We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pleasant stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lane End Cottage

Lane End Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lane End Cottage
Living Room Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Lane End Cottage
Living Room
Bedroom
Kitchen
Bathroom
Landing
Living Room
Bedroom
Beach
View from Lifeboat Pier
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bembridge, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
1PGK
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I rented Lane End Cottage for a week away with my two grown up children and my Mother. We all agreed the cottage was very good for our needs. There are four double sized bedrooms. One has three single beds. The other three all have double beds. The downstairs bedroom is next door to a big wet room, perfect for those that have mobility difficulties.
The lounge has three reasonable sized sofas so there is plenty of space to relax. The kitchen / diner was big enough and had pretty much everything that you are going to need. The gas cooker was temperamental and needs some attention. There is a second bathroom upstairs with bath and a very good shower.
Outside the garden is pleasant if you get decent weather. There is plenty of space to park your car at the from of the property.
Bembridge is a lovely village and a great base for your stay on the IOW.
We rented the beach hut which is ok, and spent an afternoon with a picnic but didn't really get the weather to enjoy it as much as we would have liked.
For anyone interested in running, the coastal path (not always that coastal!), can be picked up near the cottage.
Communication with Peter, the owner, was excellent and also with Kim, the agent, who welcomed us on our arrival.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley G
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage, enjoyable stay.”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Had a wonderful holiday, lovely cottage, had everything we needed. We had a minibus and there was plenty of room to park. Nice big table and chairs in the garden and a barbeque which were made use of. Spacious cottage with plenty of storage, we also hired the beach hut which meant we could leave all the beach stuff down there which was very handy as we spent so much time down there, sometimes until about 7.30pm. The beach which is only a short walk away was lovely and spent many hours crabbing and rock pooling. There is a co op just across the road which had a small bakery and a cash machine. Can't think of anything else we would have needed and would definitely come back again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S
1 review
“Beautiful seaside cottage for a family holiday.”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at lane end cottage with four generations of the family from 1-79years! Easy walking distance to the beach, shops and pubs. We also took the beach hut and spent a lovely Tuesday evening 7pm watching the lifeboat test launch with a glass of wine. Bliss!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillian K
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Comfortable, well equipped cottage with garden.”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had all we needed from this well equipped cottage. Good mix of bedrooms and plenty of space. Good to have a garden which our granddaughter enjoyed. Sea 10minutes away and we made use of the beach hut, mainly to shelter as weather wasn't great.
Bembridge village has some interesting small shops and we also visited the local museum where we were made welcome. The ladies in Libray loved having our granddaughter visit them, she loves books.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy L
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Holiday Base”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I stayed at Lane End Cottage for a week over the Easter holidays with my wife, her two grown up daughters, one of which was with her boyfriend and our 2 year old granddaughter, and also our 16 year old foster child.
Our first impressions were good as there was ample parking at the front for our two cars, and the Kim, the lady who showed us around the cottage on arrival, was very pleasant and told us everything that we needed to know about not only the cottage, but also the local village of Bembridge.
We had the downstairs double bedroom, with is next to a wetroom/ bathroom, which would be ideal for anyone with mobility issues. Upstairs there are 2 more double rooms of ample size as well as another bedroom with 3 single beds, along with an ample sized bathroom with bath and shower over the bath.
There was even a box of Lego, which our granddaughter enjoyed and also a bottle of complimentary wine in the fridge.......with the three women enjoyed!!!
The garden is ideal and, although not fully enclosed, we reversed one of the cars right up to the only place that our granddaughter could get out from, which gave us peace of mind that she could play safely.
The village itself is pretty small, but with a variety of shops and is only about a 10 minute walk away. We visited all 3 local pubs, which are very nice and within walking distance. They all offer food, which we did not have, but were busy with diners while we were there. The local Co-op is literally 2 minutes walk from the property, as is the beach, but in the opposite direction. We visited the lifeboat station, where the staff were great at welcoming visitors and really encouraged visitors to ask questions.
All in all we had a perfect holiday and would definitely recommend Lane End Cottage for a perfect base to explore the island, and would love to return in the future.
All communication with the owner was great, and we were even provided with a stair gate for the little one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very spacious, like a Tardis
Liked least: Garden wasn't enclosed, but we easily got around it.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing