We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Seafront Cottage

Sunset at Seafront, Saturday 26 May 2012
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset at Seafront, Saturday 26 May 2012
Seafront Cottage is directly on the seashore. From the shore at low tide
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Sunset at Seafront, Saturday 26 May 2012
Seafront Cottage is directly on the seashore.
From the shore at low tide
Living area
Kitchen.
Spiral Stairway
Main Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
View from cottage
Luxurious Bathroom
Great Location
Sunset from inside Seafront Cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gardenstown, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Catherine...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed 22 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

This little house is the perfect place to find peace, fresh air, exhilarating cliff walks and cosy evenings in. The weather was mainly sunny, the house was warm and very well-equipped and Brian was super-quick to reply to any queries. If there were 4 of you it would be difficult to sit round the table to eat; but the sitting area is very spacious with a large coffee table and we tended have our meals on the sofas, looking out to sea. The picture window is absolutely spectacular; we spotted dolphins on three occasions and the panorama was a constant delight with ebb and flow of the tides and the changing light.The drive to the car park is a little scary at first, it helped for one of us to walk ahead when leaving the car park to make sure nothing was coming in the other direction! The pub is small and welcoming. Lorraine and Derek are lovely and we treated ourself to one of their special weekend 'restaurant' meals - the steak was the best we have ever eaten. We loved meeting the locals both old and young, either in the pub or harbour or on the beach - they were unfailingly friendly and eager to give us tips about local trips and events; we were even invited for a delicious fish supper with a couple we chatted to. All in all, a mini-paradise - thank you Brian for making it possible to stay so comfortably in such a beautiful place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2018
Hi Catherine B,

Many thanks for the feedback of your stay in Seafront Cottage which gives a great summary of the cottage and it's unique setting.

Delighted you saw the Moray Firth dolphins on three separate occasions.

Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christine...
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant Break!”
Reviewed 20 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The magic window makes the cottage stand out from others its amazing!
We had a great holiday week,everyone happy, my husband seabird watching and out fishing while myself and 2 girls enjoyed the beach!
The cottage is up to date,clean and cosy.
If you want a week away from it all this is the place to go!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArwelG_13
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stylish cottage with a spectacular view”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This cottage is literally on the seafront, just 3 metres or so of pathway between the floor to ceiling front window and the sea wall. When the tide is in, you can see seals and dolphins swimming past your window.

Comfortable and well appointed, this is the perfect cottage if you value getting away from it all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destinati...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, great location. ”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

If you are looking for a cottage beside the sea with stunning views in a quiet fishing village location full of character then this is the place for you! The cottage is a former fishing net storage building that has been tastefully renovated into a stylish living space. It is nicely furnished, with everything 4 occupants could need. Compared to other places of a similar price we've stayed in the mattress on the double bed could have been more comfortable. I was also disappointed with the lack of black out window blinds because the early bright light woke me - so if this bothers you bring your eye masks!! The cottage is worth renting alone for the sitting room window which covers the entire front of the house facing the sea and coastline allowing extensive views of extraordinary beauty. Gardenstown is delightfully small and full of Scottish character and characters. The heritage centre is a must visit, giving valuable insights into the history of the village. Brian the owner was very attentive in answering questions prior to and during the holiday. His obvious pride in the property made me want to love it and care for even more - in a good way. We live 570 miles away and were we to visit this part of Scotland we would definitely rent the cottage again. Can't say much better than that!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bev335
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Topped all previous holidays!”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a fantastic cottage and location. We didn't want to leave! We watched a pod of dolphins from the cottage window one morning and saw an Aurora Borealis in the evening!

The cottage was warm, clean and comfortable with everything catered for! I've stayed with family before and brought my partner this time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing