look forward to seeing you again; perhaps try one of our rooms with a balcony or terrace. The little train into St Ives is one of the most scenic rides in the country. Not to be missed and doesn't run overnight. Come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Had an amazing dinner here on Sunday evening, the only night we could get in. Reception greeted us with huge smiles and the evening just got better with fab service and great food. Lovely ambience and whilst the rear outside is looking a bit shabby chic, drinks on the terrace couldn't be bettered with a wonderful view across the bay. Will definitely come again

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank juneyspoony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 September 2017

So pleased you were happy with your visit and had a good evening in our Sands Restaurant overlooking the bay. Our Beach Club Restaurant is also open every evening and throughout the day with spectacular views as well. We hope you will come back soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

We have spent two nights and 3 full days absorbing this little gem. We stayed at the Gannet which is a sister hotel ! The rooms , food and service was first class . The staff could not do enough to make our stay special . The hotel is smaller than the main spa hotel , with a sense of a family atmosphere . The breakfast and evening dinner never felt rushed and was of excellent standard . We had full access to the spa and pool, overlooking the beach . The beach club restaurant was mirrored each unique venue with outstanding views, food, service and ambiance. The staff worked so hard and appeared to be able to multitask working throughout the estate . The staff were just stunning and made our stay with their shining personalities , friendliness and hospitality. Nicole stood out , we were sure she is a secret super hero. We loved it so much , we have booked to bring our family next weekend . Would definitely recommend. Donna and Chris Osmond from Somerset .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ozzie6865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 September 2017

Dear Donna and Chris,
We are proud of our Gannet and our staff throughout our Estate and thank you so much for your review - as you mention, guests at the Gannet are welcome to visit us at Carbis Bay Hotel and enjoy our spa facilities, restaurants and fabulous beach. Did you see the hot tub just above the sands? We hope you will come again and again. If you bring family, we have a range of lovely coastal properties as well as our new beach lodges available next season.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We saved our 'treat' of afternoon tea for our last day. A posh hotel, we were a little embarassed to arrive all sandy and sit at their garden tables amongst olderrelaxing guests with our little ones. However the guests were very friendly and the waiters very welcoming. Despite having saved ourselves, the cornish tea was very reasonable. We loved looking out to sea from the clifftop garden and our little girls behaved beautfully in response to having been so well looked after.

Thank you - we felt very welcome and will be happy to give our custom again.

Room Tip: Views of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bobby474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 September 2017

We love the heading of your review - it is gorgeous here beside the sea - your tea sounds just great - thank you for letting us know you enjoyed it so much. Do come back as soon as you can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbis Bay
1.4 km away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
309 reviews
1.1 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,034 reviews
0.2 km away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
790 reviews
35 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate

Address: Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2NP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives > Carbis Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Carbis Bay
Price Range: ₹ 8,255 - ₹ 43,494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate offers a stunning coastal retreat with direct access to its privately owned 25 acre Blue Flag beach and breath-taking views of one of the world's most beautiful bays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carbis Bay
Carbis Bay Hotel St Ives
Carbis Bay St Ives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing