We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La's Hambantota Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Max Wadiya(Ambalangoda)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ayurveda Garden(Ambalangoda)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The River House(Balapitiya)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (853)
Filter reviews
853 results
Traveller rating
554
193
64
22
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
554
193
64
22
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursewater slideskids poolkids clubsri lankabike ridesduty managercool zonefront officefood and beverageall day diningmain restaurantf bflying trapezekids activitiesmattala airportchi spa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 853 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have enjoyed every bit of it. The hotel is great, the service as well; the scenery is totally amazing! Highly recommended is perfect for families with small kids. The pool, the kids club is great for the lil ones.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kathymg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GhislaineLe, Resident Manager at Shangri-La's Hambantota Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Kathymg12,
Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience with us. We are thrilled that you have had a fabulous time and enjoyed all the facilities on offer. It is our goal to ensure that each of our guests experience a truly memorable stay, and are proud that we have been able to make this a reality for you.
Aayubowan,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I stayed for 10 nights over the Easter holidays and had an excellent time.

Transfer
We flew into Colombo then endured the 5 hour transfer from the airport to the hotel. Everything was organised well for this and the meet & greet staff and driver were very nice and friendly. Only issue was the kids car seats were not securely fitted.

Our return transfer was a disaster however, We originally booked in January for this and after repeatedly emailing the transport company responses were very vague. The day before departure it they confirmed all was sorted, and it was. However, the car was not suitable and they could not fix a car seat. Eventually the hotel team sorted this by providing one of their cars (Mercedes Vito) and fixed the car seats securely. This cost us about an hour in time and shortened our stop in Galle on the way to Colombo. Poor service from the car company saved only by the hotel team.

Room
We were in room 185 on the ground floor facing the 18th hole of the golf course. It we excellent, a good size and the layout worked well for us. This side was quieter as it was not facing the pools, kids club and trapeze etc, but still very close. A good mix for us.

The Housekeeping team were excellent and ensured we have plenty of toiletries and water for our needs and did everything with a smile.

Dining
We ate mainly in the main buffet restaurant as we were on a Half Board package and enjoyed it. The food was varied enough to make it enjoyable. Themed nights included Sri-Indian & Italian. A particular highlight was the man making the naan bread freshly in front of us most nights. My 2 year old loves them and wanted to bring the 'Naan Man' home with us.

At the buffet they served an amazing pumpkin curry, which the Executive chef shared the recipe with me to make at home. It was so good.

At breakfast the staff learned what our drinks preferences were, and after visiting the buffet for the first time, our preferred drinks were always waiting for us. (Nice touch and service)

They also had a kids buffet and plates beside a kids seating area which was an excellent service touch for them. It made them feel important.

We also at in the golf club restaurant on three occasions. While the food was excellent (Steaks, Chicken, Burgers), and the staff very pleasant, they were very disorganised and the service was very slow. Over an hour between ordering and receiving any food. Too long with kids.

Sera restaurant was a nice treat for us on one occasion. Asian food and a team willing to cater for dietary requirements very well. The whole family enjoyed this.

Golf
I played golf on two occasions and really enjoyed the course. While short and generally quite tight, it was challenging enough and very photo. Lots of wildlife share the course with you. I saw, Peacocks a plenty, birds, lizards (not dangerous), squirrels, but sadly missed the monkeys.

Peter (Director of Golf) and his team do a great job looking after everyone. Caddies and staff have been employed from the local area, trained up and while still learning about the game are doing really well.

CHI SPA
My wife and I initially booked the massage welcome promotion of an hour massage for 7500rupees for us both. We had mixed experiences, which mine being fantastic with Yani, and my wifes not meeting here requirements.

Nim (Spa Reception and therapist) escalated this to the Spa Manager who rectified this for my wife and as a result we both return for fantastic treatments with Yani. She is one of the best therapists we have received a massage from.

The team were also very helpful with our children and even helped my daughter with her school project. Great Job and well done!!!

Kids Club
Our children loved the kids club. It is large, has an excellent daily activity list and has some amazing staff. While we underused the babysitting option (Chargeable), we will not make the same mistake next time.

They cater for children age 4 to 12 FOC and children under 4 can stay either with a parent (FOC) or with a babysitter, if pre-booked. it costs about 7gbp per hour for this service and i recommend the team there as they do an excellent job.

Pools
We sadly never made it to the adult pool, but still managed to use the kids pool complete with two slides and a splash park and we also used the family pool. Both pools are ideal, large and the depth of both is perfect for their uses. Many hours were used, watching the kids use a slide repeatedly.

They also have trampolines and a trapeze which my daughter and i tried. Both excellent and recommended.

Trips
We only ventured away from the hotel on one occasion. We considered visiting Yala national park, but changed to Unawalawe park instead upon the recommendation of the very helpful guest services team, as they said Yala was too bumpy for the baby. This was a great move. We got up close and personal with a family of approx 16 elephants. One even brushed the side of the jeep we were in and my daughter was close enough to touch it. What an experience.

Overall
We loved the hotel and its facilities. It was perfect for families. The staff could not do enough for us and we are very appreciative of there hard work and dedication to service.

There is less to do for couples and may i suggest considering investing in tennis courts and some other activities onsite for adults and couples.

Please review the work done by the car company. Too many kids seats not being fitted securely, which is completely unacceptable in this day and age.

Room Tip: We enjoyed ground floor rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjmunro23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GhislaineLe, Resident Manager at Shangri-La's Hambantota Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear sjmunro23,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your recent stay with us. We are absolutely delighted to read that not only have your experienced a lot of the aspects we have on offer, you have enjoyed your stay and will take home wonderful and pleasant memories. We are currently reviewing our quality service of our transportation service provider as your unfortunate experience does absolutely not reflect our standards.
Please do rest assured that we will share your kind sentiments with our colleagues as this will serve as an encouragement and enable them to continue to offer the Shangri-La service that we are renowned for.
We wish you the very best and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Aayubowan,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice and comfortable room. Husband played a round of golf. Lots of activities for kids. They especially liked the trapeze and water activities. There were advertisements of yoga around the hotel so I got dressed and went looking for the class, it was nowhere to be found. There was no yoga instructor apparently. Upon check in, the front office told us of the numerous dining facilities but at dinner, we found out that all was closed due to low season, except for the buffet and the bar/restaurant by the golf. Maybe the staff needs to be more informed of their own facilities before promoting.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank ShishaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GhislaineLe, Resident Manager at Shangri-La's Hambantota Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear ShishaLady,
Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our Shangri-La's Hambantota Golf Resort & Spa very soon!
Aayubowan,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Took my Daughter here for a four day break. The resort is second to none. The service and attention to detail made our stay extra special.
On our last night I asked them to put something special on to make it memorable for my Daughter ( aged 14) so we choose the Sera Restaurant, located in the resort, to which the restaurant team took it to another level with a beautifully decorated table on which laid out in coffee beans and flower petals were the words. There is no love greater in this world for a girl than the love of her father. Now I'm sure there are a few mothers who would think differently of that note. But seeing as it was just myself and my daughter I was taking it lol.
Special Thanks to Samitha and the team, the smile on my daughters face by your beautiful gesture, attention and inspiring setting for our meal, I will never forget.

I'll be recommending this resort to all my friends and family. Come as a couple come as a family the place is big enough and beautiful enough to cater for all.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GhislaineLe, Resident Manager at Shangri-La's Hambantota Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Paul,
Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience with us following your stay at our resort. We are pleased that you have had a lovely time and enjoyed all the facilities on offer. It is our goal to ensure that each of our guests experience a truly memorable stay, and are proud that we have been able to make this a reality for you.
Whilst wishing you all the very best, we do hope you will visit us again in the near future.
Aayubowan,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed with my family for 2 nights over Easter (rooms 306 and 307). Beautiful property and lovely ambience in the common areas but sorry to say rooms were rather basic and bathroom mouldy and below expectations for the pricing. Food just above average and price does not match with quality and variety. No Valet parking available and car parking very inconvenient. Older guests need to be provided with electric carts to get about due to the long walks from common areas to rooms. Nice pool area, spa, gym and games, The highlight was the friendly and obliging staff (Thank you Mr Chathu and Ms Nadeesha at dining area).

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afzel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GhislaineLe, Resident Manager at Shangri-La's Hambantota Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Afzel T,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us here on TripAdvisor and for your candid feedback. Please do rest assured that we are looking in the aspect of further training for our staff and where required increases the cadre so as to ease the load.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future,
Ayubowan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews