We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Sunset Tavern

Sunset Tavern
Ranked #23 of 93 Restaurants in Kissamos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View
Dining options: After-hours
Description: The tavern is located in Sunset Beach Kissamos in a beautiful location by the sea. It is a family business that is committed to providing the best impressions from your visit. The friendly staff is always at your disposal for your convenience. Sincerely, Zaimiotis George Οwner
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

It's in an excellent location next to sea, far from touristics restaurants of Kissamos. Good fresh fish. Kind and friendly staff.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank lenaalexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2018

My Mum and I were staying in Kissamos, so decided to take up a tip from the Greek Islands Lonely Planet guide, the Sunset Taverna. Maybe if we hadn't had such great foodie experiences already in Kissamos (dinners at Stelios& Katina and leisurely freddo cappuchinos and lunches at Aeras Cafe), we wouldn't have been so disappointed. The food was pretty mass produced (Cretan Zucchini fritters - our favourite find during our stay - were definitely bought, worst of our stay) and the Souvlaki was small and chewy chicken. Bad sign when the olive oil isn't local but served in a plastic dip pot. So underwhelmed with Lonely Planet and this restaurant. Only positive is the location, with sea views and at least this mistake didn't cost too much!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elli Z, Ιδιοκτήτης at Sunset Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

We really appreciate your feedback. Any review is welcome so that we always will try to improve at all levels. We are sorry to hear that we did not reach your expectations. Furthernore, we would like to inform you that in all our foods we use cretan olive oil that we produce but unfortunately we are not permitted to provide olive oil at your table which is not sealed as new legislation was introduced that forbids that all over Greece. We are hoping that in the future we have the chance to see you again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

We visit every year. All our family and friends love the relaxed atmosphere and delicious home cooked food. The setting is so beautiful on the gulf of Kissamos. Try the courgette fritters and rabbit. An absolute delight. Can't wait to be there again.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 189sharonh2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elli Z, Ιδιοκτήτης at Sunset Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

We would like to thank you for your nice words! We will try our best to provide the high level of quality services as always!
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

To be honest we walked up and down the strip looking for somewhere and got so sick of people hassling us to come in there restaurants we just found this quiet place with great views. The food was ok just nothing worth shouting about. We had spaghetti Bolognese ( break from Greek) and lamb pasta... both good. Free baklava was the star of the show.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank N5124GEscottg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

No one convinces to enter the force but was really tasty :) I recommend grilled sardines!One minus(BIG -)you need to waiting long long long time for main courses.Thank You

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Riszkowyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunset Tavern also viewed

Sfinari, Kissamos
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
 
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
 
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Sunset Tavern? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing