We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Windsor House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
1st Floor sitting room
Bunkbed room.
Ground floor sitting room to kitchen.
Petrified Forest
Certificate of Excellence
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Borth, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
1ALR
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful retreat”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The house is great and has all the facilities you could want. It would be a fairly ordinary place if it weren't for the views and the amazing attic room with its wonderful freestanding bath and seagulls flying past. Being able to step right out onto the beach from the back garden was great. We were also right near the submerged forest, which was what we had come to Borth to see.
The 'controversial' art that people have mentioned is art of naked women. Some if it was pretty objectifying. The print of a painting by Rolf Harris of a naked woman was particularly distateful, seeing as he's currently awaiting trial for child sexual abuse. And there were some sexist seaside postcards (would these have been on display if they were racist postcards?).
The shower on the 3rd(?) floor didn't work that well as it was hard not to get water everywhere.
All in all I would definitely recommend this place. Just get rid of some of the pictures! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Atic room and being right by the sea
Liked least: Sexist pictures on the walls
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2014
You are so correct, we shall remove the Rolf Harris paintings today! The remainder of the paintings and cards are mainly by local artists, neighbours or gifts. Sorry if you were offended.

Second floor shower will be fixed this week, it does seem to have a mind of its own!

Sorry again for causing stress!
Please do come back and see us again.

Kindest regards

Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montserra...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Please may we come again...”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

It was one of the first beautiful spring mornings when we arrived. The sea was out and the immense petrified forest was there, right next to the house. Not seen for 5 thousand years and following the recent storms, it was visible. The house is just lovely, home from home, tastefully decorated, eccentric art and all the home comforts one needs. Beds made us realise we need to change ours, best nights sleep for a long time. Sea air... Great pub, fish and chips, village doctor ( don't ask... ) curry house and Aberwystryth 10 minutes away. Best deli in Britain called Ultra Comida, just see you eat there!
So, all in all 10 out of 10, keep up the good work and may we come back
Thank you Emma for being so lovely!

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylbryn
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent quirky 3 floor property with a great homely feel to it.”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We stayed 3 nights and found both the owner and cleaner charming, hospitable and friendly. The layout is on 3 floors and plenty of space, with bathrooms on ground, second and 3 floor. Great kitchen which is well equipped and comfy beds kept warm by means of central heating. Some interesting wall art, making this a very individual and quirky home from home.
The property is a few metres from The Old Vic pub, great for HPA ale and food. Also nearby in the train station, which in 10 minutes takes you to Aberystwyth, so you have the best of both worlds - small coastal village and busier Uni town with some great delis and shops + the prom itself. Will return for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views and homely atmosphere. Ideal for dogs.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isolde N
Oswestry
1 review
“Wonderful home from home”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013

This house is a tardis. It is situated on the Main Street, close to a choice of great pubs.
Once you step through the front door you are greeted with a home from home.
We weren't the first guests to arrive and when we did it was like arriving at a friends for dinner. It was as though we were doing a very tasteful house swap. The top attic room is to die for, and must be seen, our room was beautiful and the bed (vintage walnut, with mattress toppers and exquisite linen) was more comfortable than my own.
Unfortunately we went during November so couldn't make full use of the amazing outside space... A place for anyone's perfect getaway. Young and old.
I will return. .....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing