We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sensationally good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Sensationally good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

If you are looking for the perfect place to unwind for a day or two , look no further than the Devonshire Arms . In winter the hotel exudes an air of cosiness throughout its warm reception area and several lounges .

We found the decor to be of a good standard with our Wharfedale room having been refurbished with a mix of an antique chest of drawers and contemporary furnishings . A well equiped swimming pool complex also has a jacuzzi , steam room , sauna , and cold plunge pool . Free access to Bolton Abbey is a bonus with some great walks available to work off the inevitable over-indulgence when it comes to the hotel's food .

Starting with afternoon tea we were treated to some of the best food in the country . For a very reasonable cost of around £13 ( inclusive of service charge - not something I am keen on ) I was treated to a large plate of delicious sandwiches , scone with all the trimmings , Parkin cake , and a large pot of tea . My wife went for the sweet tooth option of a scone and three or four cakes . How anyone manages to eat their way through the full (£25ish) afternoon tea is a mystery to me , especially if they wish to leave a healthy appetite for the main event ; the Michelin starred dinner .

The Burlington restaurant offers several menus and we opted for the 12 course " Menu Prestige " (14 or 15 courses if you count the bread selection and opt for a cheese course and coffee and petits fours ). Plate after plate of sensational food arrived over a leisurely three hour culinary extravaganza . My wife's top choices included a starter of foie gras with date , pear , and walnut ; and textures of lamb with some sublime ( suvi cooked ? ) meat . My favourites included a soup course of onion and liquorice veloute with egg ; and a stunning palate cleansing lemon thyme and beetroot type sorbet - all the more extraordinary as I previously regarded beetroot as a vegetable to avoid ! We both agreed that the poached rhubarb with champagne froth dessert was a highlight of the meal . Having eaten in some very fine restaurants over the years we would rank this meal right up there with the best of them , including the three Michelin starred George V in Paris .

In view of the reviews , I half expected breakfast to be a bit of a letdown but we were both pleasantly surprised . My corned beef hash and egg was very good and my wife thoroughly enjoyed her smoked haddock in a mustard sauce .

Minor gripes : yes , I agree with other reviewers that the chairs in the conservatory part of the Burlington were not very comfortable - ask to eat in the main part of the building if opting for an epic dinner . Also the soundproofing in the Wharfedale rooms is somewhat lacking , as is the size of the bathroom . Some may find the mattresses overly soft .

All in all , a great treat . The hotel is very good and the food is exceptional .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vincebro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    256
    86
    47
    40
See reviews for
176
854
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed for only one night but will be booking again, unfortunately the Michelin restaurant was not open but the Brasserie was excellent. Service and welcoming could not have been better. The Spa was delightful and a one night stay was a luxurious rest in a beautiful part of the world. It was like being welcomed into a family home as weekend guests we would recommend to anyone. Need to book the spa in advance of your stay if you require a treatment but swimming pool, sauna were avaialble.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This is a fantastic hotel with a brilliant restaurant and relaxed bistro. A wine list to die for, exceptional service and great location make this a real treat location. Have been many times and loved it.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LocalDine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed here for one night on 29th Jan as a birthday treat and we were very happy that we chose this hotel. It really is such a lovely laid back hotel with nothing too much trouble for the staff. We were upgraded as it was my birthday to a lovely room with a four poster. Nice touch.

We ate in the Brasserie which was very good with excellent service from the staff. Breakfast was excellent with, yet again, great service.

We stayed on a Sunday night and the Burlington was busy with Sunday lunch diners all saying how wonderful their lunch had been. We wished we had booked for the Sunday lunch, definitley next time...

We didn't mind paying the service charge, it really is worth it, especially if you take advantage of the special deals they have.

Returning soon even if we are just up the road in Harrogate.

Room Tip: Ours had a sheep theme! It was so quiet we had a great sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PodHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Last weekend we were lucky enough to stay at this gorgeous hotel for a night. From the walk through the car park, where a member of staff met us to help carry our luggage, to our departure the next day we had a fabulous time. Every member of staff was professional yet friendly and efficient. All requests were quickly met. Our room was lovely, very comfortable with a view to die for. The food was delicious. Couldn't fault anything. Wish we could afford to stay there on a regular basis.

Room Tip: Locate the temperature control for the radiators and read the instructions. Rooms are kept comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikinackynoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Abbey
8.6 km away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
26.2 km away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,395 reviews
17.7 km away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.8 km away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
8.9 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
39.5 km away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa

Property: The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Address: | Bolton Abbey Estate, Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bolton Abbey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,907 - ₹ 30,225
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 30,000 acres of land on the Bolton Abbey Estate, this impressive 4-star country house hotel boasts an award-winning restaurant, an adult-only spa, a gym and an indoor pool. Skipton is just 5.8 miles away and Harrogate is 16.2 miles away. Each elegant room has a spacious seating area and a flat-screen TV with a DVD player ans satellite channels. All rooms offer different views of The Dales, River Wharfe and Italian Garden, and all rooms feature a luxury bathroom. Situated in the very heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Devonshire Arms Hotel has a luxurious spa featuring a sauna, steam room, swimming pool and whirlpool. A range of treatments and massages are available and the property also has outdoor tennis courts. Clay pigeon shooting, fly-fishing, and falconry displays are all possible within the Bolton Abbey Estate. The award-winning Burlington Restaurant offers a seasonal menu using the finest local produce. Guests can enjoy the ever-popular afternoon tea, and there is also a lounge bar. The Brasserie offers guests a more modern gastro-menu featuring some of Yorkshire's favourite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel And Spa
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel Bolton Abbey
Devonshire Arms Country Skipton
Devonshire Arms Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing