We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (652)
Filter reviews
652 results
Traveller rating
399
166
47
28
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
166
47
28
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews villa le maschere beautiful hotel our honeymoon junior suite free shuttle pool area is the hotel offers the hotel manager meeting room wonderful view staff could not have been more little details beautiful tuscan countryside beautiful grounds luxury hotel sandwich pleasure of staying
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 652 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2015

The hotel is situated at an excellent spot and already during your arrival it feels like arriving at a palace while going up the drive way. This gives you a very nice first impression, even though I found the reception area has quite a cold atmosphere.
The check in was quick and uncomplicated, we arrived a bit early, but our room was ready at the point of time (must have been around 12 noon). The hotel takes care of luggage and valet parking, which is very convenient and of course provides guidance to the room.
On the way to the room (especially when using the elevator) you can see that some parts of the hotel are covered by glass in order to close and protect some of its parts from the outside. Problem with that is that the glass is quite dirty due to a great amount of pigeons which are having a good time on the roof of the hotel. In my opinion this needs some attention, as the dirt does not look very nice.

Unfortunately I found the room a little disappointing. It is big, however I think the layout is probably not the best one (unfortunately I do not remember our room number, I can imagine there are better rooms). The bathroom is large, however nothing special as it makes a very empty impression. In compare to that the sleeping area of the room seems to be rather small. Most important however was that the bed was of a good quality and so was the sleep. Difficult to express what exactly is missing in the room, but I think the presentation is a little bit sterile.

On the way to the pool you have to watch out not to get lost, it is a long way through the old cellar of the villa, but it is also kind of impressive like walking through an old castle. The pool area is nicely renovated and modern as well as it is featuring a large Jacuzzi room. The infinity pools are perfect to relax while enjoying a great view over Tuscany. The pool area is serviced.

Unfortunately the sunbeds and umbrellas need a bit of tender loving care. Some of them are quite dirty, due to the close by trees. Also I think the pool guy should have a little bit more attention of cleaning up used dishes as well as removing their towels. Sometimes they remained there for quite some time after people were gone.

Absolutely stunning is the restaurant on the terrace. The menu is excellent, so it is quite a culinary experience. We were lucky during our dinner, as the moon was rising just above the hills you can see from the restaurant giving it a very romantic ambience. So if you plan to propose - this is the place to do so! :)

Not far away from the hotel is a designer outlet mall. If you ask at the reception you get a 10% discount voucher for several shops which is useful if you plan a visit there.

Overall our experience was great and we definitely would come back to the place. We did not manage to see all, as the hotel also offers a big garden area and an old castle next door. Definitely enjoyable!

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrFalkone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucaGiuliano, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere | UNA Esperienze, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Villa Le Maschere. Guests’ feedback is always important to improve our standards and the quality of service. We are really glad to know that you enjoyed the dinner on our romantic terrace, as well as the pools and the wellness area: these are the “must” for a good holiday. We took note of your suggestions about the common areas maintenance: being in such a beautiful countryside is surely a plus but needs a constant attention. We invite you again at Villa Le Maschere, in order to spend another enjoyable holiday and try our new menu, that changes according to the season.

Best regards,

Luca Giuliano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015

My wife has just reviewed this but I’ll add my own.

Positives:
* The Villa is lovely, they have done a great restoration job and all the shared spaces and gardens are beautiful.
* The staff (all of them) are first class and that is what makes this a 5* hotel \ country house.
* The food is excellent id a little repetitive if staying for a week. Breakfast is especially good.
* A lovely part of Tuscany to relax.
* Lovely clean pool area with nice views, nice new comfy sun loungers / umbrellas as well
* There’s a really excellent family owned & run restaurant literally opposite, we ate here a number of times for lunch and dinner and the special of Lasagne with truffles is awesome.
* Free wifi throughout the entire hotel & pool area, which was excellent.
* Free transfers to and from Forence daily.

Some minor negatives:
* It’s a good 45 minutes out of Florence so unless you have a suite booked that’s a 90 Euro transfer to \ from the airport each way - unless you have a hire car.
* The aircon in the room was situated under the window so the floor length curtains blocked it completely at night (both units).
* Our bathroom (see photo) was not a 5* bathroom and seems to be a disability bathroom and reminded me of a hospital. My wife’s feet couldn’t touch the floor when seated (and she’s 5ft 7) the sink was overly large, no glass shower screen just pull-around curtains, easy access shower for wheelchair, lots of handles & pull-down one for loo, no window etc. I appreciate that the disabled need to be catered for and very lucky I’m not in that position, but if you’re not disabled it can be a little off-putting.
* There was a rather amorous couple who spent most of the time by the pool on top of each other smooching – and I mean properly smooching. Enough to make the parents of the children around very uncomfortable. This extended into the indoor spa \ Jacuzzi areas on at least 4 occasions where it was quite clear more than just smooching was going on. I appreciate this not the fault of the Villa but as a result of that we both avoided the Jacuzzi for “hygiene” reasons.
* The water went off completely on 2 occasions, 1 was for the whole hotel and the other seemed to be due to the maid turning a tap off under the towel rail… rather embarrassing to have to get the manager to have a look when the first thing he does is look straight in the loo. Which I might add was not the problem.

Summary:
A beautiful place to relax with fantastic staff & great food and drink. We really enjoyed our time at the Villa and would go back.

Room tip: Not room 906, go for upper floors with garden view
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucaGiuliano, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere | UNA Esperienze, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2015

Dear Customer,

On reading your exhaustive review upon your recent stay in Villa le Maschere, we have the occasion to get ideas and suggestions on how to improve the resort’s standards.
A per the “Summary” of your comment, we looking forward to welcoming you again in sunny Villa le Maschere!

Kind regards

Luca Giuliano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

My husband and I booked a five night stay at Villa Maschere, the villa has been beautifully renovated with a very modern twist which is great and the grounds and view were beautiful.The staff here are very efficient and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

We ate a couple of times on the terrace which was especially nice in the evening and the food was very good along with the service.

We decided however not to stay here for the full duration of our break ( even though it was pre- paid) and headed to Firenze for the Weds and Thurs nights mainly because our room was quite depressing, it was very dark and gloomy and the bathroom was equipped very poorly with yellowing plastic fantastic disabled equipped , hoses and out of date shower curtains there is no way this is a 5* bathroom it needs completely renovating.

The pool and spa area were lovely a relaxing place to read and swim a real little suntrap.

I would stay in this lovely Villa again on a return visit but I would advise steering clear of room 906.

Room tip: Avoid room 906 unless youare in need of disabled facilities.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucaGiuliano, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere | UNA Esperienze, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2015

Dear Customer,

Thank you for leaving your impression toward your recent stay in Villa le Maschere, we are sorry to learn that the assigned room has not meets your expectations.
Looking forward to welcoming you again, we suggest you to contact us in advance in order to better finalize your room reservation.

Kind regards

Luca Giuliano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We stayed in a suite which was magnificent - wonderful facilities, beautiful views and amazing room and decor. The hotel is a beautiful old palace renovated in a spectacular way which is sensitive to its history but still start of the art.

It is set in 18 hectares of private land and with gorgeous views rolling to the Lake Balancino and with possibly the best spa and pool we've ever enjoyed. Staff were accommodating and helpful and we really wanted for nothing.

Very highly recommended!

Room tip: If you can, upgrade to a junior suite as we did for a free shuttle bus from airport and back
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AlichaA82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucaGiuliano, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere | UNA Esperienze, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2015

Dear Guest,

Our resort is the perfect location where, a few steps from the town of Florence, you can relax yourself delighting the senses. The renaissance Villa has been graciously renovated to host international travelers, mixing the unique historical spaces with today’s modern needs.
Thanking you for your positive review, we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Luca Giuliano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Great hotel in a perfect location. From the premises to the bedroom and from the breakfast buffet (with a wide variety of products) to dinner, all details are right. Really enjoyed staying at this hotel and would love to come back one day. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucaGiuliano, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere | UNA Esperienze, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind reviw, we looking forward to welcoming you at your heartiest convenience!

Kind Regards

Luca Giuliano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews