We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,281)
Filter reviews
1,281 results
Traveller rating
293
488
274
132
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
293
488
274
132
94
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,281 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2020

We arrived on a late flight from Toronto and then sat on a bus for 2 hours to get this small cozy resort. Took a while to get our rooms sorted out and several trip back to the front desk, when we got to our room we found a traditional key lock when we had been giving a key card. Not the easiest place to navigate in the dark in the middle of night but once we got into our room and settled a little we ventured back out to the lobby bar for sandwiches.
They were very quick and helpful with any issues we had and after few days I really began to enjoy this small resort. It was a much better experience then my last time in Cuba at a large resort.
In short the rooms are rustic and rough but liveable. No safes in the room regardless of what they tell you (they do have them but none of them work). They play loud horrible music all day by the pool bar well into the night but if your at the beach you can’t hear it thankfully. the food was better then I expected for Cuba, always go for what’s being cooked fresh, the beach bar does amazing fish and good burgers (no ketchup anywhere so bring if you need), drinks are ok, water in buffet is very salty so ask for sparkling or get from the pool bar, if you want coffee in the morning stop at the pool bar before going into the buffet. We found out half way through our stay that we could have upgraded and gotten a bottle of water in the room everyday, good to know. We only got 1 bottle for the week but we brought reusable bottles from home which we had filled several times a day at the pool bar. The evening entertainment is very bad, and the kids show rarely happens. Kids club (mini club) was ok, very nice lady running it but I wouldn’t leave my kid there alone for more than 30 mins, if that. The pool was gross and filled with garbage but if I wanted to swim in pool I would have stayed in Canada. The beach was amazing and beautiful. In the future if we were to return to Cuba I would probably consider returning here as the staff were very friendly and kind. They made us feel very welcome and we would know what to expect. However I don’t plan on returning to Cuba anytime soon.
I hope this helps someone. I was very nervous about this trip and still unsure during our first few days but like I said we may return in the future. Better a place you know then a place you don’t.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Soulsister33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 March 2020

We were back to our favourite spot in Cuba for our annual visit the first 2 weeks of December. We return to our second home at the same time each year because we enjoy the relative quiet of the resort at that time.
Check-in was smooth and all interactions with the Front Desk services during our stay were helpful and friendly. Our ocean view room had a welcome bottle of rum waiting, was recently painted, with everything in working order. It was cleaned nicely each day, and towels were replaced regularly.
The overall variety and quality in the buffet was good. The meat station had a good selection, and it was nice to see more grilling on demand rather than pre-cooking. Fresh fruit is always a hit, the ice cream is awesome, the dessert station had a good variety. (The pastel de guayaba and arroz con leche are the best!) Dinners at the ala carte had good sized portions, were hot and tasty. In both locations, the kitchen, serving and bussing staff were friendly and efficient. We purchased lobsters one evening – they were grilled and very good.
All the bar staff was friendly and efficient. The lobby bar was open during the day and was also serving coffee. Getting beach towels wasn’t a problem. The beach and grounds were beautiful as always, well tended. New palapas were added last year, but more beach chairs are needed. We enjoyed the short walks to the ranchon to get our drink cups filled, have some laughs, and get our cups refilled (okay, maybe a couple times) for the walk back. Weather was beautiful the entire time, the ocean was pretty warm for December. Going out on the hobie cat is always fun. In the evenings we’d get our drinks at the pool bar and enjoy the beautiful night. The pool bar turned into the disco at 11:00, and we hung out a few nights for some fun when there was a group of Cubans staying for a conference.
The returning guests’ dinner had quite a big turnout. It’s great to see so many of the same faces returning each year, and to meet some new ones too. The four-course meal was good and well presented, and the serving staff were very attentive.
One of the reasons we love Cuba so much is because the people are lovely. We return to Cova only once per year, but as soon as we arrive and the entire time we’re there, we’re made to feel welcome and part of la familia again by everyone we see, regardless of their role at the resort. We love to chat and get caught up when they have a few minutes here and there. Many of the Management team are often out and about, and they’re always interested in knowing how our visit is going.
Cova continues to be great value for our travel dollars. We enjoy the simplicity of the resort, its quiet and seclusion, its small size and style, and of course its beautiful beach. The staff is great, treats you like family and does what it can for you. This is a great spot for those people who have realistic expectations and are looking for a simple and peaceful vacation.

Date of stay: December 2019
6  Thank CCandAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BrisasCovarrubias, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Brisas Covarrubias, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2020

Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate all of them, we will continue working to improve the quality of our services, thank you for being part of the great Cova family because we really feel that way.Graciasss amigos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2020

We had a very good flight down with Air Transat but waiting for our luggage was painful. Since we were the only ones going to this resort, it was lovely to have a nice private taxi. Driver was great and his English was pretty good. It was definitely a long, bumpy ride but when we got to the resort, all was forgotten.

Checking in was quick and the desk staff were terrific. The room is very spacious with a king size bed, long dresser, a little table with two chairs and a loveseat ! Really quite lovely. The view from our balcony was spectacular and mere steps to the beach. Bathroom was ok but could use some cleaner caulking in some areas which was a little gross but clean nonetheless. The maids kept our room very clean. Only two smallish towels were provided but I assume we could have asked for more but didn't. Some towels really need to be replaced as they were heavily stained and at times we were reluctant to use them even though they were clean. The area we were in was nice & quiet - perfect for us.

The beach stretches out on either side which makes for great walking in the morning. It is a stunning beach with beautiful powdery white sand. The water was shallow enough to just bob around in. Water temps were fantastic. It seemed like they could use more loungers on the beach as people spent time walking around looking for a few. Sadly we joined in on the towel game and got our loungers early in the morning. We didn't use the pool simply because we are beach lovers. At times though walking by the pool, we noticed is was quite murky and wouldn't have gone in anyways. They were constantly cleaning it but I wonder if they are lacking the material needed to "shock" the water.

The buffet food was pretty good ! Was always hot and they replenished the trays often. Great selection of cheeses, fresh fruit, breads and more. The grilling station was fantastic. We enjoyed pork, fresh fish, shrimp kabobs and even a rack of lamb - all very delicious. Staff were wonderful and we didn't have to wait long to get a drink as the dining room was never really full....until Valentine's Day. They work so hard but always had a smile as they went along serving guests. Another reviewer stated no a la cartes. Well yes there sure is. We enjoyed two dinners here and very good. It's a nice change from the buffet. The lobster however left little to be desired as it was either undercooked or just bad. Was mushy and we couldn't eat it. Steak was tasty. The beach snack bar also served great food. Hamburgers were always cooked well. Pizza was great. Once again, service fantastic ! It was frustrating however to be in line waiting for your order and a local would come right up and be given large quantities of hamburgers while we had to wait for another batch to be cooked. I think education for staff is the key. They really need to be told to have these people stand in line & wait their turn. Was a very frustrating experience. Getting a drink at the bar was difficult.....one would have the bartender continually pouring cups of beer...10 sometimes 20. The dining room was actually very appalling in that for the first time we witnessed, hoards of food being put into bags and taken out. Same with the beach snack bar. We just shook our heads with this behaviour and waited...and waited longer. Thankfully it was only two days of this behaviour.

First few days the mosquitoes/no seeums were out in full force. Had a few bites but nothing like some tourists got. After that, they did fog a few times and that made a big difference. We didn't use spray after that. I think we're just lucky ones that bugs don't go after.

We really didn't notice much in the way of shortages. The store at times didn't have Cristal beer. There were a few times that ice wasn't available but that was only for a short time. The resort seemed to have had everything that most would expect at mealtimes. For wine lovers, it was so-so. White wine was just ok and the red was quite nice. They did run out of french fries at the beach snack bar but that was the only thing we saw that they ran out of.

The staff were second to none and wonderful. Once again, we met some amazing people....tourists & staff alike. We would certainly like to return but will rethink the time frame. Valentine's is not the time to come. The locals came in droves and pretty much took over the resort which would be fine as they are obviously happy to be on vacation like all of us ... but. This butting in line - taking huge amounts of food - ordering many, many beer at one time while we've been standing there for awhile isn't something we would like to witness again.

We had a great time in spite of these happenings. The guests we met and the staff that endured Pat's sense of humour will always be in our hearts. The sun shone...the water was warm, beer was cold....that's what vacation is all about.

Pat & Diane
North Bay, Ont.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank selectivedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BrisasCovarrubias, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Brisas Covarrubias, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Thank you very much for your comments, we are satisfied to know that you enjoyed a beautiful holiday although with some setbacks we will analyze and try to solve. We will continue working to improve our services and we hope to have you back in this your second home away from home
Graciasss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2020

I was at Brisas from Feb 11-18th. It was a mother daughter trip. My daughter is 16 and not much there for teenagers unless they have a friend. But we loved this resort. The people are so friendly and the food was ok. But if you are looking for a place with a beautiful beach, cold drinks and relax then this is def the place to go. The rooms are very rustic which was ok with us because it was very clean. The weather was beautiful no bugs at all which I read are horrible but we didn’t experience any. Met some wonderful life long friends. The Locals do go their on the weekends. Last Friday we had a bus of 200 show up. Yes they were rude, left garbage everywhere but we didn’t have anything to do with them. It didn’t ruin our vacation. Remember this is a 2.5-3 star. One day at the beach bar while waiting for lunch they were butting in line and I said to another Canadian “ I have been here for 25 mins waiting” he said “ you are on vacation and on island time. From then on, the waiting in line didn’t bother me at all. Just take in the sun and view while waiting for your food. The rooms are large, a store that sells large bottles of water for $1.80 CUC. The hotel had no money to change over but the Sunwing rep was exchanging money for us at the bank rate. For the price we paid and what we got. I will be back next year. Thank you Brisas for a wonderful vacation.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank C3882NBjennifert
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BrisasCovarrubias, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Brisas Covarrubias, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2020

Thank you very much for your comments our staff gives the best to provide a good service and that you can feel at home, We are waiting for you back. We are very happy that you enjoyed a beautiful holiday with us.Graciasss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2020

Came back yesterday from my 4th visit to Covarrubias. We were just a week this time.Two hours from airport but since it was daytime what an interesting trip as usual. Check in time was very fast actually got our room early. We had oceanview, second floor block 6300. The resort was not overly busy. Had amazing weather , rained for maybe 10 minutes one day . The beach was beautiful as usual you can walk so far and it is still shallow. We had a couple days of wind which created waves in the water that were quite fun. The food was quite good as usual for Cuba. Always something tasty to eat. Very good staff overall . Our maid was (Made) she was always ready to help with any of our needs. Our room was spotless looked freshly painted. And thank you to Simpson (maintenance/electrician) for making sure our safe was operating properly. Lots of hot water for showers, air conditioning was working very good. A few changes from 2 year ago. No money exchange at the resort at this time. Had to get CUC from our travel agent. If we had known we could have exchange money at the airport. Chairs at the beach are in very bad shape but I guess not easy to replace equipment in Cuba. Hopefully we will see newer chairs next visit. Not a major issue for us. Mosquitoes as usual. They fumigate but not too effective sometimes. Overall had another great trip and will return in the near future. A new building going up, we were told it should hold gym, towels etc. when finished. Nice to see improvements.

Room tip: Block 6300 near Ranchero Beach Restaurant
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TorontoNewbrunswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BrisasCovarrubias, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Brisas Covarrubias, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2020

Thank you very much for your comments, we will continue working to improve our services and that our customers are satisfied. We look forward to your next visit thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews