We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend With The Family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We stayed over NYE this year and had a great time,the layout and staff are fantastic.Dinner was very good and as we were leaving the restaurant it started to rain and the staff were only too happy to run us back to our apartments on the enclosed golf buggies(which the kids loved thanks again!).
The pool and bar areas were busy NY day,but were kept very clean and stocked with towels etc and the buffet breakfast was amazing,very well stocked and very good quality,eggs and coffee to order what more could you ask for!!
And thanks to the staff in reception for suggesting the change to our booking to suit being with another family,we had a great time and enjoyed our stay immensely,

Room Tip: Take the advice if offered by the reception staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dean o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lachlan W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear dean o

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us during New Years.

I hope to welcome you back again in a few months time to celebrate another New Years with us.

Kindest regards
Lachlan Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 101 of 1,692 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

My husband & I spent the weekend here & played golf Friday & Saturday. We had a great weekend. We were welcomed on arrival & upgraded to a 1 bedroom villa, which was lovely. The villa was very spacious & well set out. We were able to check in early, also which was awesome as we could unload our stuff before teeing off. The staff couldn't be more helpful! We had dinner both nights in the downstairs tavern. The food was excellent & we were able to watch the football. The breakfast was really good & very organised even when it was busy. We will certainly return! The golf course was great but busy & very slow.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Had a one night Saturday stay in this Hunter Valley hotel, in a 3 bedroom, two bathroom, two level villa, whilst attending a wedding in Pokolbiin, in a family of 6 adults.The hotel seems to be very popular on weekends, as breakfast on Sunday morning was like dining in Pitt Street mall at lunchtime. They seem to have a fairly well oiled machine in getting breakfast done, but forget about enjoying a quiet intimate breakfast. Food offerings are OK at the buffet, but expect a line at the omelette bar. The rooms are fairly boring due to colour scheme and furnishings, but would rate a 3.5 star. Maintenance issues, including long overdue painting will need to be addressed soon, to maintain its present rating & value for money, which is good. The hotel is a golf resort type hotel, and is therefore very spread out and wrapped around the golf course, so travel to the dining facilities, can often require a vehicle. Regrettably, parking around the central building containing the reception and restaurants, is often totally filled, making parking difficult. Would return if visiting the Hunter Valley on the weekend, as it is one of the few venues who allow one night stays.

Room Tip: If dining there, get a room near reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night as a solo traveler.

Didn't get in till 9pm-ish and check in was friendly and efficient. Free WiFi for IHG members.
I stayed in the main hotel area on a delux room. The room was well proportioned but its looking tired - various marks and scratches on the furniture and doors, counter top chipped etc. The bed was comfy though and i cannot fault the cleanliness. It was very quiet when i was there and the black out curtains were effective - had a good night's sleep.
There was a balcony however as others have said its pretty much a strip of dry grass and then you are looking across to another block of rooms . Even though you would still have the other rooms in your view it would be much more inviting of they put simple native garden arrangement below with some colorful border plants.
As i pretty much left the next morning after showing i can't really comment on much else
Based off my experience i don't think i would consider it a 4 star hotel. For the weekend price point it was also a bit expensive for what it was, next time i would probably explore other options but wouldn't rule out staying at the crown completely.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank stormborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lachlan W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you stormborne for your recent review of Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley.

I am pleased to read that your check in was friendly and efficient and that the room was cleaned to your expectations. Also great to read you had a good nights sleep in a comfortable and dark room.

I appreciate your comments on the balcony view and advise we are working on a solution.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards
Lachlan Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

I have been coming to the Hunter a few times a year for 8 years now and always stay at the Crowne. The service is as good as always with the rooms will appointed and clean. The hotel is starting to become a bit dated however the hotel is great value for money

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lachlan W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Nathan G

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I appreciate your feedback and hope that next time you stay with us you will see the positive changes we are currently planning to undertake in the very near future.

Regards
Lachlan Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
5.5 km away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
5.1 km away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
12.4 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
5.5 km away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
3.3 km away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Address: 430 Wine Country Dr, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Price Range: ₹ 7,389 - ₹ 21,656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by picturesque vineyards and golf course greens and framed by the rugged Brokenback Ranges, Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley epitomises the best in award winning hospitality and deluxe accommodation. Just two hours drive north of Sydney and ideally located on Wine Country Drive, the hotel offers easy access to wineries and attractions and is the perfect place for a carefree break or stimulating meeting. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley offers deluxe king or twin rooms, spa suites and two and three bedroom self-contained villas, allowing plenty of room for you to relax. To complement your stay, why not enjoy our extensive range of on-site facilities? Rejuvenate your body at our Tea Tree Spa, reward your palate at one of our restaurants or bars, enjoy a round of golf on the 18 hole golf course, or relax in the 25 metre outdoor heated pool. You can enjoy the full range of our on-site facilities while the kids are entertained by a selection of supervised kid-friendly activities in the on-site Water Dragons Club. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley's premier location and dedication to outstanding personal service has secured its reputation as the hotel of choice in the Hunter Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Lovedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing