We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The feel of a home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Gardenstown Fishing Harbour
Sunset Gamrie Beach
View from road driving down to Gardenstown
Harbour Road
Living/dining with woodburner
Guest information corner
Guest info
Living/dining room with woodburner
Living/dining with woodburner
Double bedroom third floor
Living/dinning room
Top floor spacious double bedroom
Double bedroom 2, second floor
Double bedroom 2, second floor
Single bedroom, second floor
Single bedroom, second floor
Fully equipped kitchen
Patio door on second floor to backyard sitting area.
Shower room with WC
Shower room with WC
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Gardenstown, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Ms Frauke...
1 review
“The feel of a home away from home”
Reviewed 18 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Immediately when stepping through the door it felt like home - cosy and with everything you would need for a longer stay - we only had two nights :-(.
The owners got immediately back to me when booking, and it was on rather short notice, so that was much appreciated. The top floor bedroom is the best - you can see the sea from there! Kitchen is really well equipped and there were even eggs, milk and butties left there for our arrival - a nice touch! Parking was right in front of the house and in less than half a minute one can walk to the harbour. Would love to be back and can't wait for the opportunity for another short break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2018
Dear Ms Frauke,
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We do try to keep the cottage as homely, clean and cosy as we could. We are so glad that you enjoyed the cottage as we do. We hope to see you very soon.
Thon and Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne R
1 review
“Lovely sea thistle cottage”
Reviewed 5 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We loved the sea thistle cottage. We were visiting due to a family bereavement and thought the cottage was lovely. Very comfortable, lovely patio and very cosy. Our only issue was that we didn't realise the road to the village was closed due to a landslide therefore parking and carrying luggage to and from the car was not ideal. We know this is out with your control but notification would have helped. We loved the cottage and when visiting family in the future would definitely stay again. Also was one of the few cottages we looked at that was for less than 7 nights which is ideal when only visiting for a few days. Thanks again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
Dear Lynne,
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed the cottage. I am very sorry for the inconvenience caused by the temporary road closure. As we are expatriate in Australia, local news from home travels a bit slow and we do always advise guests via Tripadviser Chat box to check the road condition before their arrival specially in the winter months. However, we do apologise for the inconvenience caused by this particular road work and will take your advice checking and informing all related road conditions to the future guests.
I hope we will see you again very soon in Gardenstown.
Cheers
Thyon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kslb2017
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The location and layout of the cottage was perfect for our family visit and the area and local pub were amazing.
The communication was great and our early check in was accommodated with no fuss. We did feel that the bathroom could do with updating and did need cleaning (specifically the toilet) prior to use which was a little disappointing. There was a slug issue in the kitchen and each morning there were slug trails on the floor and worktop which meant that we had a bit of a cleaning routine in the mornings before breakfast. One night my wife got up for a glass of water and collected and disposed of 9 slugs from the kitchen floor and side. The heating also stopped working during the stay. We only used the cottage for a base and were out most of the time so was ok for our needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you did enjoyed Gardenstown and the positive view of our cottage. I am sorry for the bathroom was not up to your standard. Although the cottage doesn't has a luxury bathroom, we always keep it in a sparkling clean condition for all our guests. I will reflect your opinions to the cleaning ladies making sure our cottage is to maintain the high standard of cleanliness. As for the slugs' issue, the cleaning ladies did search the cottage many times but had no sign of it/them. We will try harder to find and remove them but please bear in mind our cottage is located in a very remote area very close to the sea. For the central heating, operating instruction was sent before your arrival as it will stop for safety reasons if it is overheat. The cottage do provide woodburher, electric blankets and extra electric heaters for each room to ensure all our guests have a welcoming and warm stay though. Cheers Thyon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Thank you for the lovely review. We are glad that you and your family had a great time and loving the cottage and Gardenstown as we do. We are looking forward to see you again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TooMuchFu...
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super cottage in fantastic location!”
Reviewed 28 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was a wee gem, in a gorgeous part of Scotland! We had a lovely time, the cottage was so cozy and beautiful decor - a treat! Oh, not to forget, very reasonably priced! The lack of TV and mobile reception, whilst anxiety provoking, was actually lovely - we spent more time playing games, exploring the village and talking! Would definitely recommend to everyone and anyone! A wee bonus was the lovely neighbour (and pops of the owners), who was chatty, helpful and introduced us to his friendly blackbird! Can't wait to visit again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Thank you for your wonderful review! It put a big smile on us! We are so glad that you had a great time and sharing the love of our cottage and Gardenstown. We do hope to see you in a very near future!
Cheers Thyon and Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing